IP Pbx capability

Tell us your most wanted features from QNAP products.

IP Pbx capability

Postby matt_chan » Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:03 pm

A built in IP pbx VOIP such as asterisk / 3cx (windows) suitable for small business phone system?
matt_chan
New here
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: IP Pbx capability

Postby AndyChuo » Tue Mar 04, 2008 1:57 am

can you share your ideal topology/infrastructure of how to lay it all out in your mind?
and how can a NAS play its role there, if there isn't the NAS, what was the normal substitution?
maybe we can have a look at the possibilities :D
=============================================================>>>
TS-659-Pro [RAID6] rtorrent+SABnzbdplus+SickBeard+Couchpotato [Best PVR] Plex+PMS [Ultimate Streamer]
Apple iPad [Best Tablet] HTC One M8 [Mobile Phone] Samsung UA46ES6100 [My Screen] KRK Rokit 6 [Audio Speakers]
Chrome Cast [Screen Casting] Philips Hue [Personal Lighing]
Buffalo WZR-1750DHP [My Wifi Hub] D-Link DGS-1005D [Gbit Network]
=============================================================>>>
User avatar
AndyChuo
Experience counts
 
Posts: 2397
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 11:56 am
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Model: TS-659 Pro

Re: IP Pbx capability

Postby matt_chan » Tue Mar 04, 2008 4:03 am

oh yes:

Qnap 209 running asterisk IP pbx
linksys phones.

This is intended to replace a system like 3cx for windows as my server is no linux.
matt_chan
New here
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 3:33 pm

Re: IP Pbx capability

Postby BigMango » Mon Apr 28, 2008 12:23 am

You can install asterisk on the qnap.

An easy way to do this is to set up ipkg, you will then find asterisk 1.2; 1.4 and 1.6beta in the repository. Just install asterisk14, the astersik14 gui and the asterisk sound files.

You then need to configure the manager and the http.conf files (there are many howtos on the web) and you can then access the gui at:
http://xx-YourQnapIp-xx:8088/asterisk/s ... basic.html

I have everything set up with several sip providers and also a linksys sipura 3000 ata connected to the pstn line with phones. Works beautifully, including voicemail and everything.

I am however still looking forward to installing Debian on the qnap to get access to a larger package repository (the debian repos have more packages like language sound files, etc...).
BigMango
Starting out
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 9:28 pm
Model: TS-119/219

Re: IP Pbx capability

Postby fribse » Tue Apr 29, 2008 4:59 pm

BigMango wrote:You can install asterisk on the qnap.

An easy way to do this is to set up ipkg, you will then find asterisk 1.2; 1.4 and 1.6beta in the repository. Just install asterisk14, the astersik14 gui and the asterisk sound files.

You then need to configure the manager and the http.conf files (there are many howtos on the web) and you can then access the gui at:
http://xx-YourQnapIp-xx:8088/asterisk/s ... basic.html

I have everything set up with several sip providers and also a linksys sipura 3000 ata connected to the pstn line with phones. Works beautifully, including voicemail and everything.

I am however still looking forward to installing Debian on the qnap to get access to a larger package repository (the debian repos have more packages like language sound files, etc...).


Wow, that sounds really interesting. Could you post a bit more about this (in a more suitable forum of course :) ).
Best regards
Fribse

NO, RAID is NOT backup - Use RAID-Certified 24x7 drives for raid
HOWTO's:
Make automatic backup of ALL MySQL databases http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=15628
Beaf up security on Apache with customized.conf http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=15540

NAS TS-659 Pro w. 6x 1TB| Joomla, MySQL
SERVERS VMWare 5.1.0 | OES11 GroupWise 2014 | PS3 60GB (upgraded to 500 GB) | Nintendo Wii | Revo Pico RadioStation | 3 Windows 7 Ent PC's
NET FritzBox 7390 | HP Procurve 1800-24G | EdgeCore ES4308 (POE)
User avatar
fribse
Experience counts
 
Posts: 1834
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:50 am
Location: Greve, Denmark
Model: TS-659 Pro

Re: IP Pbx capability

Postby bof » Fri Jun 20, 2008 6:30 am

I'm completely new to asterisk and I can't get it to work.
I dont think asterisk starts (see below) and I get an error while connecting to http://xx-YourQnapIp-xx:8088/asterisk/s ... basic.html

Got ipkg here:
http://www.brichet.be/open-turbostation ... 109209pro/

Got list from the repository:
# ipkg list
...
asterisk - 1.2.24-1 - Open Source VoIP PBX System
asterisk-sounds - 1.2.1-1 - Supplementary asterisk-sounds.
asterisk14 - 1.4.21-1 - Asterisk is an Open Source PBX and telephony toolkit.
asterisk14-core-sounds-en-alaw - 1.4.8-1 - asterisk-core-sounds-en-alaw
asterisk14-core-sounds-en-g729 - 1.4.8-1 - asterisk-core-sounds-en-g729
asterisk14-core-sounds-en-gsm - 1.4.8-1 - asterisk-core-sounds-en-gsm
asterisk14-core-sounds-en-ulaw - 1.4.8-1 - asterisk-core-sounds-en-ulaw
asterisk14-extra-sounds-en-alaw - 1.4.7-1 - asterisk-extra-sounds-en-alaw
asterisk14-extra-sounds-en-g729 - 1.4.7-1 - asterisk-extra-sounds-en-g729
asterisk14-extra-sounds-en-gsm - 1.4.7-1 - asterisk-extra-sounds-en-gsm
asterisk14-extra-sounds-en-ulaw - 1.4.7-1 - asterisk-extra-sounds-en-ulaw
asterisk14-gui - 0.0.0svn-r2036-3 - Asterisk-GUI is a framework for the creation of graphical interfaces for configuring Asterisk.
asterisk14-moh-freeplay-alaw - 0.0.0-1 - asterisk-moh-freeplay-alaw
asterisk14-moh-freeplay-g729 - 0.0.0-1 - asterisk-moh-freeplay-g729
asterisk14-moh-freeplay-gsm - 0.0.0-1 - asterisk-moh-freeplay-gsm
asterisk14-moh-freeplay-ulaw - 0.0.0-1 - asterisk-moh-freeplay-ulaw
asterisk16 - 1.6.0-beta9-1 - Asterisk is an Open Source PBX and telephony toolkit.
asterisk16-addons - 1.6.0-beta4-1 - Describe asterisk16-addons here.
...

Installed astersik:
# ipkg install asterisk14
# ipkg install asterisk14-gui
I don't know what soundformat to use so I skipped that.

Changed http.conf using this example http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/index.php ... +http.conf
Uncommented webenabled = yes in manager.conf

Started with... (http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/index.php ... d+Stopping)
# asterisk -vvvgc

... and got this error:
asterisk: relocation error: asterisk: symbol __pthread_register_cancel, version GLIBC_2.4 not defined in file libpthread.so.0 with link time reference
TS-209 & TS-409
User avatar
bof
Starting out
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:50 am
Location: Sweden
Model: TS-409U

Re: IP Pbx capability

Postby BigBadaBoom » Thu Jun 26, 2008 9:07 pm

I had the same error message but fixed it now.
you have to remove the chroot from ipkg stuff (instructions found here) and it'll work fine.
BigBadaBoom
New here
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 7:15 pm
Model: TS-101/TS-201

Re: IP Pbx capability

Postby bof » Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:20 am

Sounds like trouble to me.
I guess I'll just have to wait for a firmware upgrade that fixes it.
TS-209 & TS-409
User avatar
bof
Starting out
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:50 am
Location: Sweden
Model: TS-409U

[QPKG x86] & [WIKI] Asterisk IPBX (VoIP)

Postby adnovea » Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:31 pm

Asterisk-based telephony offers tons of features.
It supports classical PBX functionality and advanced features and interoperates with traditional standards-based telephony systems and Voice over IP systems.

Running the Asterisk application on the QNAP servers is quite straightforward.
Here is a WIKI to guide you: http://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/Asterisk

Installation
To ease the Asterisk IPBX server installation*, I have attached a very tiny QPKG.
IMPORTANT: Optware-ipkg shall be installed first.
No more need to use a console, simply use the QNAP Admin QPKG page to start/stop the server and access to the PBX administration page with your browser (log with A/C admin/password).

Shall you need more information about features, phone (soft or IP) compatibility or howto about the Asterisk feature, click this link http://www.asteriskguru.com/tutorials/

*NOTE: because the installation will download the required packages, it will take about 4 mns on the TS-209 and 2 mns on the TS-639 with a good Internet connection.

WARNING: The package installs also on none x86 platforms but due to an IPKG GLIBC_2.4 lib issue it won't run. This problem is currently address in an other thread.

QPKG content:

- Asterisk v1.4 (actually the 1.4.22.1. The v1.6.5.0 has still issues with GUI)
- Web GUI v2.0
- French sounds
- English core and extra sounds
- Music on hold samples
- ISDN is not included (may be added through ipkg)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
adnovea
Easy as a breeze
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 2:47 am
Model: TS-109/209

Service provider trunks for Asterisk

Postby adnovea » Sat Apr 18, 2009 2:55 pm

AugAsterisk is working fine on your local network but now you wanna connect to the outside :wink:
Unfortunately there is not much help to set up a trunk (connection to the SIP VOIP service).

on your ISP side
Most of the ISP support SIP nowadays and Asterisk can use benefit of such a capability to connect to the ... world...
In order to use you ISP SIP capability, you may have to get to you ISP account control panel and do some changes such as "SIP service activation", definition of a "username" and a "password". These data will later be used to configure your trunk.

on your QNAP server
Then, there are several parameters to be given to asterisk to configure your trunk. I have started to create the missing "providers.conf" file that shall be copied into the "/share/xx0_DATA/.qpkg/Optware/etc/asterisk". Of course, I have no possibility to check that every providers is correctly defined but feel free to correct/add/update this file.

on your Asterisk Control panel
Once the providers.conf file has been copied into the relevant folder, start Asterisk Control Panel, select Trunks from the left panel, click on the Service providers tab, click on New Service provider, select from the list your provider, enter the username and password defined on your ISP account page.
Check for the trunk correct registration back on the Asterisk Control panel main page (click on "System status" in the left panel). Registration may fail, requires some delays, etc...

Because there are so many way to setup a trunk, you must browse the web and look for your correct ISP trunk parameters then check the relevant section into the providers.conf.
:arrow: I'm sorry but I cannot be of great help to setup a trunk.


NOTE: provides.conf contains information that are sometimes referred as being set into the sip.conf file. When using the providers.conf file mechanism for configuration, please leave the sip.conf by default. If you have chosen to configure Asterisk using the CP (control panel), do not manually modify the configuration files unless you perfectly understand the consequences.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by adnovea on Fri Aug 14, 2009 12:50 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
adnovea
Easy as a breeze
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 2:47 am
Model: TS-109/209

Re: IP Pbx capability

Postby liamgbf » Tue May 26, 2009 1:38 am

Yes a built in IP pbx VOIP such as asterisk / 3cx is really suitable for small business phone system...

_________________
Contact Center
liamgbf
First post
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 1:35 am
Model: TS-109/209 Pro

Re: IP Pbx capability

Postby jitubats » Mon Jun 29, 2009 5:09 am

I am trying to setup Asterisk, however I don't know how to start it up at startup time.
I have a asterisk TS-439, and have followed the wiki, got my phones registered, but every time I reboot my box, i have to restart my asterisk.

Any help here ?

Thanks,
J
jitubats
New here
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 5:05 am
Model: TS-419U

Re: IP Pbx capability

Postby petur » Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:17 am

User avatar
petur
Moderator
 
Posts: 4513
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:42 pm
Location: Gent, Belgium
Model: TS-x69 Pro

Re: IP Pbx capability

Postby adnovea » Mon Jun 29, 2009 2:08 pm

Are you using the Asterisk QPKG or did you make the install from Optware ?

My Asterisk (QPKG) is restarted after reboot (even if Disabled).
It seems to be the opposite problem of your :wink:
User avatar
adnovea
Easy as a breeze
 
Posts: 468
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 2:47 am
Model: TS-109/209

Re: IP Pbx capability

Postby jitubats » Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:53 am

Thanks for the replies guys.

I did follow the wiki and I have /opt/sbin/asterisk in my autorun.sh.

I could not install the qpkg, as it throws errors that ipkg is not installed, which it is.

- Any more suggestions.

-
J
jitubats
New here
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 5:05 am
Model: TS-419U

Next

Return to Features Wanted

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests