TS-251 Raid setup

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
TheGreatOrme
New here

TS-251 Raid setup

Post by TheGreatOrme »

Hi All,
I'm very new to the QNAP world, my first device comes Monday (very excited).
I have been watching tutorials online, and one talked about setting up a raid configuration and when he did it wiped all the drives.
I want to ultimately setup a raid 1 configuration, however due to financial limitations I have only been able to by one HDD. This will
change in the next few months when I can afford it.
So should I setup my 1 drive in raid 1 config but with no second drive in preparation of my future purchase? or will this not work?
And will I be screwed and have to start over when I get my second drive?
Cheers
Stuart
Don
Guru

Re: TS-251 Raid setup

Post by Don »

You cannot set up raid 1 with one drive. You need two drives. You can start with one drive and add a second one later and migrate to raid 1. However, during the time you are running on a single drive you have no protection from a drive failure so you better make backups often if you cannot afford to lose your data.
Use the forum search feature before posting.

Use RAID and external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced, and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 5.0.1.2346 | 40GB | 2 x 1TB M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 3 x 1TB M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (cache) | 5 x 14TB Exos HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-h674 | F/W: 5.0.1.2376 | 16GB | 3 x 18TB RAID 5
Apps: DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS3, Entware, DLstation, VS, +
pwilson
Guru

Post by pwilson »