will the ts-639 support 5TB WD50EFRX

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs

will the ts-639 support 5TB WD50EFRX

Postby revaaron » Thu Jun 27, 2013 9:38 am

I'm looking to upgrade my full RAID 5 3x3TB, RAID 5 3x2TB into one single 6x4TB RAID 6.
changing it to a 3x3TB + 1x4TB RAID 5 until the 4TB WD40EFRX come out, swap out with the reds.
but if the 639 will support the WD50EFRX... I would love 6x5TB...
revaaron
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 11:01 am
NAS Model: TS-419U

Re: will the ts-639 support 5TB WD50EFRX

Postby P3R » Thu Jun 27, 2013 4:03 pm

revaaron wrote:...but if the 639 will support the WD50EFRX... I would love 6x5TB...
Are you asking if unknown future products will be supported? Pretty impossible for anybody to answer (even Qnap) until said products exist and can be tested. Rest assured though that Qnap will get test samples of the WD40EFRX/WD50EFRX in advance of when the products are generally available.

An educated guess is that they will be supported but with whatever limitations still exist in the firmware by then.

Today for example, you can't expand a RAID volume past the 16 TB. As explained in Note 11 of the Qnap compatibility list, larger volumes are supported but can't be expanded or have disks added (replacing disks of course works). This limitiation may or may not be a showstopper to you, depending on how you plan to do your upgrade.
No, RAID has never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups you will eventually lose data!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Unfortunately I felt I had to leave this forum, this is the reason why...
P3R
Ask me anything
 
Posts: 5616
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Sweden
NAS Model: TS-459 Pro II

Re: will the ts-639 support 5TB WD50EFRX

Postby revaaron » Sat Jun 29, 2013 3:52 am

P3R wrote:
revaaron wrote:...but if the 639 will support the WD50EFRX... I would love 6x5TB...
Are you asking if unknown future products will be supported? Pretty impossible for anybody to answer (even Qnap) until said products exist and can be tested. Rest assured though that Qnap will get test samples of the WD40EFRX/WD50EFRX in advance of when the products are generally available.

An educated guess is that they will be supported but with whatever limitations still exist in the firmware by then.

Today for example, you can't expand a RAID volume past the 16 TB. As explained in Note 11 of the Qnap compatibility list, larger volumes are supported but can't be expanded or have disks added (replacing disks of course works). This limitiation may or may not be a showstopper to you, depending on how you plan to do your upgrade.


There is FW and there is hardware. I have a bunch of old RAID controllers that can't support drives over 2TB. My little drobo can't do over 4TB drives so 5TB in that are out of the question. But if I will be able to start with 5TB... hm...
revaaron
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 11:01 am
NAS Model: TS-419U

Re: will the ts-639 support 5TB WD50EFRX

Postby schumaku » Sat Jun 29, 2013 5:30 am

revaaron wrote:There is FW and there is hardware.
How appropriate...

revaaron wrote:I have a bunch of old RAID controllers that can't support drives over 2TB. My little drobo can't do over 4TB drives so 5TB in that are out of the question. But if I will be able to start with 5TB... hm...
From what we know today, the TS-x39 Pro series (going into year five now) can deal with large drives - and unless there is something strange, even larger HDD are within the reach for the hardware.

As you say ... there is also firmware. Dealing with storage volumes > 16 TB requires 64 bit instruction set, which is not available on the Intel Atom N270. So we're back to the hardware again. This prohibits using a file system larger than 16 TB ... making your 6 * 5 TB RAID5 (or RAID6) obsolete.

The same applies to all current 32 bit ARM core based NAS models, too.

I can be wrong....
User avatar
schumaku
Guru
 
Posts: 30652
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
NAS Model: TS-x79 Pro

Re: will the ts-639 support 5TB WD50EFRX

Postby fantomas » Sun Jun 30, 2013 3:16 am

revaaron wrote:There is FW and there is hardware. I have a bunch of old RAID controllers that can't support drives over 2TB.


this was problem of using 512B sectors most drivesuse and 32-bit addressing that can't address more than 4294967295 sectors (which is 2TB-512B). I'm not sure what the next limit is, but I don't think it will be near.
From DOS times, I remember limits of 512MB, 8GB and 32GB.

revaaron wrote:My little drobo can't do over 4TB drives so 5TB in that are out of the question. But if I will be able to start with 5TB... hm...


Which drobo? Are you sure it does not support over 4TB? When searching for this, I haven't seen anything about such limit.
experience with administration of UN*X (mostly linux) and applications on internet servers since 1994...
fantomas
Experience counts
 
Posts: 1531
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 5:40 am
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
NAS Model: TS-419P+

Re: will the ts-639 support 5TB WD50EFRX

Postby revaaron » Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:21 pm

fantomas wrote:Which drobo? Are you sure it does not support over 4TB? When searching for this, I haven't seen anything about such limit.


you know what... I never thought about it.. I have the Drobo 4-bay second gen. When I originally configured it, I could only format it in seconds that added up to 16TB. I originally have 2 8TB Shares and then when I re-did the whole thing, I was only able to make a maximum of 1 16TB share (after they upgraded to ext4 internally), but I never tried to make it 2 16TB with apportionment of actually TBs to the different virtual partitions. IDK if that would be possible and looking at the current drobo dashboard, I don't know how I would even try that.
revaaron
Getting the hang of things
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 11:01 am
NAS Model: TS-419U

Re: will the ts-639 support 5TB WD50EFRX

Postby fantomas » Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:02 pm

OK, I'll try to answer your original question

revaaron wrote:I'm looking to upgrade my full RAID 5 3x3TB, RAID 5 3x2TB into one single 6x4TB RAID 6.
changing it to a 3x3TB + 1x4TB RAID 5 until the 4TB WD40EFRX come out, swap out with the reds.
but if the 639 will support the WD50EFRX... I would love 6x5TB...


There is possibility to configure 6x4TB as RAID5 (~20TB) or RAID6 (~16TB). It's quite possible that you will be able to do the same with 5TB disks.

You can migrate existing RAID up to 16TB capacity, so you can now replace disks and expand any RAID up to the 16TB capacity.

Currently you can not expand existing >16TB RAID, this might be possible in the future.

It is not possible to expand already existing RAID to >16TB capacity, due to limits on present RAIDs, which means it won't be possible in the future.

It's possible that in the future you will be able to expand RAID over 16TB, maybe even those that will be created <16TB.

revaaron wrote:
fantomas wrote:Which drobo? Are you sure it does not support over 4TB? When searching for this, I haven't seen anything about such limit.


you know what... I never thought about it.. I have the Drobo 4-bay second gen. When I originally configured it, I could only format it in seconds that added up to 16TB. I originally have 2 8TB Shares and then when I re-did the whole thing, I was only able to make a maximum of 1 16TB share (after they upgraded to ext4 internally), but I never tried to make it 2 16TB with apportionment of actually TBs to the different virtual partitions. IDK if that would be possible and looking at the current drobo dashboard, I don't know how I would even try that.


OK, we will leave this to DROBO. in fact, DROBO can have its own RAID levels with its own limits and they do not care about the filesystem (which AFAIK causes the 16TB the limit on QNAP)
experience with administration of UN*X (mostly linux) and applications on internet servers since 1994...
fantomas
Experience counts
 
Posts: 1531
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 5:40 am
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
NAS Model: TS-419P+


Return to Hardware & Software Compatibility

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kevinm and 10 guests