Network and Virtual Switch - Don't touch

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
User avatar
spikemixture
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Network and Virtual Switch - Don't touch

Postby spikemixture » Wed Oct 10, 2018 4:45 pm

This my opinion from my experience !

If you are not a network or Qnap guru do not play/tune your network and virtual switches.

I have tried to "tune" mine multiple times over the last 6 months of Qnap ownership.

I have tried 1,2,3,4 connections (Trunked and un-trunked) on their own and running all - plus I have a 10GBE card linked directly to my main PC.
I have tried 1,2 and 3 Virtual Switches. Multiple Ip address's and single Ip address and Jumbo Frames, set and default gateways and more.

For example the trunking of 2 adapters I would get regular errors saying connection lost.
Just today I decided to delete Trunking to fix the problem.
This time I could not get back in to my NAS after deleting the Trunking ( and I had 3 ip address's for 3 adapters)
I full reboot got me back in.

I am saying virtually (:lol:) everytime I try changing anything it goes wrong with reboots or resets quite common and the only way back to sanity.

MY warning is don't go past the default settings!
If you do be prepared for grief (and a little panic)!
Qnap TVS-1282 - HD - 6x8TB Wd Red, 2x 8TB Iron Wolf - Raid 6
PCI-e - M.2 - 2x Samsung 960 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - PMS --- SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 500gb - Static (Raid 1) - VM etc
SSD - 2x Samsung 860 Evo 250gb - Static (Raid 1) - Cache --- M.2 - 2x Samsung 850 Evo 250gb - Raid 1 - Qtier
Back up - Synology -1817+(2x10, 4x6, 2x4) Raid SHR & Drobo 5n - 5x4tb Seagate & Buffalo LinkStation -2x 4TB Seagate = about 80TB as backup
TV client boxes - present and past - 2xShield Pro (2015 & 2017), Shield 16gb 2017, ATV4, Xbox 360 & one, FireStick, Fire TV, Roku3, Roku4, Chromecast, Samsung & LG Smart TV's and multiple android phones and tablets.
All my software updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience!
:roll:

QNAPDanielFL
Know my way around
Posts: 141
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:09 am

Re: Network and Virtual Switch - Don't touch

Postby QNAPDanielFL » Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:27 am

I understand that network and virtual switch can be complicated. But we just had a webinar on it that I think makes it easier to understand and use. It is also layed out in a much more clear way in the overview with QTS 4.3.5
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_cont ... FzwoybhXKs

camm80
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 12:06 am

Re: Network and Virtual Switch - Don't touch

Postby camm80 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:14 pm

I’ll check out the video and hope I learn something new but truthfully 4.3.5 has been a nightmare for me. I have 8-10 docker containers running and had a few with their own network adapters. Ever since upgrading I have experienced the following:

- lost DNS settings
- has to delete all network adaptors and recreate
- eventually did a reset on network settings
- have a new management interface that is filling up my unifi connection logs with random Mac addresses
- had to reconfigure all docker containers to pass DNS to them
- ended up removing trunking to see if something with it was causing 100’s of rogue Mac addresses to fill my unifi client list
- reboot to find the UI lost all settings to display and disconnects my adapters


It seriously has been bad and I would roll back but it warns straight away in the update notes that it is not supported. If the thing reboots it scares me.

I’m already now looking at devices to offload docker too and just use this as a NAS even though that ability was the whole reason I bought this NAS. I think the qnet drivers just no longer work well.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Return to “Turbo Station Installation & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests