First Time NAS set up for video editing

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
Post Reply
bschoolio
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2021 3:39 am

First Time NAS set up for video editing

Post by bschoolio » Fri Mar 05, 2021 4:21 am

:ubergeek:
Ok please don't yell at me I am very new to this with very limited knowledge but I love to learn!
I may have gotten in over my head, but I think I am close!

First of all some context I am replacing a 10 year old Promax server that has long out done itself (The replacement cost however are insane.)
So I did what any normal person would do I read forums and ingested videos for a month then I consulted people smarter than me and took a leap.
The office has a 1gb internet network, and the Promax was wired to 3 edit stations via SFP (Fiber)

I bought all this to replace the old server:
  • Qnap QSW-1208-8C switcher
    12bay NAS TS-1253-DURP-4G for the main raid array with 14tb ironwolf drives. With a dual port SFP+ adapter 10GBE network exp controller
    8bay Nas/ISCSI Series 4c with 12tb Ironwolf drives for just a pure redundancy back up.
I mounted that all in a smaller rolling rack with an APC battery back up and rail kits.
I still have 10gb Echo Express SEL SFP to thunderbolt adapters at each edit bay.
It is all hooked up to 2 iMac pros, with an old Mac pro to be added later.

I have tested this set up and raided the main array for Raid 6, I can edit off of this setup up an I am getting great speeds. My issue is being able to connect the two work stations at once.
When I roled this new setup into the old server room to hook up to the existing fiber the only way I have been able to get it to work over the pre run fiber cables is with test IP setups such as "169.254.100.99"

Here is how I have it running:
SFP out of the 12bay QNap "main array" into the QNap switch sfp 10gb slot 1.
User workstations with pre run sfp would be in slots 2-3. Going into the Echo Express SEL sfp to fiber to thunderbolt switches on the desks
In the Rj45 slots I have the 8 bay into slot 6
I also have the 12 bay going into slot 7
and the Cloud functionality for the APS batter backup is into slot 8.

Once I know this all works I need to back up the old Promax server and remove it, but I don't dare do that until all of this works perfect! Any thoughts how close, or far off am I?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Bob Zelin
Experience counts
Posts: 1071
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: First Time NAS set up for video editing

Post by Bob Zelin » Sun Mar 07, 2021 2:50 am

Setup static IP addresses (I would not have chosen that QNAP model) -

Make the QNAP 10G port 192.168.2.3
make the Qnap QSW-M1208-8C switch 192.168.2.10
make the first computer 192.168.2.11
the second computer 192.168.2.12
the third computer 192.168.2.13

your old Sonnet adapters won't work with Big Sur - you need new adapters.

bobzelin@icloud.com
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

bschoolio
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2021 3:39 am

Re: First Time NAS set up for video editing

Post by bschoolio » Wed Jun 09, 2021 3:17 am

Ugh, Sonnet!

been working with their support for a week they are giving me the run-around. They won't say that their devices don't work with Big Sur.

What would you suggest I am looking at: https://www.qnap.com/en/product/qna-tb-10gbe

The Qnap single SFP+ to thunderbolt 3 adptors

Bob Zelin
Experience counts
Posts: 1071
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: First Time NAS set up for video editing

Post by Bob Zelin » Wed Jun 09, 2021 8:11 am

I love these types of comments - "ugh, Sonnet, ugh Promise, ugh, QNAP, ugh Synology" -
how about saying UGH APPLE. It is Apple computer that creates these issues, and intentionally obsoletes equipment. This has happened historically with Apple in countless iterations of their hardware and operating systems. Having to be forced to disable SMB signing, when everything was working. Having to be able disable Apple System Integrity Protection because Apple won't let you load drivers in for "older" hardware. Apple getting rid of AFP, and having all these new SMB network connection issues. Apple getting rid of support for eGPU hardware with new M1 machines, even though in 2019 they certified countless eGPU systems with AMD GPU cards. BUT LETS BLAME EVERYONE BUT APPLE. What is wrong with you !

Sonnet is not giving you a run around. Sonnet is a great company, and Sonnet is an "Apple Partner". Companies like Promise (and Nvidia) just gave up.
BLAME APPLE. You will the person that blames QNAP when your Mac's are having issues.

All Sonnet Thunderbolt 3 products work GREAT with Thunderbolt 3 Macs, because they use the Aquantia AQC-107 chip, which is the same chip that you
have in the QNA-T3-10G1T. I rarely use SFP+, but yea, both the QNAP and the Sonnet will work fine if they are Thunderbolt 3 products, and not thunderbolt 2 products.

Why would you buy a TS-1253 ? Is that even a current product ? Why didn't you buy one of the new QuTS products ?

You can't use 169.254.xxx.xxx - these are self assigned IP addresses. You need to set static IP addresses like 192.168.2.3, and put all your computer on the same subnet. Do not rely on self assigned IP addresses, and expect to get reliable connections.

And when you refer to your "existing fiber cable" -
I hope you are using 50/125 micrometer fiber cable (aqua blue color) and not the orange 62.5 micrometer cable, because that is not 10G fiber cable, and things will not work properly. That was for old fiber channel systems. Everyone always says "I want to future proof" - well you can't future proof. All this stuff changes constantly. And even if you had the 50 micrometer correct cable, the next gen will be SFP28 Quad SFP+ and this is different cable again. So it always changes, and you can never future proof. What does this mean - it means that you and I and everyone on this forum will continue to spend their money until we all die.

Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

bschoolio
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2021 3:39 am

Re: First Time NAS set up for video editing

Post by bschoolio » Thu Jun 10, 2021 10:11 pm

A couple of things to remember from my first comment,
"Ok please don't yell at me I am very new to this with very limited knowledge but I love to learn!
I may have gotten in over my head, but I think I am close!"

"First of all some context I am replacing a 10-year-old Promax server that has long outdone itself (The replacement cost however are insane.)
So I did what any normal person would do I read forums and ingested videos for a month then I consulted people smarter than me and took a leap.


I'm not mad at Sonnet it was a casual comment on a forum, I'm not our trashing them on social media. I have had no issues with them but they seem to think the device should work, you, however, have said:
"your old Sonnet adapters won't work with Big Sur - you need new adapters."

I appreciate your advice and the fact that it seems like you are trying to help, but I came in here very clear on my level of knowledge with disarming statements to try and avoid a scolding. However, it seems with "knowledge" comes a great responsibility to shift all incorrect paradigms no matter how semantic?

I am not having any issues with the assigned IPs I set up based on your suggestions. I didn't buy the Sonnet Echo express dual +SFP they were here based on the ProMax system specialist recommendations when it was built and computers were upgraded. I believe the fiber is 50/125 it is aqua blue, but again that's above me. I'm sorry I bought a Q-nap device you would not have gotten, I actually got this unit after several people in the field recommended it based on good results.

The issue I'm having needs solving if a new $169 Qnap/Sonnet/ect... device is what's needed I'm not gonna take sides but I'd love to salvage these $500 dollar devices that worked fine weeks ago. Everything on all sides is Thunderbolt 3.

I understand nothing is "future-proof", but rewiring this whole office for two computers isn't feasible at this time, and again once I got the whole thing working our speeds and result were great. This update seems to be the issue, I'm not as worried about blame, as I am a solution.

Thanks for trying Bob.

Bob Zelin
Experience counts
Posts: 1071
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: First Time NAS set up for video editing

Post by Bob Zelin » Sat Jun 12, 2021 4:57 am

Hello Bschollio -
I am taking my frustrations about Apple on you. It is common that "everyone" blames every manufacturer, when in fact it's Apple that causes much of the chaos.
When Apple instituted System Integrity Protection, they made it very difficult to install hardware drivers for ANY product that was not an "Apple partner product". So on newer products like the QNAP QNA-T310G1T or Sonnet Solo 10G T3, this uses an Aquantia AQC-107 chip - the exact same chip that Apple uses in all their products (like the iMac Pro, 2018 Mac mini, 2020 iMac, etc.) - so the driver is already installed. Once you have to install "non supported drivers" on an Apple computer, it now recently becomes a nightmare, and with Big Sur - ** near impossible. Up thru Catalina, you would simply hold down Command - R, boot up the Mac, go into Recovery Mode, open terminal, and type in
csrutil disable
this would disable System Integrity Protection. Now, you could install any ** driver you wanted (from Sonnet, Promise, Blackmagic, AJA, ATTO, etc.). But now with Big Sur (and God help ups with the upcoming Monterey) - many things no longer work. That "trick" stopped working. BUT if you buy an "Apple partner product" - like the Sonnet Solo 10G T3, it just plugs in and works - no driver installation necessary !

I don't like the fact that Apple has forced obsolescence. But it's a reality that I deal with year after year. I don't like the fact that you can't use eGPU products with AMD GPU cards on M1 Mac computers - when Apple certified all of this (with Intel Macs) in 2019 ! I don't like the fact that Apple won't support Nvidia GPU cards, even though they did for years.
As for the static IP addresses - trust me - you don't want to live with 169.254.xxx.xxx - these are self assigned IP addresses. Pick some actual static IP addresses like
192.168.2.3 for the QNAP, and 192.168.2.11, 12, 13, 14 for your computers.

It pains me that Sonnet Twin 10G boxes, and Promise SanLink2 boxes - all perfectly good $500 thunderbolt to 10G adapters, are no longer usable. That's on Apple. And it applies to plenty of other hardware.

Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

Bob Zelin
Experience counts
Posts: 1071
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: First Time NAS set up for video editing

Post by Bob Zelin » Sat Jun 12, 2021 5:02 am

who sold you the TS-1253 ? That is an old model. I hope they did not sell this to you, as a new product !
Bob
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

Post Reply

Return to “Turbo Station Installation & Setup”