Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your DDNS.

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.

Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your DDNS.

Postby EvilJack » Mon Dec 28, 2009 7:25 am

"DDNS server internal error, please contact your DDNS technical support."

Every time I try to initiate DDNS on the QNAP Network config screen I get this error. I've signed up at DynDns.com and the login info I am imputing in the QNAP config is the same login I successfully use on DynDns.

Any ideas on why this is happening?
EvilJack
Starting out
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:53 am
Model: SS-439 Pro

Re: Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your DDNS.

Postby QNAPJason » Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:23 am

Hi EvilJack,
For DDNS errors, make sure you have entered the correct hostname on the Turbo NAS.
An example should be "aa.dyndns.org"

Are you also able to see the QNAP RSS & "Get QPKG" page after you login to the NAS?

Jason
User avatar
QNAPJason
QNAP Staff
 
Posts: 5098
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 2:14 pm
Location: Taipei
Model: TS-x51

Re: Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your DDNS.

Postby EvilJack » Mon Dec 28, 2009 10:57 am

I believe I have inserted the correct hostname. I signed up at DynDNS and registered xxxxxx.homeip.net

On the DDNS Service page I am inserting:

Select DNS Server (dropdown): http://www.dyndns.com
username: <my login name for DynDNS>
password: <my DynDNS pw>
hostname: xxxxxxx.homeip.net

BUT..now I am able to successfully connect to the NAS via domain name. So the DDNS seems to be working. But if I load the above info into the QNAP DDNS setup page it fails and gives this error I noted in my first post. I guess at this point I am wondering why I need to do this DDNS setup?

And yes I can click on "Get QPKG" but it tells me: "To install QPKG, go to "System Update" and click "Browse…" to select the QPKG file. Then click "Update System". But I can't seem to find System Update, only Firmware Update.

I also cannot locate the QNAP RSS selection you mention.

Thanks for your help Jason.
EvilJack
Starting out
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:53 am
Model: SS-439 Pro

Re: Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your DDNS.

Postby QNAPJason » Mon Dec 28, 2009 11:53 am

Hi EvilJack,
Obviously, your DNS setting is not correct on the NAS (or was not passed from your router to NAS).
Please manually enter the DNS information on the NAS.

If the DNS is set correctly, you will be able to see the QNAP RSS news and QPKG information.

Please ignore the QPKG installation sentence as it no longer applies in the v3 firmware (will remove it in the next firmware update).

See the attached graphs.

Jason
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
QNAPJason
QNAP Staff
 
Posts: 5098
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 2:14 pm
Location: Taipei
Model: TS-x51

Re: Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your DDNS.

Postby EvilJack » Mon Dec 28, 2009 3:49 pm

Manually inputting the DNS settings did the trick, Thanks!
EvilJack
Starting out
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:53 am
Model: SS-439 Pro

Re: Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your DDNS.

Postby nivekznews » Thu Dec 31, 2009 8:06 pm

EvilJack wrote:Manually inputting the DNS settings did the trick, Thanks!


how did you do that. i've got a similar problem
nivekznews
New here
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:32 pm
Model: TS-210

Re: Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your DDNS.

Postby schumaku » Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:46 am

nivekznews wrote:
EvilJack wrote:Manually inputting the DNS settings did the trick, Thanks!


how did you do that. i've got a similar problem


Login to the QNAP Admin Web UI, goto System Administration -> Network and add the DNS Server information according to DNS server IP supplied by your ISP. Alternatively, you can use Google's Public DNS service.

-Kurt.
User avatar
schumaku
Guru
 
Posts: 31277
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Model: TS-x79 Pro

Re: Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your D

Postby Typecast » Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:36 am

I found this thread because im having the same problem.
However manually inputting dns does not do the trick for me.

Im using a no-ip.com domain, ive tried the things on this page:
https://www.no-ip.com/support/faq/en/ro ... no-ip.html

It is explained for a router, but it should work for me to.
anyone have a clue why I'm getting the "DDNS server internal error, please contact your DDNS" error?
Typecast
Starting out
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:35 am
Model: TS-259 Pro

Re: Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your D

Postby joga » Sat Nov 27, 2010 3:06 am

Hello,

I have got the same problem with dydns.com on 419.
DNS is correct and working.
Any help ?
Thanks
joga
Starting out
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:00 pm
Model: TS-401T

Re: Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your D

Postby wileecoyote » Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:06 am

I had the same problem, was driving me crazy, and I just found a fix:

I created a free DYNDNS.com account, created a hostname "XXXXXX.dyndns.org", activated the hostname, and hostname was resolving to my IP just fine. But when I entered my DYNDNS.com username, password, and hostname in QNAP NAS, it always responded with the DDNS server internal error. Very frustrating, there should be better error messages or logging on the QNAP.

I gave up on the QNAP and tried to setup DDNS in my Netgear WNDR3700 router. Followed the same process as above but got a more detailed error message from the router indicating there was a problem with the hostname.

So I went back to DYNDNS.com and created a new hostname "XXXXXX.dyndns-ip.com" and tried the process again on the Netgear router, and this time it worked! So there seems to be some type of problem with both the QNAP and Netgear DDNS update clients using the "XXXXXX.dyndns.org" hostname, which I found odd since the Netgear router actually includes "www.dyndns.org" as the name of the DDNS service in the setup menu.

But I have confirmed that "XXXXXX.dyndns-ip.com" hostname works with my Netgear router setup, and it is better in my case to run the DDNS updated from the router so I am not going to use QNAP for DDNS now. Hope this helps someone.
wileecoyote
New here
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 10:28 am
Model: TS-401T

Re: Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your D

Postby penoud » Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:28 am

Same trouble with a XXX.dyndns.org account. Create a new one as XXX.dyndns-ip.com and work well.

Thanks
penoud
First post
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:25 am
Model: TS-212

Re: Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your D

Postby ziutek@mac.com » Fri Nov 11, 2011 5:33 am

Has anyone been able to get DDNS to work with no-IP.com? I get the above error. The DUC works from from my Mac, but this is pretty inconvenient.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

I also noticed this in the system log:

2011-11-10 22:43:44 System 127.0.0.1 localhost Enabling Dynamic DNS Service failed due to noip2 execution failure.

QNAP TS-410, 3.5.1 Build 1002T
ziutek@mac.com
New here
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 3:55 am
Model: SS-839 Pro

Re: Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your D

Postby ziutek@mac.com » Sat Nov 12, 2011 3:40 am

I discovered something very interesting. I was trying to use no-ip.com with a domain name that I purchased from them. I opened a ticket with their support, and they informed me that this kind of update would only work for no-ip.com owned domains, ie. hostnames such as myqnap.no-ip.org. Updating my own domain name using it as the hostname, however works with the DUC. I quickly created a new hostname on the no-ip system, and the DDNS client on my QNAP works perfectly with this hostname.
ziutek@mac.com
New here
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 3:55 am
Model: SS-839 Pro

Re: Error: DDNS server internal error, please contact your D

Postby Diesel9a1 » Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:18 pm

Got it working FINALLY with Dyndns.org on a 209 II Pro

Log in to qnap admin
go to System Admin / Network / TCP IP
down to the Primary and secondary DNS fields.

Visit http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/ and get the IP addresses of the servers.

Enter them into your QNAP.
Click Apply.

Now log into your QNAP admin
go to System Admin / Network / DDNS
Enter your DDNS details
Click Apply

NO ERROR MESSAGE!!!! WOW WOW WOW!!!!! :D :D :D :D
About chuffin time!!!!!
(Can you tell I'm pleased?)
:lol:

Download Stations now works, so to the "Home / Applications / QPKG Plugins / Get QPKG RSS feed" That has never worked before!!

I'm so excited (SAD I KNOW). The QNAP box will now actually do what it is intended for after all those years (5) of just being a file server stuck in the flippin loft!!
:D
Windows 7
QNAP NAS TS-209 II Pro
2 x Barracuda ES.2 SATA 3.0-Gb/s 1TB
Version 3.3.0 Build 0924T
Diesel9a1
Starting out
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:49 pm


Return to Turbo Station Installation & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: totocotugno and 7 guests