OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs

OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby daviddagenais » Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:58 am

Just a heads up that I installed Lion today (OS 10.7) and I get an error when trying to connect to my 809U-RP via AFP. It says that the current version of AFP on the device is not compatible. I am though able to connect via SMB.

Just a heads up. Please see pic for error message.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
daviddagenais
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:53 pm
NAS Model: TS-419P

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby franklahm » Fri Feb 25, 2011 2:27 pm

Interesting, thanks for testing.
@QNAP: please note that 10.7 compatibility is currently not on the Netatalk developer roadmap.

-f
franklahm
Starting out
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:15 pm
NAS Model: None

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby pechspilz » Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:06 am

Just an authentication problem?
http://trick77.com/2011/02/25/afp-broke ... lion-10-7/

DHX2 is already supported by netatalk, QNAP just have to provide the UAM.
pechspilz
Starting out
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:01 am
NAS Model: TS-239 Pro

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby QNAPJames » Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:23 am

Hi there,

Thanks a lot for the information. We will keep an eye on this and see how we should do to make it compatible with the future 10.7.

James
Customer Service: click here
Online Support Form: click here
User avatar
QNAPJames
QNAP Staff
 
Posts: 1477
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 3:12 pm
Location: Southern California
NAS Model: TS-x69L

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby kelix » Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:50 pm

I can replicate the error on my version 0f 10.7 also..

please can the QNAP devs work on this one as a priority? it seems an easy fix from the above posts
kelix
New here
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:46 am
NAS Model: NMP-1000

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby stefsegers » Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:09 pm

Anybody got luck yet?
http://www.trouwshoot.nl | http://www.familieshoot.nl | http://www.modeshoot.nl | http://www.bedrijfshoot.nl
Weblog: http://www.stefansegers.nl

QNAP 559Pro+ with 2 network connections 802.3AD + 3x 2tb WD RE4
QNAP 419P+ with 2 connections 802.3AD + 4x Samsung 1tb
User avatar
stefsegers
Starting out
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Netherlands
NAS Model: TS-459 Pro+

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby dynek » Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:25 pm

kelix wrote:I can replicate the error on my version 0f 10.7 also..

please can the QNAP devs work on this one as a priority? it seems an easy fix from the above posts

Priority ? Mac OS X Lion is not even out yet. It doesn't seem that urgent, is it ?
User avatar
dynek
Been there, done that
 
Posts: 705
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:58 pm
Location: Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
NAS Model: TS-439 Pro II

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby StDo » Sat Mar 26, 2011 5:16 pm

Is there any known workaround to connect to a QNAP NAS via afp using OSX Lion?
StDo
New here
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 2:10 am
NAS Model: SS-839 Pro

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby colorkite » Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:35 am

Well it may not seem like a big issue unless you are an Apple Developer testing your software with a QNAP workflow. Then it makes your hardware pretty useless....

QNAP - please issue a fix for this asap.
colorkite
Starting out
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 1:32 pm
NAS Model: TS-659 Pro

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby StDo » Sat Apr 02, 2011 4:43 pm

StDo wrote:Is there any known workaround to connect to a QNAP NAS via afp using OSX Lion?


There is a well working solution to turn "DHCAST128" support on.
Just go and check the devforums: https://devforums.apple.com/
StDo
New here
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 2:10 am
NAS Model: SS-839 Pro

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby BogeyMan » Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:46 am

dynek wrote:Priority ? Mac OS X Lion is not even out yet. It doesn't seem that urgent, is it ?

Urgent? Maybe not. Important? Definately. How would you feel in Windows 7 (or, insert your OS of choice here) had been released and you were unable to connect to your shiny QNAP NAS box after upgrading since there was no warning of lack of support? I would hope that within the development dungeons of QNAP at least one or two engineers are using Macs to test connectivity.

If QNAP really care about their user base, they should be members of the Apple Developer Program. This will give them access to the Apple Developer Forums where this issue has been discussed and a work around published. However, it's a workaround, not a solution.

Apple Developer Forums wrote:The most likely cause for this problem is that Lion disables support for the "DHCAST128", which is commonly used by NAS boxes but is, in our opinion, insufficiently secure

And the workaround:

Apple Developer Forums wrote:To turn on "DHCAST128" support please do the following:
1) Launch /Applications/Utilities/Terminal and do:
Code: Select all
sudo chmod o+w /Library/Preferences
defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleShareClient afp_host_prefs_version -int 1
Now restart your computer.
2) From Finder, select an AFP server, or use "Connect To...". This will cause the AFP Client to create the full preferences file
3) Launch Terminal again and do:
Code: Select all
sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleShareClient afp_disabled_uams -array "Cleartxt Passwrd" "MS2.0" "2-Way Randnum exchange"
sudo chmod o-w /Library/Preferences
Now restart your computer.
Note: To add a "DHCAST128" to the disable list, use
Code: Select all
sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleShareClient afp_disabled_uams -array-add "DHCAST128"
BogeyMan
Starting out
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 8:48 am
NAS Model: TS-509 Pro

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby nasfellow » Thu Apr 21, 2011 5:44 pm

But you cannot use this workaround from 'Recovery HD' of Lion... :(
nasfellow
Starting out
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 3:16 pm
NAS Model: TS-109/209

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby marciton » Thu May 05, 2011 5:02 am

it's not working also for Time Capsule ...
marciton
Know my way around
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:16 pm
NAS Model: TS-101/TS-201

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby StDo » Sun May 15, 2011 3:12 am

There is still no working solution for TM backups of OSX Lion on an QNAP TMShare?
StDo
New here
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 2:10 am
NAS Model: SS-839 Pro

Re: OS X LION with QNAP AFP

Postby marciton » Mon May 16, 2011 3:34 am

no apparently nobody care ...
marciton
Know my way around
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:16 pm
NAS Model: TS-101/TS-201

Next

Return to Hardware & Software Compatibility

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests