Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.

Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby animaleyes76 » Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:11 pm

Hi,

I have a TS419+ NAS in RAID 5 with 4 x 3 TB drives.

I had 3x3 TB drives in RAID 5 and used the "Add drive" option as suggested in the QNAP documention.

31 hours later the NAS sees disk 4 as part of the RAID 5 array but my total storage is still the same amount it was as with 3 drives. Log files say "RAID Rebuild successful" and no errors.

Any ideas? Or will i now have to recreate the array from scratch?

Thanks
animaleyes76
Know my way around
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:43 am
NAS Model: TS-x79 Pro

Re: Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby reader187 » Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:59 pm

Maybe the device has added the additional drive as a spare drive instead of a live drive and you need to expand the capacity to all 4disks?
Do you have an option under "Disk Management" -> Raid Management -> Expand capactiy?

However in the manual they say the "Add hard drive" option should be sufficient.

Disclaimer: before you try to expand the array, backup all data!

Regards
Reader187
reader187
Starting out
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 10:16 pm
NAS Model: TS-659 Pro

Re: Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby animaleyes76 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 7:07 pm

Thanks for that.. I could have sworn that it wasn't active.

Anyway, it was active, I tried it but got a "Raid 5 Expansion Failed".

Nevermind, there's only about 600GB on it (after it deleted all 3TB of my data doing a Raid 1 to Raid 5 migration, exactly as the instructions said to) so i just copied it all to my 2TB linkstation, reset the 419P+ and started again.

2 processes in a row this thing has messed up lol, but also my fault that i didn't back up, nothing important lost admittedly lol.

Lesson learnt.

Thanks for your post :)
animaleyes76
Know my way around
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:43 am
NAS Model: TS-x79 Pro

Re: Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby chopshop007 » Tue May 22, 2012 5:40 am

Hey all. I've got the same problem. I know that I added the drive. The logs confirm it.

I have a TS419+ NAS in RAID 5 with 4 x 2 TB drives.

I had 3x2 TB drives in RAID 5 and used the "Add drive" option as suggested in the QNAP documention.

31 hours later the NAS sees disk 4 as part of the RAID 5 array but my total storage is still the same amount it was as with 3 drives. Log files say "RAID Rebuild successful" and no errors.

2012-05-21 05:51:22 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] Expanding Raid Device failed.
2012-05-21 05:43:05 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] Rebuilding completed.
2012-05-19 09:18:09 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] Start rebuilding.
2012-05-19 09:18:05 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3] Start to expand Raid Device: Add Drive 4.

How can I correct this problem?
chopshop007
New here
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 5:18 am
NAS Model: TS-401T

Re: Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby pwilson » Tue May 22, 2012 8:04 am

chopshop007 wrote:Hey all. I've got the same problem. I know that I added the drive. The logs confirm it.

I have a TS419+ NAS in RAID 5 with 4 x 2 TB drives.

I had 3x2 TB drives in RAID 5 and used the "Add drive" option as suggested in the QNAP documention.

31 hours later the NAS sees disk 4 as part of the RAID 5 array but my total storage is still the same amount it was as with 3 drives. Log files say "RAID Rebuild successful" and no errors.

2012-05-21 05:51:22 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] Expanding Raid Device failed.
2012-05-21 05:43:05 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] Rebuilding completed.
2012-05-19 09:18:09 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3 4] Start rebuilding.
2012-05-19 09:18:05 System 127.0.0.1 localhost [RAID5 Disk Volume: Drive 1 2 3] Start to expand Raid Device: Add Drive 4.

How can I correct this problem?


Did you follow the instructions provided in the QNAP FAQ: Online RAID Capacity Expansion & RAID Level Migration?

As the drive seems to have failed, you might want to temporarily put the drive in a PC, so you can throughly test it before trying again.

Patrick.

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.1.1 Build 20141003 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit) User.
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - Top Community Forum Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs - HowTos - QNAP Video Library
Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.
User avatar
pwilson
Moderator
 
Posts: 12613
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
NAS Model: TS-x70 Pro

Re: Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby P3R » Tue May 22, 2012 5:07 pm

Any services, applications or QPKGs active preventing the necessary unmount/mount of the disk volume?
No, RAID has never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups you will eventually lose data!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Unfortunately I felt I had to leave this forum, this is the reason why...
P3R
Ask me anything
 
Posts: 5616
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Sweden
NAS Model: TS-459 Pro II

Re: Add drive to RAID 5 succeeded but no extra capacity

Postby chopshop007 » Wed May 23, 2012 7:30 am

P3R wrote:Any services, applications or QPKGs active preventing the necessary unmount/mount of the disk volume?


That was the magic bullet. I had to log in through SSH and kill off a the iscsi process to get it to properly umount. Even when they were turned off still some system processes were not exiting.
chopshop007
New here
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 5:18 am
NAS Model: TS-401T


Return to System & Disk Volume Management

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DIG, rjmusto and 5 guests