Unable to mount md0 after reboot

Discussion on remote replication.

Unable to mount md0 after reboot

Postby M4rc3L » Sun Mar 06, 2011 6:41 am

I'm having trouble mounting my raid 5 array. The problem is that QNAP tells me the raid array is 5 disks and raid1, because this was set once in the config. Though the raid array is 8 disks in raid5. According to mdadm the raid array is clean and running (doing so manually):
] # cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [multipath]
md0 : active raid5 sda3[0] sdf3[7] sdg3[6] sdh3[5] sdd3[4] sde3[3] sdc3[2] sdb3[1]
13663619200 blocks level 5, 64k chunk, algorithm 2 [8/8] [UUUUUUUU]

Also e2fsck shows me the filesystem is clean and no errors, als I can mount it manually. But after reboot it goes wrong again.

Now I noticed storage_boot_init 2 creates /etc/storage.conf, which has data set wrong (5 disks). How does QNAP generate this storage.conf and how can I change it?

Hope you have a answer for me!
M4rc3L
New here
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 8:31 pm
NAS Model: TS-639U

Re: Unable to mount md0 after reboot

Postby sl1000 » Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:56 am

what does /etc/config/mdadm.conf tell you
Try searching the perfect online manual, forum or the Wiki for answers before posting
### i've taken a qpkg development sabbatical ###
----------------------------------------------------------------------
TS-459Pro, 2x Samsung Spinpoint F2 HD154UI 1.5TB in Raid 1.
TS-212, 2x Seagate 500gb
SBS, SABNZB+, Sickbeard, CouchPotato, Subsonic, Dropbox, and more :)
----------------------------------------------------------------------
User avatar
sl1000
Experience counts
 
Posts: 3520
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
NAS Model: TS-259 Pro+

Re: Unable to mount md0 after reboot

Postby M4rc3L » Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:39 am

This is the output:

[~] # cat /etc/config/mdadm.conf
ARRAY /dev/md9 level=raid1 num-devices=8 UUID=593ea513:c94a0843:b99f8beb:7929179a
ARRAY /dev/sda4 level=raid1 num-devices=8 UUID=7d4c921d:4e081a1e:f297a436:3555d01b
ARRAY /dev/md8 level=raid1 num-devices=2 spares=6 UUID=c6d42637:3225f36a:2fa0d027:4f43cec5
ARRAY /dev/md0 level=raid5 num-devices=8 UUID=a800170a:412a7332:80621c94:e0a4c168


Which is correct for /dev/md0. Though I don't know what /dev/md9 /dev/sda4 /dev/md8 really mean, I guess it's qnap related.
M4rc3L
New here
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 8:31 pm
NAS Model: TS-639U

Re: Unable to mount md0 after reboot

Postby schumaku » Mon Mar 14, 2011 10:07 pm

Very obscure - in my opinion, it should never look like that on a QNAP NAS! What firmware version is in place? To much played aorund with mdadm while attemting to re-assemble the RAID I'd say... Don't remember if there was a period, where QNAP made us of the UUID format - unlikley however.

This is a typical one (from a four bay x86 unit - extend to the number of drives you previously had in your RAID):

[~] # cat /etc/config/mdadm.conf
ARRAY /dev/md0 devices=/dev/sda3,/dev/sdb3,/dev/sdc3,/dev/sdd3
User avatar
schumaku
Guru
 
Posts: 30938
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
NAS Model: TS-x79 Pro


Return to Remote Replication/ Disaster Recovery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests