Problem with TS-219+ - please help :(

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.

Problem with TS-219+ - please help :(

Postby mahatmadandy » Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:30 am

Hi,

I have just bought Qnap TS-219+. I am completely new to this kind of hardware, so I appologise in advance
for lack of proper terminology and knowledge. My system - Windows XP fully updated (as far as I know)

I have a serious problem, as I can't access server via Internet Explorer 8. Sometimes
the page: http://192.168.1.121:8080/index.html appears for one second, then it is gone. I can't connect via
Qnap finder too (Qnap Finder finds Nas though). When I try to conncet via Windows XP 'net connections -> my internet
places' (sorry, I run Polish version of XP, do not remember English names) I can see my Wi-Fi connection, Nas, as well as all server folders and Twonky.
But when I click on Nas icon - I get information that my server is not available in net.

I am aware of a problem with Internet Explorer 7:
"IE7 didn't support FTP function. You have to use windows explore or FTP utility.
You can refer to this website for more reference on FTP clients http://www.sofotex.com/download/FTP_Software/".
, but seller who sold me my Qnap asured me that Nas works with IE8 without any problems.

IE8 is my main browser, and all my work is circulates around it. Following my friends advice I installed Google
Chrome and strangly enough I could connect with server ( it is very unconvenient though).But still can't connect
via Windows 'net connections -> my internet places. One more problem here: I can't make Twonky work, as message
'servis unavailable"appears when I try to access it.

Please note that my router, Cisco Linksys E4200 finds Nas without any problem, and shows that machine is connected to
net and works fine. I think my Qnap has been properly set, and it is updated. Qnap finder finds Nas too. I think I can exclude my
antivirus - Eset Smart Security (version 5.0.95.0), as source of my problems, as I spent two hours with guys from
Eset technical support, and they were quite sure it is not Eset's fault. Cisco technical support told me that my router
works properly, and it is problem with my Qnap.


Nas Technical details:

Server's Name: SZYMONNAS1
Version: 3.5.2-1126T
Address Mac: 00-08-9B-C2-13_E0
DHCP: Swiched off
Address IP: 192.168.1.121
Subnet MasK (sorry do not know English name): 255.255.255.0
Gate: 192.168.1.1
Drive 1: Segate ST2000DLoo3-9VT1CC..
Drive 2: ---

I will be very gratefull for yor help and advice how to make my Nas and Twonky work. As it is my second day with Qnap Nas, I will really
appreciate if you can use as simple terminology as possible .

Thank you in advance for your kind assistance

M.
mahatmadandy
New here
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 5:43 pm
NAS Model: TS-119P+

Re: Problem with TS-219+ - please help :(

Postby P3R » Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:18 pm

mahatmadandy wrote:I think I can exclude my antivirus - Eset Smart Security (version 5.0.95.0), as source of my problems, as I spent two hours with guys from Eset technical support, and they were quite sure it is not Eset's fault.
Eset have been reported as the source of problems here several times lately... :roll:

I would try if these things doesn't help:
  • Clear the browser cache
  • Disable Eset (temporarily)
No, RAID has never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups you will eventually lose data!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Unfortunately I felt I had to leave this forum, this is the reason why...
P3R
Ask me anything
 
Posts: 5616
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Sweden
NAS Model: TS-459 Pro II

Re: Problem with TS-219+ - please help :(

Postby mahatmadandy » Wed Dec 14, 2011 4:51 pm

Many thanks for such a fast and helpful replay.

I cleaned all my system using CCleaner and ASO and I can connect with server via IE8, but only once, then it cuts the connection. When I do cleaning again I can connect again, but still only once.
I removed completely Eset from my system (Revo Unintaller) and change security status in IE8 from middle to low, thus allowing needed cookies. Now I can connect with server each time I try.
I do not have antivirus though, so I called ESET and raported problem again. Sadly when I try to connect to Twonky via working IE8 browser I still get message "service unavailable" (of course I enabled UPnP server before)


Other problem still remains - even after I removed ESET, I can't connect to server and Twonky via Windows XP system : 'net connections -> my internet places'. All just freezes.

Now I am really lost, as even if I change ESET for another antivirus, I can't still access server via system and even if I use IE8 I can't make Twonky work.

Your advice was very helpful indeed. I would appreciate any other suggestions

M.
mahatmadandy
New here
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 5:43 pm
NAS Model: TS-119P+

Re: Problem with TS-219+ - please help :(

Postby P3R » Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:02 pm

This is the antivirus I use. It's lean and have worked very well for years.

If the machine freezes I would guess it is either a Windows or network problem.
No, RAID has never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups you will eventually lose data!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Unfortunately I felt I had to leave this forum, this is the reason why...
P3R
Ask me anything
 
Posts: 5616
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Sweden
NAS Model: TS-459 Pro II

Re: Problem with TS-219+ - please help :(

Postby mahatmadandy » Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:14 pm

Sorry, I correct myself. Computer does not freeze as such, when I click server icon in 'my internet places' - in 50% of cases I got a message that server is not available in net, and in 50% cases I can't close 'my internet places' window, as hourglass is shown all the time. I did all I can by myself concerning net and confirmed in Cisco technical support that my router works fine. As mentioned before, router detects Nas, and shows that Qnap is properly connected.

Thank you kindly for antivirus tip - I will check it out
mahatmadandy
New here
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 5:43 pm
NAS Model: TS-119P+


Return to Turbo Station Installation & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests