Horrible Performance

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 11977
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by Don » Sun Jul 28, 2019 1:23 am

You are not getting 200 on a 1GB connection.

I’ve given you a troubleshooting step. If you unwilling to do it then I cannot help.
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

Submit bugs and feature requests to QNAP via their Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.6.0895 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 4 x M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.4.1.1086 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2-2P RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5
Apps: Boinc, Squid, DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS, Entware, DLstation, +others

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 751
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by spikemixture » Sun Jul 28, 2019 2:05 pm

I have unplugged all 1gb connection and no change in performance.

I have made the 10GBe adaptor my default gateway.

I am now connecting H BS V3 from the default gateway, now the 10gbe (qnap).
to the 10gbe on syno and best speed 30mB/s
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5253
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by Toxic17 » Sun Jul 28, 2019 4:54 pm

what is your MTU setting on the 10GbE interfaces? Both NAS's and the Switch.

are you using CAT5/5e/6/6a/7 cables?
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1146 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1146 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.1098 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 v2441.7310 • QSonarr 3.0.3.645 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 3.0.1 • Lychee 3.2.16 • HBS 3.0.191016 • LEgo v3.1.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 11977
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by Don » Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:39 pm

Draw out how everything is connected.
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

Submit bugs and feature requests to QNAP via their Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.6.0895 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 4 x M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.4.1.1086 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2-2P RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5
Apps: Boinc, Squid, DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS, Entware, DLstation, +others

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 751
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by spikemixture » Sun Jul 28, 2019 8:15 pm

Toxic17 wrote:
Sun Jul 28, 2019 4:54 pm
what is your MTU setting on the 10GbE interfaces? Both NAS's and the Switch.

are you using CAT5/5e/6/6a/7 cables?
MTU are all default
Cables I am not 100% sure but at least Cat 6/6a
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 751
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by spikemixture » Sun Jul 28, 2019 8:32 pm

Don wrote:
Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:39 pm
Draw out how everything is connected.
I do appreciate you short to the point replies.

How everything has/is connected already has been described.

So one more time.
A ASUS XG-C100C 10G Network Adapter Pci-E X4 Card with Single RJ-45 Port in my 2019 PC
Synology 1817+ has the Synology 10Gb Ethernet Adapter 1 RJ45 Port (E10G18-T1)
In the Qnap I had this card - QNAP QM2-2P10G1T,
And now have - QNAP QM2-2P10G1TA .

I also have the NETGEAR 10-Port Gigabit/10G Ethernet Unmanaged Switch (GS110MX) - with 2 x 10G/Multi-gig (5x10GBE port switch will arrive this week)

So I have tried PC 10GBE to Qnap 10GBE direct
Qnap 10GBE to Synology 10GBE direct
PC 10GBE to Netgear Switch 10GBE port and Qnap 10gbe to Netgear 10be switch
Synology 10gbe to Netgear switch and Qnap 10gbe to netgear switch

AND
My 1gb connection on my PC is 192.168.1.100
My 10gbe card on my PC is 10.10.10.100 no default gateway
My Syno 1gb is 192.168.1.112
My Syno 10gbe is 10.10.10.112 no DG
My Qnp 1gb is 192.168.1.117
The 10gbe is 10.10.10.117 no DG

Did I miss something ?
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5253
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by Toxic17 » Sun Jul 28, 2019 9:27 pm

ok try one test to rule out other devices (switch)

connect QNAP 10GbE and Synology 10GbE ports together without going through switch. MTU 9000 both ends.

so

Synology: 10.10.10.112/255.255.255.0
QNAP: 10.10.10.117/255.255.255.0

DNS can be 10.10.10.112 on the QNAP and 10.10.10.117 on the synology.

if possible make sure CAT6a is used between the 10GbE ports.

in HBS 3 on the QNAP goto Storage spaces and edit your Remote NAS connection and click on Speed Test. run in a few times. whats the average "reported" speed.

here is mine: its a QM2-2S10G1TB from a TS-453BT3. the card was designed for this NAS so its not fully compatible with the TVS-463
speed.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1146 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1146 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.1098 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 v2441.7310 • QSonarr 3.0.3.645 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 3.0.1 • Lychee 3.2.16 • HBS 3.0.191016 • LEgo v3.1.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5253
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by Toxic17 » Sun Jul 28, 2019 9:44 pm

you could also test each interface settings from the commandline.

do ifconfig in an SSH session.

see which name is beside the 10GbE one.

then use:

ethtool ethx (where x is the number of the interface shown by ifconfig)

here is mine:



TS-473 with QXG-10G1T

Code: Select all

[~] # ethtool eth4
Settings for eth4:
        Supported ports: [ TP ]
        Supported link modes:   100baseT/Full
                                1000baseT/Full
                                10000baseT/Full
                                2500baseT/Full
                                5000baseT/Full
        Supported pause frame use: Symmetric
        Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
        Supported FEC modes: Not reported
        Advertised link modes:  100baseT/Full
                                1000baseT/Full
                                10000baseT/Full
                                2500baseT/Full
                                5000baseT/Full
        Advertised pause frame use: Symmetric Receive-only
        Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
        Advertised FEC modes: Not reported
        Speed: 10000Mb/s
        Duplex: Full
        Port: Twisted Pair
        PHYAD: 0
        Transceiver: internal
        Auto-negotiation: on
        MDI-X: Unknown
        Supports Wake-on: g
        Wake-on: g
        Link detected: yes
TVS-463 with QM2-2S10G1TB (10GbE only as M2 slots dont work)

Code: Select all

[~] # ethtool eth2
Settings for eth2:
        Supported ports: [ TP ]
        Supported link modes:   100baseT/Full
                                1000baseT/Full
                                10000baseT/Full
        Supported pause frame use: Symmetric
        Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
        Supported FEC modes: Not reported
        Advertised link modes:  100baseT/Full
                                1000baseT/Full
                                10000baseT/Full
        Advertised pause frame use: Symmetric
        Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
        Advertised FEC modes: Not reported
        Speed: 10000Mb/s
        Duplex: Full
        Port: Twisted Pair
        PHYAD: 0
        Transceiver: internal
        Auto-negotiation: on
        MDI-X: Unknown (auto)
        Link detected: yes
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1146 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1146 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.1098 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 v2441.7310 • QSonarr 3.0.3.645 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 3.0.1 • Lychee 3.2.16 • HBS 3.0.191016 • LEgo v3.1.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 11977
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by Don » Mon Jul 29, 2019 12:30 am

spikemixture wrote:
Sun Jul 28, 2019 8:32 pm
Don wrote:
Sun Jul 28, 2019 7:39 pm
Draw out how everything is connected.
I do appreciate you short to the point replies.

How everything has/is connected already has been described.

So one more time.
A ASUS XG-C100C 10G Network Adapter Pci-E X4 Card with Single RJ-45 Port in my 2019 PC
Synology 1817+ has the Synology 10Gb Ethernet Adapter 1 RJ45 Port (E10G18-T1)
In the Qnap I had this card - QNAP QM2-2P10G1T,
And now have - QNAP QM2-2P10G1TA .

I also have the NETGEAR 10-Port Gigabit/10G Ethernet Unmanaged Switch (GS110MX) - with 2 x 10G/Multi-gig (5x10GBE port switch will arrive this week)

So I have tried PC 10GBE to Qnap 10GBE direct
Qnap 10GBE to Synology 10GBE direct
PC 10GBE to Netgear Switch 10GBE port and Qnap 10gbe to Netgear 10be switch
Synology 10gbe to Netgear switch and Qnap 10gbe to netgear switch

AND
My 1gb connection on my PC is 192.168.1.100
My 10gbe card on my PC is 10.10.10.100 no default gateway
My Syno 1gb is 192.168.1.112
My Syno 10gbe is 10.10.10.112 no DG
My Qnp 1gb is 192.168.1.117
The 10gbe is 10.10.10.117 no DG

Did I miss something ?
I asked for a drawing. Not a rehash of what you already posted.
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

Submit bugs and feature requests to QNAP via their Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.6.0895 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 4 x M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.4.1.1086 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2-2P RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5
Apps: Boinc, Squid, DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS, Entware, DLstation, +others

Bob Zelin
Been there, done that
Posts: 680
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by Bob Zelin » Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:59 am

Hi Spikemixture -
I am not following this entire thread, and I don't even know exactly what equipment you have. I only get the impression that you are getting "horrible speeds".
Based on your system specs in your signature, it appears that you have a TVS-1282T with eight matching drives. Is that correct ? And it appears that you have a Win 10 PC with an ASUS 10G NIC card. Is that correct ?
Here is how you fix your problem, or at least identify your problem.
ELIMINATE ALL VARIABLES. This means no switches, wall plates, other equipment. I sat on the phone the other day with a guy for 30 minutes, because he was getting "horrible speeds" on his
TS-1685 "all of a sudden", (this was a system I set up with him, that worked perfectly) - only to find out that he was plugging in his 10G connection from his computer to a small 5 port 1G switch, because his companies IT team needed more computers connected, and they did not want to run additional lines out to these workstations. So EVERYTHING is a variable.

Sit your QNAP TVS-1282T right near your Win 10 PC with the ASUS 10G card. I don't want to hear "I can't do that, it's on another floor, the QNAP is in a server room", etc. You do EXACTLY what I say.
Now, you run a short working cheap Cat 6 cable from one of the 10G ports on the QNAP to the ASUS 10G port on your Win 10 PC. I ASSUME that you have the drivers loaded from the ASUS website for your 10G card.
On the QNAP, go into the Network settings, and set the IP address of the QNAP 10G port to 192.168.2.3, with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0. we are NOT going to be using DHCP for this test, and not tying in with your company network, or be compatible with your company network. Now, on your PC, Control Panel> Network and Internet> change Adaptor Options, select the
ASUS/AQUANTIA 10G NIC port, > Properties, and change the IPv4 address to 192.168.2.11, with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0. Click Apply.
Open the command window (CMD) so that terminal opens. Type this in - ipconfig. Do you see your port that shows 192.168.2.11, that you just set ? YES OR NO ?
If the answer is YES, then type this in - ping 192.168.2.3
you should see communication with your QNAP.
Now connect to your QNAP - Run window \\192.168.2.3
You will see the QNAP drive. Right click on it and MAP the network drive.
OK - now run AJA System Test or Blackmagic Disk Speed Test (both free) -
what are your speeds now ? If you are getting "horrible speeds" then your ASUS card is NOT in a x4 lane or greater slot. This is either mechanical or you set the # of lanes in your PC BIOS, and I cetainly don't know your motherboard in your PC. You should be getting about 800 MB/sec.

Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 751
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by spikemixture » Mon Jul 29, 2019 11:21 am

Bob Zelin wrote:
Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:59 am
Bob Zelin
Thanks Bob,


I have the TVS- 1282 no T
I have 6 wd White and 2 x Ironwolf ( so yes 6 are 5400 ad 2 are 7200)
I have the Asus card
Did exactly as you described ( I have done it several times but this time used your ip etc)
Straight connection
Ip address
Ping
Mapped drive

And AJA test

45MB/sec write and 723MB/sec Read


My PC motherboard is a Gigabyte B250M-HD3-CF has only one slot as I took out the Graphics card to use it.

I will check the Bios but cannot imagine there is a setting.

I have a 5 port Netgear switch arriving this week which will hopefully help. I can put the qnap and synology and asus 10gbe all connected..

But The speed from the PC to Qnap is not as important as between the NAS's

What I want is 10GBE speeds between my Qnap (QM2-2P10G1TA) and Synology (E10G18-T1).
I have connected Directly and thru the switch (Netgear 2port 10GBE) using your ip numbering setup 9 (no default gateway) and speeds are terrible.
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

Bob Zelin
Been there, done that
Posts: 680
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by Bob Zelin » Tue Jul 30, 2019 4:34 am

Hi Spikemixture -
so lets get one thing clear. You are using a mixture of 5400 RPM drives and 7200 RPM drives in the same raid group, and in your TVS-1282, you do not have the $89 QNAP QXG-10G1T, but the incredibly horrible Tehuti 10G card. So your write speeds are not good, but your READ speeds are ok to your PC. But your concern is to your Synology DS1817+, because you bought a 10G card for it.

The Synology DS1817 (I cannot find the specs on the discontinued DS1817+) uses the incredibly horrible Annapurna CPU.
here is the Spec page from Synology -
https://www.synology.com/en-us/products/DS1817#specs
SO - let's not insult Synology here - LETS INSULT QNAP. QNAP makes the incredibly horrible TS-831X, a similar product with the incredibly horrible Annapurna CPU, just like the Synology.
Just because it has a 10G port means NOTHING because this box (the QNAP 831x) is horrible and SLOW - at optimum performance, you get 200 MB/sec WRITE. This is nothing like their professional products,
like the TVS-872XT, or the 1282T, or the 1282T3 or the TS-1685, where you get 800 MB/sec WRITE. I write about this all the time.
I see people ask about the Synology DS1819 (because it's cheap) vs the DS1819+, which is much more expensive. Do you know why -? Because the DS1819+ does NOT use the horrible Annapurna Labs CPU processor, which is a total piece of garbage.
I am sorry that you are stuck with this product - and I am sorry that I am stuck with this product (the TS-831x) - but I am willing to face reality. I made a mistake.
If you get an $89 QXG-10G1T for your TVS-1282, your write speeds to your PC will increase. SO - how to you increase your speeds to your Synology DS1817 ? The same way I increase my write speeds to my
TS-831x (or my clients TS-1635ax from QNAP) - you DONT. They are garbage products. You buy a professional product from QNAP (or Synology or Netgear) and you get professional results. Getting your new
Netgear 10G switch will not fix anything for you. The Synology is slow. I am sorry. It's just the way it is. The Synology DS1819+ with the same card would be dramatically faster (as long as you put a decent
10G card in your QNAP like the QXG-10G1T).

Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 751
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by spikemixture » Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:13 am

dupe
Last edited by spikemixture on Tue Jul 30, 2019 1:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 751
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by spikemixture » Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:19 am

Bob Zelin wrote:
Tue Jul 30, 2019 4:34 am
Hi Spikemixture -
so lets get one thing clear. You are using a mixture of 5400 RPM drives and 7200 RPM drives in the same raid group, and in your TVS-1282, you do not have the $89 QNAP QXG-10G1T, but the incredibly horrible Tehuti 10G card. So your write speeds are not good, but your READ speeds are ok to your PC. But your concern is to your Synology DS1817+, because you bought a 10G card for it.

The Synology DS1817 (I cannot find the specs on the discontinued DS1817+) uses the incredibly horrible Annapurna CPU.
here is the Spec page from Synology -
https://www.synology.com/en-us/products/DS1817#specs
SO - let's not insult Synology here - LETS INSULT QNAP. QNAP makes the incredibly horrible TS-831X, a similar product with the incredibly horrible Annapurna CPU, just like the Synology.
Just because it has a 10G port means NOTHING because this box (the QNAP 831x) is horrible and SLOW - at optimum performance, you get 200 MB/sec WRITE. This is nothing like their professional products,
like the TVS-872XT, or the 1282T, or the 1282T3 or the TS-1685, where you get 800 MB/sec WRITE. I write about this all the time.
I see people ask about the Synology DS1819 (because it's cheap) vs the DS1819+, which is much more expensive. Do you know why -? Because the DS1819+ does NOT use the horrible Annapurna Labs CPU processor, which is a total piece of garbage.
I am sorry that you are stuck with this product - and I am sorry that I am stuck with this product (the TS-831x) - but I am willing to face reality. I made a mistake.
If you get an $89 QXG-10G1T for your TVS-1282, your write speeds to your PC will increase. SO - how to you increase your speeds to your Synology DS1817 ? The same way I increase my write speeds to my
TS-831x (or my clients TS-1635ax from QNAP) - you DONT. They are garbage products. You buy a professional product from QNAP (or Synology or Netgear) and you get professional results. Getting your new
Netgear 10G switch will not fix anything for you. The Synology is slow. I am sorry. It's just the way it is. The Synology DS1819+ with the same card would be dramatically faster (as long as you put a decent
10G card in your QNAP like the QXG-10G1T).

Bob Zelin
I have the TVS 1282 No T
Yes I have a mix of HDD speeds.
I have the 1817+ with the Intel Atom CPU
I have the Qnap (QM2-2P10G1TA) and Synology (E10G18-T1).
Now do you want to have another go?
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 751
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: Horrible Performance

Post by spikemixture » Tue Jul 30, 2019 1:11 pm

Toxic17 wrote:
Sun Jul 28, 2019 9:27 pm
ok try one test to rule out other devices (switch)

connect QNAP 10GbE and Synology 10GbE ports together without going through switch. MTU 9000 both ends.

so

Synology: 10.10.10.112/255.255.255.0
QNAP: 10.10.10.117/255.255.255.0

DNS can be 10.10.10.112 on the QNAP and 10.10.10.117 on the synology.

if possible make sure CAT6a is used between the 10GbE ports.

in HBS 3 on the QNAP goto Storage spaces and edit your Remote NAS connection and click on Speed Test. run in a few times. whats the average "reported" speed.

here is mine: its a QM2-2S10G1TB from a TS-453BT3. the card was designed for this NAS so its not fully compatible with the TVS-463

speed.JPG
Cable is a new 6a

9000 MTU 150mb/s
1500 MTU 145MB/s

I am usung the default port 873 ( I cannot see where to change it on the Synology )

Also ran same test connecting Qnap 10GBE to Synolgy 1GB = 91MB/s
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

Post Reply

Return to “Turbo Station Installation & Setup”