To raid, or not to raid...

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
dnige
New here

To raid, or not to raid...

Post by dnige »

Hi All,

I need some opinions on this. I've just purchased a TS-251 with 2 x 3-TB WD Red drives. This NAS is for home use and will host my music, films, photos etc.

I currently have the NAS set up in a RAID 1 configuration however, I am contemplating changing this configuration to two single drives. The reason being that although RAID will provide some redundancy against an HD failure. It won't protect if the actual NAS dies or there's a fault with the backplane or whatever else. My thought was that I would only use one of the drives and create a replication job to run every night or more frequently depending on the performance hit.

I work in the IT industry and have seen many servers fail not due to faulty drives but to raid controller problems. As this is a home system I don't have the funds to have a second replicated box.

The data being stored on the drive won't change too frequently so I could probably forfit potential 24hr data loss?

Any thoughts folks?

Cheers

Nige
pwilson
Guru

Re: To raid, or not to raid...

Post by pwilson »

dnige wrote:Hi All,

I need some opinions on this. I've just purchased a TS-251 with 2 x 3-TB WD Red drives. This NAS is for home use and will host my music, films, photos etc.

I currently have the NAS set up in a RAID 1 configuration however, I am contemplating changing this configuration to two single drives. The reason being that although RAID will provide some redundancy against an HD failure. It won't protect if the actual NAS dies or there's a fault with the backplane or whatever else. My thought was that I would only use one of the drives and create a replication job to run every night or more frequently depending on the performance hit.