timemachine not working with 3.5 firmware installed.

Backup, Restore, Q-Back 25s/35s, Netbak Replicator

Re: timemachine not working with 3.5 firmware installed.

Postby bakkese » Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:32 am

I have Snow Leopard on two machines which never had backup issues since I got my QNAP NAS. After updating to 3.5.2, I've seen the dreaded message on both machines. I just completed a downgrade to 3.4.4 since there really wasn't anything I needed in 3.5. Hopefully I won't have this issue again, but it would be nice to get it fixed, especially if I ever want to update to OSX 10.7
QNAP TS-419p+ 3 2TB Samsung RAID-5
bakkese
Starting out
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:41 am
NAS Model: Not Selected

Re: timemachine not working with 3.5 firmware installed.

Postby bakkese » Sun Jan 29, 2012 4:45 am

Since this downgrade to 3.4.4 I have yet to have any issues. One of the machines is an iMac 2011 and the other a MacBook Pro (late 2006). Both have the latest snow leopard installed.
QNAP TS-419p+ 3 2TB Samsung RAID-5
bakkese
Starting out
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:41 am
NAS Model: Not Selected

Re: timemachine not working with 3.5 firmware installed.

Postby RichieB » Tue Feb 28, 2012 5:55 pm

I upgraded to 3.6.0 build 0210T, and this issue persists. I am seriously thinking of downgrading to firnware 3.4 where all was fine.
RichieB
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 5:48 am
NAS Model: TS-459 Pro+

Re: timemachine not working with 3.5 firmware installed.

Postby intheswim » Wed Feb 29, 2012 6:46 pm

Server Name Qnap119
Firmware Version 3.6.0 Build 0210T

I am now receiving the following message when TM tries to run a new (incremental) backup;
'Time Machine can't finish the backup. The diskcopyfile '/Volumes/TMBackup/iMac of xxx.sparsebundle' which is used for the backup, is already in use.'

What to do?
intheswim
New here
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 6:25 pm
NAS Model: TS-109/209 Pro II

Re: timemachine not working with 3.5 firmware installed.

Postby smith3 » Thu Mar 22, 2012 8:18 pm

I have also been experiencing this with firmware 3.6.0 build 0210T ts419p+
imac late 2009 i7 running lion 10.7.3.
Qnap is there a fix in the works for this issue?
smith3
New here
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:09 am
Location: London
NAS Model: TS-219P+

Re: timemachine not working with 3.5 firmware installed.

Postby Verakso » Sat Mar 24, 2012 9:22 am

I can only stand in line with the rest, there is having issues with the latest firmware and TimeMachine.

All to late I did found a workaround for corrupt backups (http://bit.ly/GIuk7e), but I ditched my backup and started from scratch - bad idea.

I think I have tried everything. Deletet the TimeMachine sparsbunde file, re-enabled the TimeMaschine service, created a new backup, that fails because I only have 140 GB of the 500 GB allocated to do an initial backup on 250 GB.

What I can't figure out if this is a Mac problem (is there a setting I have missed, that keeps trying to do more backup than the 250 GB), or is it the buggy firmware of QNAP.

What ever it is, it is not a reliable situation, given in mind that most of us by a QNAP do do some backup.

I am somewhat disappointed right now

EDIT: Just an update, since I spend all night trying to figurering this out.
If you are running Lion (OSX 10.7.x) you can't downgrade due to changes in the AFP. Latest firmware that supports Lion is 3.5.x
This seems to be consisten with what other is writing, people running prior versions like Snow Leopard (<OSX 10.6.x) doesn't have these problems.

What stills annoys me is, that even if I delete the sparsbunde and create a new fresh version, the TimeMachine still insists there is allready used like 400 GB of my TimeMachine space, and I have not yet figured out what is taking up the space...
QNAP-419P (RAID 5 4x2GB WDC)
Verakso
New here
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 5:57 am
NAS Model: TS-401T

Re: timemachine not working with 3.5 firmware installed.

Postby RichieB » Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:26 pm

Does anyone know if this problem still exists with QNAP firmware 3.8.0 ? The notes say: Enhances Time Machine backup compatibility with OS X Mountain Lion.
RichieB
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 5:48 am
NAS Model: TS-459 Pro+

Re: timemachine not working with 3.5 firmware installed.

Postby schumaku » Sun Dec 02, 2012 12:27 am

There is no "this problem" - several different issues in the play here. Several issues listed in this thread were AFP related - and addressed in 3.5.1 already. v3.8 addresses an issue where an unexpected protocol reset has lead to a initial full backup. Some reports around in the forum on inconstant quota handling. for sure, 3.5. is _not_ Mountain Lion compatible.

It does not make any sense, to warm-up such an old thread again.
User avatar
schumaku
Guru
 
Posts: 29966
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
NAS Model: TS-x79 Pro

Previous

Return to Backup & Restore

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests