slow speed need advice

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
bapw@comcast.net
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:15 am

slow speed need advice

Post by bapw@comcast.net » Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:06 pm

I have 1 1677x with 8 8tb Seagate Enterprise drives. The NAS is attached to a Hades Canyon NUC with a Thunderbolt 3 to 10gbe adapter. The NAS is plugged into the router with a 1 gbe port and this is the default. I have not yet got into vlans or virtual switch or such. Any advice would be so very much appreciated.
Last edited by bapw@comcast.net on Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 12223
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: slow spped need advice

Post by dolbyman » Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:30 pm

what exactly is your issue?

bapw@comcast.net
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:15 am

Re: slow spped need advice

Post by bapw@comcast.net » Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:42 pm

Sorry I had to redo the post and missed some info. I am only getting at most 115mb when moving files from the hades canyon to the NAS. This is the computer that is connected by the thunderbolt 3 to 10gbe.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 12223
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: slow speed need advice

Post by dolbyman » Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:46 pm

is the 10GbE adapter in the same subnet ? or did you create a dedicated one ?

if the same ..did you use the ip of the 10GbE adapter to access the nas?

bapw@comcast.net
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:15 am

Re: slow spped need advice

Post by bapw@comcast.net » Thu Mar 14, 2019 10:07 pm

The Subnet for both is 255.255.255.0. I have two cables going from the router to the 1gb ports. When I am on the web page for the nas after sighing in the address is the one for the 10gbe. It says this http://10.10.10.1:8080/cgi-bin/.

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 11621
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York
Contact:

Re: slow speed need advice

Post by Don » Thu Mar 14, 2019 10:29 pm

255.255.255.0 is not the subnet. That is the subnet mask. What is the IP of the 10GB and 1GB connections?
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

Submit bugs and feature requests to QNAP via their Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.6.0805 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 4 x M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.3.6.0883 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2-2P RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5
Apps: Boinc, Squid, DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS, Entware, DLstation, +others

bapw@comcast.net
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:15 am

Re: slow speed need advice

Post by bapw@comcast.net » Thu Mar 14, 2019 10:52 pm

The Ip of adapter 1 which is the one connected to the router is but not the default is 192.168.50.115, adapter 2 which is going to the router is 192.168.50.120 and this is the default. The ip address of the 10gbe is 10.10.10.1. When I am on the computer connected to the nas by 10 gbe when using QFinder 192.168.50.120 is the only one listed but when I go to connect this comes up http://10.10.10.1:8080/cgi-bin/. One the computers where I attach wirelessly all three of the adapters are listed.

bapw@comcast.net
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:15 am

Re: slow speed need advice

Post by bapw@comcast.net » Fri Mar 15, 2019 2:33 am

I noticed in looking at the Sonnet Solo that the light is Yellow and not Green so according to the manual it is not communicating at 10gbe.

bapw@comcast.net
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:15 am

Re: slow speed need advice

Post by bapw@comcast.net » Fri Mar 15, 2019 3:17 am

I tried updating all the drivers on the pc and the light is still yellow. Also plugged into a different port on the pc no change.

bapw@comcast.net
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:15 am

Re: slow speed need advice

Post by bapw@comcast.net » Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:18 am

Now the 10gbe shows connected on the nas on other computers but the computer that it is hooked up to now will not connect.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 12223
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: slow speed need advice

Post by dolbyman » Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:24 am

what did you change ?

bapw@comcast.net
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:15 am

Re: slow speed need advice

Post by bapw@comcast.net » Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:56 am

I updated the drivers on the computer. I ran the intel check and a number came up as needing updating. Everything from bios, video card, and a whole bunch other and about 10 in all. Also at one time I moved thunderbolt cable from one port to the other to see if that would make a difference but no and the cable is back where it was.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 12223
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: slow speed need advice

Post by dolbyman » Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:10 am

not that it should matter, but be advised that intel has "dropped" the vega support , so now the drivers are the regular AMD Radeon drivers

I have the i7-8809G NUC as well

bapw@comcast.net
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 2:15 am

Re: slow speed need advice

Post by bapw@comcast.net » Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:47 am

this message is coming up under system devices "tps65988 status_device_power_failure".

Bob Zelin
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 421
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: slow speed need advice

Post by Bob Zelin » Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:01 am

wow -
I just found this post.
You are trying to get fast connection with 10G, and you have a Sonnet thunderbolt 3 to 10G adaptor. You keep referring to the router. Your router is a 1G connection, so if you connect your QNAP 10G port to the router and your Sonnet 10G adaptor to the router, you are only going to get 1G speeds (so 115 MB/sec is the correct speed). To achieve 10G speeds, connect the Sonnet Solo 10G directly to the 10G port of the QNAP.
Assign a static IP address of your QNAP 10G port to 192.168.2.3. Assign the PC (the Hades Canyon ? ) with the Sonnet Solo 10G on it to 192.168.2.11. Do you have a GREEN LED now indicating 10G speeds on the Sonnet ?
Do you have a working ethernet cable ? You can go into the QNAP Control Panel network settings when you are setting the static IP of your 10G port, and it will show if you have a 1G or 10G connection.

SO - let's just say "this still does not work". They you need to borrow someones computer (like a thunderbolt 3 MacBook Pro) and try it again. The Mac must have macOS 10.13.3 running for the Sonnet to work, and no you cannot use a thunderbolt 2 to thunderbolt 3 adaptor for this to work on an older MacBook Pro with thunderbolt 2 connection.

Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

Post Reply

Return to “Turbo Station Installation & Setup”