TS-228A - long first installation time

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
Post Reply
PanGolan
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:39 pm

TS-228A - long first installation time

Post by PanGolan » Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:47 pm

All,

I have just purchased a TS-228A and started configuring it. Once connected to the internet and mounted HDD inside (WD Blue 1 TB) I downloaded Qfinder so as to started the whole process. The HDD led is solid green, the power button is flashing green quite fast (I suppose every 0,5s) and LAN indicator also flashes irregularly.

I started configuration process and know the bar shows 100% but nothing happens. Only "The system is being configured. Do NOT power off the NAS or unplug the hard drive(s)." is shown and the little cirle is running. Now it is like 1,5 hrs.

How long should it take? Should I switch it off and take the HDD out and install the firmware separately and then mount the HDD?

Thanks for the answers.

Blackbar7
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: TS-228A - long first installation time

Post by Blackbar7 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:10 pm

PanGolan wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:47 pm
Once connected to the internet and mounted HDD inside (WD Blue 1 TB)
:roll: :roll: :roll: Why?? This hd is not recommended.

PanGolan
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:39 pm

Re: TS-228A - long first installation time

Post by PanGolan » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:17 pm

Blackbar7 wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:10 pm
PanGolan wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:47 pm
Once connected to the internet and mounted HDD inside (WD Blue 1 TB)
:roll: :roll: :roll: Why?? This hd is not recommended.
Yes, it is not on RECOMMENDED LIST but on the other hand it is not on NOT RECOMMENDED LIST. I have friends with Blue-series HDDs in their QNAPs. Is it possible the HDD is the only problem? Even if the LED is solid green, which means the drive can be accessed?

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4179
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: TS-228A - long first installation time

Post by storageman » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:46 pm

PanGolan wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:17 pm
Blackbar7 wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:10 pm
PanGolan wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 7:47 pm
Once connected to the internet and mounted HDD inside (WD Blue 1 TB)
:roll: :roll: :roll: Why?? This hd is not recommended.
Yes, it is not on RECOMMENDED LIST but on the other hand it is not on NOT RECOMMENDED LIST. I have friends with Blue-series HDDs in their QNAPs. Is it possible the HDD is the only problem? Even if the LED is solid green, which means the drive can be accessed?
Correct, but it does mean Qnap won't troubleshoot any issues.
In contrast our friends Synology do have lists of what failed testing.
Long argued should be compatible/incompatible list if anything fails testing.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43645
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: TS-228A - long first installation time

Post by schumaku » Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:22 am

You might want to wipe the partition table on the HDD and retry. Under some conditions, the ARM based units fail to destroy an existing partition table.

Post Reply

Return to “Turbo Station Installation & Setup”