ATA-8 - SATA600 - ST32000641AS

Questions about SNMP, Power, System, Logs, disk, & RAID.

ATA-8 - SATA600 - ST32000641AS

Postby charlyd » Wed Mar 16, 2011 11:38 pm

Hi my disk are ATA8 or SATA600 will it be supported in the future firmware or is it hardware update of the internal controller. my 859 pro is just 3 month old ;-)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Windows X64 - 2008 R2 / ESXi 5.0 / Qnap 859 Pro / 8X2TB Seagate ST32000641AS
charlyd
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 7:36 pm
NAS Model: TS-659 Pro

Re: ATA-8 - SATA600 - ST32000641AS

Postby Don » Thu Mar 17, 2011 1:21 am

It has to do with the hardware. The controller on all QNAP nas devices, except for the newest models announced at CBIT, will not support stata 600.
Search (upper right hand corner) before posting.

Unofficial QNAP How-To Guide: http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=10622
How-To increase raid rebuild speed: http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=10268
How-To install dnsmasq: http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=90&t=26395

NAS: TS-509 F/W 3.6.1.0302 | TS-419P+ F/W 4.1.0.1218 beta | TS-639 F/W 3.6.1.0302 | TS-669 F/W 4.1.0.1220 beta
QPKG: ipkg, LMS 7.7.1, PhpGedView, phpMyAdmin, WordPress, Xdove 1.3
IPKG: atop, busybox, dnsmasq, flac, htop, lame, less, libid3tag, lsof, man, man-pages, unzip, wakelan
OTHER: crontab, phpXmail, SpeedTest
N/W: Asus RT-N16 router | SMC gigagit switch
User avatar
Don
Moderator
 
Posts: 6414
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York
NAS Model: TS-509 Pro

Re: ATA-8 - SATA600 - ST32000641AS

Postby sl1000 » Thu Mar 17, 2011 2:09 am

so? it wil just fall back to sata-300 on the current models. No problem at all imho as these drives aren't quick enough anyway to use the wide bandwith sata-600 has to offer.
Therefor the question would be: are these drives going to work with the current QNAP models, and my guess would be yes :)
Try searching the perfect online manual, forum or the Wiki for answers before posting
### i've taken a qpkg development sabbatical ###
----------------------------------------------------------------------
TS-459Pro, 2x Samsung Spinpoint F2 HD154UI 1.5TB in Raid 1.
TS-212, 2x Seagate 500gb
SBS, SABNZB+, Sickbeard, CouchPotato, Subsonic, Dropbox, and more :)
----------------------------------------------------------------------
User avatar
sl1000
Experience counts
 
Posts: 3520
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2009 7:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
NAS Model: TS-259 Pro+

Re: ATA-8 - SATA600 - ST32000641AS

Postby P3R » Thu Mar 17, 2011 8:20 am

As far as I can see they are on the compatibility list for TS-859 Pro without any notes so I'd expect them to work regardless of Qnap firmware version.

Of course they will fall back to SATA 3 Gbit/s as the TS-859 Pro hardware doesn't support SATA 6 Gbit/s. But as sl1000 points out, that shouldn't affect overall performance that much since SATA 3 Gbit/s usually isn't a bottleneck with mechanical disks. Only when reading from the onboard disk cache I expect SATA 6 Gbit/s to be beneficial.
No, RAID has never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups you will eventually lose data!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Unfortunately I felt I had to leave this forum, this is the reason why...
P3R
Ask me anything
 
Posts: 5616
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Sweden
NAS Model: TS-459 Pro II

Re: ATA-8 - SATA600 - ST32000641AS

Postby charlyd » Fri Mar 18, 2011 9:56 pm

yes yes you are right it works super, ST32000641AS (7x). i was just wondering and yes i thoung the answer would be hardware of course but not asked is not sure..;-)

i was playing arround with the jumbo frame option to set it to 9000 anyone experience with that . first i did that i lost my CONFIG totally so now i am a but carefully and what to know exact what to do and what NOT. my adpaters on the other site are INTEL Dual ports server adapater and yes they support jumbo frames. but as of for my switch it supports jumbo frames??

this is my switch:

SRW2016 16-Port 10/100/1000
Gigabit Switch
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Windows X64 - 2008 R2 / ESXi 5.0 / Qnap 859 Pro / 8X2TB Seagate ST32000641AS
charlyd
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 7:36 pm
NAS Model: TS-659 Pro

Re: ATA-8 - SATA600 - ST32000641AS

Postby P3R » Sat Mar 19, 2011 1:12 am

I'm sorry if I sounded patronizing, I'm not native in english and sometimes things come out wrong. There's absolutely no harm in asking, that's the way to learn!

According to the data sheet your switch does support jumbo frames. Possibly it needs to be enabled in the configuration interface? At least with my switches (different brand) that's necessary.
No, RAID has never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups you will eventually lose data!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Unfortunately I felt I had to leave this forum, this is the reason why...
P3R
Ask me anything
 
Posts: 5616
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Sweden
NAS Model: TS-459 Pro II


Return to System & Disk Volume Management

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests