Reset Your NAS

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.

Reset Your NAS

Postby QNAPRei » Tue Dec 18, 2007 5:15 pm

Reset NAS on the admin page
The Reset function on "System Tools> Backup/ Restore/ Reset Settings" is designed to reset all settings of NAS to default.

:!: When you press Reset on this page, all drive data, user accounts, network shares and system settings are cleared and restored to default. Please make sure you have backed up all the important data and system settings before resetting the NAS. :!:

Reset NAS by the reset button
When you press the reset button on NAS, a beep sound will be heard. The following settings are reset to default:
a. System admin password: admin
b. Network Settings/ TCP/IP Configuration: Obtain IP address settings automatically via DHCP
c. Network Settings/ TCP/IP Configuration: Disable Jumbo Frame
d. Network Setting/ System Port Management: 8080 (system service port)
e. System Tools/ IP Filter: Allow all connections
Online Support Form: http://www.qnap.com/onlinesupport.asp
Support email: q_support@qnap.com.tw
MSN: q.support@hotmail.com
Skype: qnapskype
QNAPRei
QNAP Staff
 
Posts: 700
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Taipei

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby gijski » Fri Jan 18, 2008 4:37 pm

When I upgrade the firmware on my NAS, does it affect settings/data/user accounts/shares etc?

I'm assuming it will behave like a combination of Reset Settings/Reset Button?
I am hoping it leaves everything intact though...
gijski
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 3:01 pm

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby QNAPRei » Sat Jan 19, 2008 9:33 pm

gijski wrote:When I upgrade the firmware on my NAS, does it affect settings/data/user accounts/shares etc?


No. The settings will not be changed after firmware upgrade.
Online Support Form: http://www.qnap.com/onlinesupport.asp
Support email: q_support@qnap.com.tw
MSN: q.support@hotmail.com
Skype: qnapskype
QNAPRei
QNAP Staff
 
Posts: 700
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Taipei

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby rcourtman » Sun Feb 10, 2008 8:14 pm

When i hit reset, i just get the page loading, so i leave it but it takes hours.... it seems to reset all the settings but does not format the disks. Does this feature also reset twonky media - including username and password?
rcourtman
New here
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 6:39 pm
NAS Model: TS-409U

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby johnA » Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:33 pm

QNAPRei wrote:
gijski wrote:When I upgrade the firmware on my NAS, does it affect settings/data/user accounts/shares etc?


No. The settings will not be changed after firmware upgrade.


** on what versions youre moving between you may need to change some values in administration e.g. for the smtp server and mail recipients.
johnA
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 7:57 pm

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby netpapy » Mon Apr 07, 2008 4:00 am

I have NAs 201 with problems with ip config.
He is no more recognize and i don't find the Ip Adress. Qnap finder don't find anything.
When i press on the reset behind the Nas, nothing happent. No beep.
What must I do to obtain a reset? How long must I press on the reset button. The Nas must be shutdown and restart?
Please help me.
Thanks
netpapy
First post
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:20 am
NAS Model: TS-109/209

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby webbm » Mon Apr 07, 2008 7:07 am

Does that include /dev/mtdblock5 ? Might be the answer to this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=85&t=1770

Thanks and cheers,
Matt.
webbm
Starting out
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:13 pm

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby aricher » Fri May 21, 2010 3:31 pm

Bonjour,

Je suis en possession d'un TS-439 Pro et il m'est impossible de le mettre à jour en version 3.2.6. La version 3.2.4 est installé actuellement et moin NAS plante en permanence, il redeémarre tout seul. Quand j'essaye de faire des transferts il plante. Quand j'essaye de le mettre à jour par l'interface Web, il bloque au bout de 20 % parfois moins.

J'ai essayé en me servant de l'utilitaire PUTTY.exe mais même résultat.

Comment dois-je faire pour réussir à le mettre à jour ou pour Reseter la puce et réinstaller un Frmware qui fonctionne correctement?

Merci par avance
aricher
First post
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 3:23 pm
NAS Model: TS-239 Pro

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby Kobayashidk » Sun Oct 31, 2010 1:34 am

Is there a way to reset my nas settings, without loosing my disk data.

I want to reset the webserver to default.
Kobayashidk
First post
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 1:30 am
NAS Model: SS-439 Pro

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby leophoenix » Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:11 am

If you want to reset your NAS without losing any data Following the instruction

1. Keep all the disks inserted do not take them out
2. Press the RESET button on the back of the NAS for 10 seconds until your here 2 beeps then followed by a third beep after ten seconds.
3. This will delete all the following: (Usernames, Groups, And Shares) but all your data will still be intact on MD0_share
4. then make sure your NAS is plugged into your PC not a router and set your IP on your PC to the following.

(PC: 169.254.100.101)

The default IP for the nas will reset to 169.254.100.100)

You can use Qnap Finder is it works, if not go to browser and type the IP address in for the NAS and there you can set-up all your usernames & shares & also groups up again, remember your data will still be on /share/MD0_DATA

I had to do this few days ago works well, all I had to do is set-up Usernames/groups and shares and point the share to /share/MD0_DATA/<name of folder>

this will also reset admin password and sql as well.

Regards,
-PHOENIX
leophoenix
New here
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:57 am
NAS Model: SS-839 Pro

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby biriani » Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:07 pm

Hi,

A question, in case of a malicuos user that wants to enter to the content of the NAS.
He will have just to reset the NAS phisically and than he could just enter the user name admin with password admin ?

Regards
biriani
New here
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:05 pm
NAS Model: NMP-1000

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby schumaku » Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:13 pm

biriani wrote:A question, in case of a malicuos user that wants to enter to the content of the NAS.
He will have just to reset the NAS phisically and than he could just enter the user name admin with password admin ?
Of course. Or dismount the HDD and re-assemble the disk mounts...

Rule #1 in IT security? Prohibit non-authorized physical access to your system.
User avatar
schumaku
Guru
 
Posts: 30952
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
NAS Model: TS-x79 Pro

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby rinthos » Sun Dec 16, 2012 2:50 pm

biriani wrote:
A question, in case of a malicuos user that wants to enter to the content of the NAS.

schumaku wrote:
He will have just to reset the NAS phisically and than he could just enter the user name admin with password admin ?
Of course. Or dismount the HDD and re-assemble the disk mounts...

Rule #1 in IT security? Prohibit non-authorized physical access to your system.


This would also be a case for creating and using an encrypted volume. Just make sure you do NOT store the key on the NAS (don't use the default key option, and don't use the auto-load option).
The downside, each time you reboot you'll need to manually login to the NAS and enter the passphrase to enable the encrypted volume.
The plus, if someone were to physically unplug the NAS and take it somewhere and power it up, they would not be able to access any data unless they could unlock/mount the encrypted volume (they would need to guess the passphrase). And if you use a semi-complex password (10 digits with letters, numbers, and symbols), it is unlikely that anyone would ever be able to crack that passkey :)
This does hurt performance quite a bit, but it's a decent mitigation.

As schumaku said, if you are afraid of physical access, you should physically protect the NAS accordingly. But the encryption option (if used as I noted above) can be a great protection mechanism for this as well. Just do NOT forget your passphrase or you'll lose access to your own data :)
---
rinthos
Been there, done that
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 1:23 pm
NAS Model: TS-459 Pro

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby schumaku » Sun Dec 16, 2012 8:10 pm

More effort and overhead than real advantages. Even the best encryption does not replace physical access restrictions.

At run-time - neither this kind of encryption nor the competitors folder-based encryption does add any security.
User avatar
schumaku
Guru
 
Posts: 30952
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
NAS Model: TS-x79 Pro

Re: Reset Your NAS

Postby jparrie » Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:58 am

Due to another problem with my TS 412 (in another thread) I would like to reset the device. However, I am not taking the risk that the many hundreds of Gb of data on my hard drives will be wiped, so could someone just confirm that if I reset the QNAP, all hard disk data will be erased?

I have read the instructions above to reset without wiping the hard drives, but how can I trust this thing to do what its supposed to and not wipe it?

Can I reset after taking out all the drives?

I'm left wondering just why this has to be so difficult. When it works, it works well, but when it goes wrong I apparently need an IT degree to fix it.
jparrie
New here
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:27 pm
NAS Model: TS-412

Next

Return to Turbo Station Installation & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests