Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.
animaleyes76
Know my way around
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:43 am
Model: TS-x79 Pro

Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby animaleyes76 » Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:11 pm

Hi,

I have a TS419+ NAS in RAID 5 with 4 x 3 TB drives.

I had 3x3 TB drives in RAID 5 and used the "Add drive" option as suggested in the QNAP documention.

31 hours later the NAS sees disk 4 as part of the RAID 5 array but my total storage is still the same amount it was as with 3 drives. Log files say "RAID Rebuild successful" and no errors.

Any ideas? Or will i now have to recreate the array from scratch?

Thanks

reader187
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 10:16 pm
Model: TS-659 Pro

Re: Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby reader187 » Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:59 pm

Maybe the device has added the additional drive as a spare drive instead of a live drive and you need to expand the capacity to all 4disks?
Do you have an option under "Disk Management" -> Raid Management -> Expand capactiy?

However in the manual they say the "Add hard drive" option should be sufficient.

Disclaimer: before you try to expand the array, backup all data!

Regards
Reader187

animaleyes76
Know my way around
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:43 am
Model: TS-x79 Pro

Re: Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby animaleyes76 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 7:07 pm

Thanks for that.. I could have sworn that it wasn't active.

Anyway, it was active, I tried it but got a "Raid 5 Expansion Failed".

Nevermind, there's only about 600GB on it (after it deleted all 3TB of my data doing a Raid 1 to Raid 5 migration, exactly as the instructions said to) so i just copied it all to my 2TB linkstation, reset the 419P+ and started again.

2 processes in a row this thing has messed up lol, but also my fault that i didn't back up, nothing important lost admittedly lol.

Lesson learnt.

Thanks for your post :)

chopshop007
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 5:18 am
Model: TS-401T

Re: Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby chopshop007 » Tue May 22, 2012 5:40 am

Hey all. I've got the same problem. I know that I added the drive. The logs confirm it.

I have a TS419+ NAS in RAID 5 with 4 x 2 TB drives.

I had 3x2 TB drives in RAID 5 and used the "Add drive" option as suggested in the QNAP documention.

31 hours later the NAS sees disk 4 as part of the RAID 5 array but my total storage is still the same amount it was as with 3 drives. Log files say "RAID Rebuild successful" and no errors.

2012-05-21 05:51:22 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] Expanding Raid Device failed.
2012-05-21 05:43:05 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] Rebuilding completed.
2012-05-19 09:18:09 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] Start rebuilding.
2012-05-19 09:18:05 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3] Start to expand Raid Device: Add Drive 4.

How can I correct this problem?

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 19923
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Model: TS-x70 Pro
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby pwilson » Tue May 22, 2012 8:04 am

chopshop007 wrote:Hey all. I've got the same problem. I know that I added the drive. The logs confirm it.

I have a TS419+ NAS in RAID 5 with 4 x 2 TB drives.

I had 3x2 TB drives in RAID 5 and used the "Add drive" option as suggested in the QNAP documention.

31 hours later the NAS sees disk 4 as part of the RAID 5 array but my total storage is still the same amount it was as with 3 drives. Log files say "RAID Rebuild successful" and no errors.

2012-05-21 05:51:22 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] Expanding Raid Device failed.
2012-05-21 05:43:05 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] Rebuilding completed.
2012-05-19 09:18:09 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] Start rebuilding.
2012-05-19 09:18:05 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3] Start to expand Raid Device: Add Drive 4.

How can I correct this problem?


Did you follow the instructions provided in the QNAP FAQ: Online RAID Capacity Expansion & RAID Level Migration?

As the drive seems to have failed, you might want to temporarily put the drive in a PC, so you can throughly test it before trying again.

Patrick.

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20150716 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

P3R
Ask me anything
Posts: 6232
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Model: TS-459 Pro II
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby P3R » Tue May 22, 2012 5:07 pm

Any services, applications or QPKGs active preventing the necessary unmount/mount of the disk volume?
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site) you will eventually lose data!

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the money wisely or pay with your data!

chopshop007
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 5:18 am
Model: TS-401T

Re: Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby chopshop007 » Wed May 23, 2012 7:30 am

P3R wrote:Any services, applications or QPKGs active preventing the necessary unmount/mount of the disk volume?


That was the magic bullet. I had to log in through SSH and kill off a the iscsi process to get it to properly umount. Even when they were turned off still some system processes were not exiting.


Return to “System & Disk Volume Management”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MrVideo and 5 guests