Movies DVD Collection streaming using QNAP

DLNA, AirPlay, Chromecast, PS3, XBOX, iTunes, & other media players
Spooky Neo
First post

Movies DVD Collection streaming using QNAP

Post by Spooky Neo »

Hi,

Greetings from snowy Montréal, Canada :)

I'm actually in the process of buying a NAS. I do not own a NAS at the moment, so it would be my first. I am a computer technician and geek, so I know the technical stuff. Even though the NAS will be used for centralized data at home and backups, it will mostly be used for multimedia purposes.

I have a medium sized DVD (movies) collection (around 60). I would like to rip these DVDs into a NAS and be able to stream the ripped DVDs to either my PS3 or X360 using DLNA. I do not want to compress my DVDs using Divx-Xvid (.avi) and would like to avoid MKV files for DVDs. In fact, I would like to either rip the DVDs in ISO file or VOBs to avoid loosing quality. I understand that this would take a while for me to do each DVDs, and also understand that I might have some issues with protected DVDs, but my question is will the QNAP Multimedia Station (or Twonky?) be able to read ISOs or VOBs files and then stream them ? Will either the PS3 or X360 be able to read the file format properly ?

I'm asking for ISO file, because I've read that in the new version of the QNAP software, ISOs can be mounted. Maybe it is possible to mount the ISO of a DVD movie and then stream it...

Also, talking about multimedia file sizes, are MKV supported by QNAP ?

I currently have a DLNA server using my Asus RT-N16 router and Tomato software. I have a 1TB external USB hard drive connected to my RT-N16 and Tomato uses miniDLNA server to stream the multimedia files to my PS3 and X360. The PS3 seems to handle much more file formats than the X360, so I use my PS3 all the time.

I'm actually looking at the QNAP TS-419P+ or TS-412. If transcoding is done on the QNAP, I might get the 419P+ which is 400MHZ faster than the 412.