Basic reset wont reset admin password

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
Post Reply
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 12634
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by dolbyman » Sat Feb 02, 2019 12:45 am

yeah .. .lots of threads about bitdefender and this issue

swest
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:02 am

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by swest » Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:45 am

vleeshhd wrote:
Sat Feb 02, 2019 12:13 am
I managed to do the reset using the SSH method (https://helpdesk.qnap.com/index.php?/Kn ... ot-working) but then could still not login using the browser.
Turns out that Bitdefender was blocking it!
https://www.qnap.com/en-uk/how-to/knowl ... t-can-i-do
Greetings,

This is my first post in the last 3 years... Things have been pretty solid (TS-853-PRO, installed in Oct 2014). However, I am now in this thread because I can't log in to the array over the web interface.

Also, I'm just now realizing that I haven't been receiving any notifications from the array of any type. I was getting notifications about my backups failing to complete (because I had installed a 6TB external drive to back up a couple of my primary directories, and they finally exceeded the available space on that drive.) That backup was occurring on a weekly basis, and the last message I got about that was 12/02/2018 (so a couple of months now)...

So, anyway, today I decided to swap out the 6TB drive for an 8TB drive (or maybe augment), and I tried logging in (again, via the web interface), and it fails with:
Your login credentials are incorrect or your account is no longer valid.
Forgot admin password?
The good news is that I am able to log in to the admin account, from my linux box, via ssh. The password (that I know should be valid) works fine there.

I have read through some of this thread, but I'm not sure I have the full picture (there has been a lot of symptom variation in here...) But, when I saw vleesshd's post about Bitdefender, I thought that I would research what he/she posted... but neither of the links in that post do anything for me. In the one case, about https vs http, when I try the following URL:
I get back:
This site can't provide a secure connection
192.168.1.32 sent an invalid response
ERR_SSL_PROTOCOL_ERROR
So, any ideas? Again, I am logged in to the array via "ssh admin@192.168.1.32" and I have the root prompt ("[~] # ")

Should I just try to power-cycle the array? When I issue 'uptime' at the root prompt, it tells me it has been up for 177 days (!! pretty impressive, actually !!)

Or maybe just 'reboot' at the prompt?

Thoughts?

Thanks,

- s.west

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 12634
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by dolbyman » Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:49 am

you never actually stated if you have bitdefender installed or not

swest
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:02 am

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by swest » Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:11 am

Oops... sorry. No, no BitDefender.

Also, I meant to include the fact that the problem behavior is exhibited from a browser on my linux (OpenSuSE) box... Which is why I figured that BitDefender was probably not my problem.

Anyway, thanks for the clarifying response.

- s.west

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 12634
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by dolbyman » Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:19 am

so what happens if you access the site wit plain http?

http://192.168.1.32

swest
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:02 am

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by swest » Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:28 am

I get that first behavior that I posted above:
Your login credentials are incorrect or your account is no longer valid.
Forgot admin password?


And, of course, this is with the same password that allows me to log in via "ssh admin@192.168.1.32".

swest
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:02 am

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by swest » Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:46 am

Is viewtopic.php?t=97972 my answer?

Is pwilson still around?

- s.west

swest
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:02 am

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by swest » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:24 am

I went ahead and rebooted (from the root prompt). I'll report back if I have any different/better behaviors.

- s.west

swest
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:02 am

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by swest » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:26 am

I s'pose I should move over to that other (viewtopic.php?t=97972) thread, since it seems a little more directly related to my current problem.. (of course that thread is 4.5 years old... :-( )

swest
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:02 am

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by swest » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:44 am

All is well, following the reboot.

I don't know the underlying cause. I scouted around for some clues, but I don't know the OS well enough to make any real progress.

Thanks,

- s.west

swest
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:02 am

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by swest » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:46 am

I hope I didn't speak too soon...

I went back to my login screen (which had succeeded, with a 'secure' connection), and it is still spinning: Loading.

I guess I'll report back. One.More.Time... depending on whether it finishes and lets me in.

- s.west

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 12634
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by dolbyman » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:51 am

swest wrote:
Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:46 am
Is viewtopic.php?t=97972 my answer?

Is pwilson still around?

- s.west
no he died 3 or 4 years ago

swest
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 12:02 am

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by swest » Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:11 am

Oh, my. I certainly hope my question didn't bring on unnecessary sorrow for anyone reading it.


I was able to get in via the un-secure login... Also, I have upgraded to 4.3.4.0695.

I think I'm good to go here.

Thanks,

- s.west

alokeprasad
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 349
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 7:06 pm

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by alokeprasad » Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:30 am

swest wrote:
Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:46 am
I hope I didn't speak too soon...

I went back to my login screen (which had succeeded, with a 'secure' connection), and it is still spinning: Loading.

I guess I'll report back. One.More.Time... depending on whether it finishes and lets me in.

- s.west
FWIW, IE 6, which I used to use to login to my NAS has started spinning:loading.
Using Chrome (with the same admin account and password) loads instantly.

This whole browser+plugins+antivirus inconsistency is becoming annoying.
NAS: TS-453Be
RAM:Crucial 8GB Kit (2 x 4GB) DDR3L-1600 SODIMM CT2KIT51264BF160B
QTS: 4.3.6.0805 build 20181228
HDD's: RAID 6: Four 8TB WD Red (WD80EFAX)
USB HDD: One 8 TB WD Mybook (WDBBGB0080HBK-NESN)
Switch: Netgear GS108

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 5950
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: Basic reset wont reset admin password

Post by OneCD » Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:32 am

alokeprasad wrote:
Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:30 am
FWIW, IE 6, which I used to use to login to my NAS has started spinning:loading.
IE6? :shock:

Which OS?

production NAS: TS-569 Pro with Debian 9.8 'Stretch' (power on/off times are < 1 minute)
backup NAS: TS-559 Pro+ with QTS 4.2.6 #20190322

one.cd.only@gmail.com

Image Image Image Image

Post Reply

Return to “Turbo Station Installation & Setup”