[HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
Locked
ibob
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 8:33 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by ibob » Mon Aug 02, 2010 3:50 pm

Don wrote:Transfering while the raid is building/rebuilding will be very slow.


I didn't transfer while the raid was building. I tried to transfer a file after the raid was build with 3 drives. (2+3+4).
When that showed transfer time about an hour, I cancelled the transfer, rebooted the NAS and started expanding the raid by adding Drive 1 to the raid.

What would be the 'normal' write speed from a computer to the NAS using Samba via a direct ethernet cable after the raid has been build?

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 12004
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by Don » Mon Aug 02, 2010 8:43 pm

Not sure but the 409 is a slow device. It only has a 500mhz Marvel processor.
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

Submit bugs and feature requests to QNAP via their Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.6.0895 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 4 x M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.4.2.1320 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2-2P RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5
Apps: Boinc, Squid, DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS, Entware, DLstation, +others

Tarrant1701
Starting out
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:55 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by Tarrant1701 » Mon Aug 02, 2010 9:02 pm

My rebuilt RAID5 on a TS-509 has about the same transfer speeds as before the capacity upgrade. Across Gigabit ethernet, getting about 60-70 MB/sec for large file transfers.

ibob
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 8:33 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by ibob » Tue Aug 03, 2010 3:51 pm

Update: This morning my raid was finished building and I transferred a 4.7 GB file in less than 8 minutes.

So now Im happy :)

Thanks

taylortap
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:23 am

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by taylortap » Sun Oct 10, 2010 7:27 am

I've noticed that not only will this increase the RAID rebuild speed but has also increased my network thoroughput. I set my min at 100000 and everything is hauling ** now!!

Thanks OP for the information.

Mike44
Starting out
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:43 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by Mike44 » Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:45 pm

Big thanks for this info, helped massively on a 6x3TB raid five sync. Was getting 65mb/s on my 859Pro+

Mike

User avatar
onlyalex
Experience counts
Posts: 1462
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:16 pm
Location: Gothenburg Sweden

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by onlyalex » Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:16 pm

Thanks for this Don :)

Expanding my array, adding 2x 2000gig drives would take around 48 hours.
I put the min value to 80000, running the cpu on 30% stable. The expansion was finished after 20 hours.

The % in the webpage is not to be trusted, atleast not for me. Using the "cat /proc/mdstat" command will show different numbers. And those where the accurate one's...
Best regards
Nas1: Qnap TS-809 Pro "3.7.1 Build 0615"
Nas2: Qnap TS-119 "3.5.0 Build0816"
Nas3: Qnap TS-119P+ "3.5.0 Build0816"
Nas4: Qnap TS-212 "3.6.0 Build0210"
Nas5: Qnap TS-259 Pro+"3.5.0 Build 0815"
Nas6: Qnap TS-459 Pro II "3.5.0 Build 0815"
iPad2: 64Gig 3G "iOS 6"
UPS: APC Back-UPS RS 550VA

QNAP Comparison Cart HERE | 1Bay | 2Bay | 4Bay | 5Bay | 6Bay | 8Bay | 1U | 2U |
QNAP Compatibility List HERE | Online User Manual | Tutorials | Frequently Asked Questions |

homie_g
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:58 am

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by homie_g » Mon Feb 21, 2011 6:51 am

I have a qnap ts-639 pro, i changed the min to 100000 (5 zeroes). i ran

Code: Select all

cat /proc/sys/dev/raid/speed_limit_min
to confirm. however when i run

Code: Select all

 cat /proc/mdstat
i get speeds of around 20000 (4 zeroes) and about 1600 min remaining. i tried 80000(4 zeroes),40000 (4 zeroes) before i tried 100000 but it is all the same.

cpu usage is between 25-80%. i would say average around 50%.

am i doing something wrong? maybe this is just the HDs bottle neck? (4x wd 20eads with TLER On and is currently expanding to include 2x hd204ui samsungs (patched)) im on raid 5 and i am just expanding the array

is there anything i should do or should i just leave it?


I guess by the time I figure this out it probably would have finished. 1600 min is about 26 hours. regardless, your help is appreciated.

onlyalex wrote:Thanks for this Don :)

The % in the webpage is not to be trusted, atleast not for me. Using the "cat /proc/mdstat" command will show different numbers. And those where the accurate one's...
Best regards



thanks for the tip. they are different.

thanks to the OP too! very helpful!
________

update: checked this morning and the speed as at 43000! so good stuff! thanks again!
I

User avatar
nnsqnap
Starting out
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 3:48 am

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by nnsqnap » Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:59 am

I'm in the process of swapping out my five Seagate 1.5TB drives (541AS) with five Hitachi 3.0TB drives (3254S) on my TS-509 Pro and I'm pretty sure I'm up against an I/O limitation or a drive limitation as the CPU is not even above 50%. I'll check the drive specs to be sure, but no matter what I crank the minimum value up to, I'm peaking at speed=36498K/sec on the RAID 5 rebuild, so it is going to be about ten and a half hours per-drive. That's way longer in a vulnerable state than I care for...

Coume
Starting out
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 11:01 pm

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by Coume » Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:00 am

Thanks for the tip.

How can you make the change permanent even after reboot and/or firmware update?

Thanks

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 12004
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by Don » Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:37 am

Put the commands in your autorun.sh.
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

Submit bugs and feature requests to QNAP via their Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.6.0895 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 4 x M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.4.2.1320 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2-2P RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5
Apps: Boinc, Squid, DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS, Entware, DLstation, +others

AlanInMadrid
Starting out
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 2:13 am
Location: Madrid

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by AlanInMadrid » Tue Sep 27, 2011 3:55 am

Just to say that I am currently replacing the disks on my TS-419P+ It currently has 3* Samsung 500GB 7k disks and is rebuilding the array after changing one disk to a Hitachi 1.5TB 7k disk.

I was going to try this setting to speed things up, but the processor is bouncing along at pretty much 100%, with about 80% for md0_raid5 and 20% for the resync process, so I didn't change it (FW: 3.5.0) After 30 minutes, it's done 20%. The min limit is 5000, max is 200000. /proc/mdstat says: speed=62886K/sec

Does this setting only change rebuilding the RAID, or the expansion of the RAID, or both? Could it be that the newer FW already maximises the rebuild if there is I/O or processor to spare?
TS-419P+ (3.7.1) with 4x WD Red 3000GB RAID5: APC Smart-UPS 1500

remymartin
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:21 am

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by remymartin » Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:37 pm

I am a nob to the QNAP group, but not to RAID. However regarding Linux, I am a total noob and would like some help. I have the TS-212, but I see no reference to it in this thread. Is it not possible to perform this process with this unit?

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 12004
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by Don » Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:41 am

Sure it is. Just follow the directions. Not sure how much you will gain on a 212. CPU is probably maxed out during a rebuild already.
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

Submit bugs and feature requests to QNAP via their Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.6.0895 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 4 x M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.4.2.1320 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2-2P RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5
Apps: Boinc, Squid, DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS, Entware, DLstation, +others

trueimage
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 5:11 am

Re: [HOWTO] How to increase raid rebuild speed

Post by trueimage » Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:49 am

does this tip apply to a TS-439 Pro II?

I'm rebuilding drive 1 right now for an expansion and it is painfully slow.

Rebuilding... (2%) - 01:29:11
TS-651 x86 8GB RAM
FW 4.3.3.0188

Locked

Return to “Turbo Station Installation & Setup”