LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any client

Tell us your most wanted features from QNAP products.

LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any client

Postby player12 » Fri Nov 30, 2007 7:15 pm

I would like to see a openLDAP server - then I could access all the addresses from any client (PC / SNOM VoIP phones / laptops)...

like:
http://www.openldap.org/
player12
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 6:12 pm

Postby player12 » Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:27 pm

So SNOM VoIP phones do have these configuration possibilities - so I would like the TS-109 Pro to act as a LDAP server.:

LDAP:
LDAP name filter:
LDAP number filter:
Server Address:
Port:
Base:
Username:
Password:
Max. Hits:
LDAP name attributes:
LDAP number attributes:
LDAP display name:
Countrycode:
Areacode:
LDAP lookup for incoming call: on off
TS-109 Pro -- Version 2.1.2 Build 1114T
player12
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 6:12 pm

Re: LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any client

Postby happyguy » Wed Jan 16, 2008 5:02 am

That, or the possibility for the NAS to authenticate against a pre-existing LDAP server.
happyguy
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 12:18 am
Location: United States

Re: LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any client

Postby player12 » Tue Nov 11, 2008 4:44 pm

Nearly one year later....

Can I have some feedback if there will be a LDAP server in the near future?
TS-109 Pro -- Version 2.1.2 Build 1114T
player12
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 6:12 pm

Re: LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any cli

Postby VincentM » Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:53 am

Need LDAP support here too, at least have the nas authenticate an LDAP server.

almost 3 yrs now

Plz………
User avatar
VincentM
Easy as a breeze
 
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:58 am
Location: Indian Ocean
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Re: LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any cli

Postby fribse » Sun Jun 20, 2010 2:28 pm

Do you need an LDAP server, or LDAP client on the NAS?
There is a QPKG with an LDAP server in the works, it seems close as the group is already created.
Best regards
Fribse

NO, RAID is NOT backup - Use RAID-Certified 24x7 drives for raid
HOWTO's:
Make automatic backup of ALL MySQL databases http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=15628
Beaf up security on Apache with customized.conf http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=15540

NAS TS-659 Pro w. 6x 1TB| Joomla, MySQL
SERVERS VMWare 5.1.0 | OES11 GroupWise 2014 | PS3 60GB (upgraded to 500 GB) | Nintendo Wii | Revo Pico RadioStation | 3 Windows 7 Ent PC's
NET FritzBox 7390 | HP Procurve 1800-24G | EdgeCore ES4308 (POE)
User avatar
fribse
Experience counts
 
Posts: 1834
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:50 am
Location: Greve, Denmark
Model: TS-659 Pro

Re: LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any cli

Postby VincentM » Tue Jun 22, 2010 11:59 pm

Need the qnap get accounts info from mac os x mini
User avatar
VincentM
Easy as a breeze
 
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:58 am
Location: Indian Ocean
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Re: LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any cli

Postby fribse » Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:19 am

So an LDAP client, not currently implemented, and not directly easy to integrate in the linux without lum enabling the users, and that's a SUSE/OES only feature.
You could activate LDAP authorization on a standard Linux, but there's a lot of interoperability that needs work.
I think with their current AD integration, there's not much push towards a standards based integration.
Best regards
Fribse

NO, RAID is NOT backup - Use RAID-Certified 24x7 drives for raid
HOWTO's:
Make automatic backup of ALL MySQL databases http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=15628
Beaf up security on Apache with customized.conf http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=15540

NAS TS-659 Pro w. 6x 1TB| Joomla, MySQL
SERVERS VMWare 5.1.0 | OES11 GroupWise 2014 | PS3 60GB (upgraded to 500 GB) | Nintendo Wii | Revo Pico RadioStation | 3 Windows 7 Ent PC's
NET FritzBox 7390 | HP Procurve 1800-24G | EdgeCore ES4308 (POE)
User avatar
fribse
Experience counts
 
Posts: 1834
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:50 am
Location: Greve, Denmark
Model: TS-659 Pro

Re: LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any cli

Postby VincentM » Fri Jun 25, 2010 12:57 am

how much time it will take QNAP to have a firmware enabling the possibility to have the nas get client info from a mac ldap server and ACL management in the web interface? Is Apple the only company capable of improving userfriendlyness of its products in very short time? QNAP NASES are great product but still missing the penny to complete the pound in quite some field of use!!
User avatar
VincentM
Easy as a breeze
 
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:58 am
Location: Indian Ocean
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Re: LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any cli

Postby fribse » Sun Jun 27, 2010 7:25 pm

Ha ha, I think you are confusing LDAP with user friendliness. Apple only likes open standards when it suits them, otherwise they 'have something better', so don't mix terms.
LDAP is a valuabla addition to integration with open standards, but it doesn necessarily have anything to do with user friendly.
I have no idea what it will take for them to integrate it, it has been requested (several years ago) by me amongst others.
Best regards
Fribse

NO, RAID is NOT backup - Use RAID-Certified 24x7 drives for raid
HOWTO's:
Make automatic backup of ALL MySQL databases http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=15628
Beaf up security on Apache with customized.conf http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=15540

NAS TS-659 Pro w. 6x 1TB| Joomla, MySQL
SERVERS VMWare 5.1.0 | OES11 GroupWise 2014 | PS3 60GB (upgraded to 500 GB) | Nintendo Wii | Revo Pico RadioStation | 3 Windows 7 Ent PC's
NET FritzBox 7390 | HP Procurve 1800-24G | EdgeCore ES4308 (POE)
User avatar
fribse
Experience counts
 
Posts: 1834
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:50 am
Location: Greve, Denmark
Model: TS-659 Pro

Re: LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any cli

Postby casperghst42 » Mon Oct 18, 2010 5:26 am

Actually ldap would be using NIS (which LUM also does.....), but instead of using NIS (ie. unix nis) it would be using any ldap backend where users are posixUsers (or inetOrgPerson really depending on the schema).

I've just asked for this feature, but in general if one look at a normal Linux box there is a way to use a ldap backend for authentication and authorization. Authentication is the username/password part, the authorization is the more interesting part as this is where the uidNumber and gidNumber is provided (getent passwd, id, etc, etc).

Now that one have pointed in the Novell direction, it would be possible to create users using Novell IDM (lots of options there), but for a home user that would be "overkill".

I would just like to have the normal LDAP intergration found in normal Linux distributions, which only allow for testing on a single group, and a search filter - but people asking for this would know how to deal with that before going in that direction in the first place.

The main issue, is that if one have more than a couple of computers (Linux/OSX) using NFS things will get complicated due to the different ways the distribution assign uidNumbers.

Being able to "modify" uidNumbers/gidNumbers manually would be a step in the right direction, but it's not going to solve the whole situation.

btw. LDAP is not an addressbook, it can be used as, but it's more than that.

Thanks.

Casper
casperghst42
New here
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 5:00 am
Model: SS-839 Pro

Re: LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any cli

Postby 2326766 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:16 am

Did you see there is an openldap qpkg?
2326766
Know my way around
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:08 am
Model: TS-239 Pro

Re: LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any cli

Postby casperghst42 » Tue Oct 19, 2010 5:26 pm

2326766 wrote:Did you see there is an openldap qpkg?


Yes, but there is no integration, meaning the OS cannot use the accounts in LDAP for authentication / authorization

Casper
casperghst42
New here
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 5:00 am
Model: SS-839 Pro

Re: LDAP support

Postby AlbertH » Tue May 03, 2011 2:19 am

+1 vote for LDAP:

That, or the possibility for the NAS to authenticate against a pre-existing LDAP server.


Yes, our 3 NASes should be able to authenticate and authorize users defined in our existing OpenLDAP server.

Please...
AlbertH
Starting out
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:14 pm
Model: TS-859 Pro+

Re: LDAP server: would like to access addresses from any cli

Postby VincentM » Thu May 19, 2011 3:41 pm

urgently required
User avatar
VincentM
Easy as a breeze
 
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:58 am
Location: Indian Ocean
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Next

Return to Features Wanted

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests