Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
ori10bis
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:43 pm

Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by ori10bis » Sun Aug 25, 2019 2:01 pm

I did not see a network dedicated forum here so I hope I can get my help here :)

So I purchased a brand new TS-873-8G, it has 4 1GB ports which I configured with port trunking and now I have a 4Gbps connection.

I connected all 4 Ethernet ports to a HP ProCurve 2900-24G switch and configured a trunk using LACP for the 4 ports, the trunk and LACP seems successful:

ProCurve Switch 2900-24G(config)# show trunk
Load Balancing

Port | Name Type | Group Type
---- + -------------------------------- --------- + ----- -----
21 | 100/1000T | Trk2 LACP
22 | 100/1000T | Trk2 LACP
23 | 100/1000T | Trk2 LACP
24 | 100/1000T | Trk2 LACP

ProCurve Switch 2900-24G(config)# show lacp
LACP

PORT LACP TRUNK PORT LACP LACP
NUMB ENABLED GROUP STATUS PARTNER STATUS
---- ------- ------- ------- ------- -------
21 Active Trk2 Up Yes Success
22 Active Trk2 Up Yes Success
23 Active Trk2 Up Yes Success
24 Active Trk2 Up Yes Success

To test the speed I used 2 different computers which are connected to different ports on the same switch:

1. Individually if I transfer big files from each computer to the QNAP I receive full 1Gbps speed.

2. When I transfer big files from both computers to the QNAP at the same time I can see the load balancing work as each computer uses a different port in the configured trunk, however they share together a speed of 1Gbps as well and not getting 1Gbps each as I thought they would get. :(

My question is what is the limiting factor here? Does the ProCurve switch internal bus limited to 1Gbps?

Any help would be appreciated, thank you!
Ori.

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5158
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by Toxic17 » Sun Aug 25, 2019 3:37 pm

Generally packets from the same source MAC address, to the same destination MAC address, will always go out the same port. So 1GB is the max for 1 Data session since it uses 1 GB port.

You could open up multiple file copy sessions perhaps from one device to the NAS and see if increase overall performance but each session is limited to the speed of one interface (in your case 1GB)

are you getting 1 GB throughput from each device on their own?

If your only getting 1GB speed from multiple sessions/devices then hardware maybe the limiting factor or the switch could be somehow misconfigured, if you think your setup is 100% then raise the issue with QNAP.
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1064 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1064 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.0998 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 • QSonarr 3.0.1.503 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 2.2.1 • Lychee 3.2.15 • HBS 3.0.190802 • LEgo v3.0.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5158
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by Toxic17 » Sun Aug 25, 2019 3:57 pm

I tested my setup and I was getting 234MB/s (in dashboard) from copying a 10GB file from NAS to NAS using wget and a straight file copy (10GB) from NAS to PC at the same time.

The 473 has all 4 1GB Port trunked using 802.3ad. The Unifi 16 POE 150W switch has 4 ports set to Link Aggregation.
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1064 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1064 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.0998 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 • QSonarr 3.0.1.503 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 2.2.1 • Lychee 3.2.15 • HBS 3.0.190802 • LEgo v3.0.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

ori10bis
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by ori10bis » Sun Aug 25, 2019 3:58 pm

Hi Toxic, per the configuration in the switch everything looks fine, the partner status and group status for the LACP shows "SUCCESS" and yet multiple devices still share a 1Gbps speed even though they use different ports of the trunk from what i'm seeing in the network monitor of the QNAP.

I just wonder if the switch internal bus is limiting me now but I can't find any information.

Thank you for your reply!

ori10bis
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by ori10bis » Sun Aug 25, 2019 3:59 pm

What switch are you using btw?

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5158
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by Toxic17 » Sun Aug 25, 2019 4:03 pm

I tested my setup and I was getting 234MB/s (in dashboard) from copying a 10GB file from NAS to NAS using wget and a straight file copy (10GB) from NAS to PC at the same time.

The 473 has all 4 1GB Port trunked using 802.3ad. The Unifi 16 POE 150W switch has 4 ports set to Link Aggregation.
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1064 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1064 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.0998 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 • QSonarr 3.0.1.503 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 2.2.1 • Lychee 3.2.15 • HBS 3.0.190802 • LEgo v3.0.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5158
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by Toxic17 » Sun Aug 25, 2019 4:10 pm

I'm guessing the switch is the likely cause. is their any firmware updates for your Switch perhaps? have you tried a simple reboot.

do you have any other devices that use 802.3ad?
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1064 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1064 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.0998 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 • QSonarr 3.0.1.503 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 2.2.1 • Lychee 3.2.15 • HBS 3.0.190802 • LEgo v3.0.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

ori10bis
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by ori10bis » Sun Aug 25, 2019 4:15 pm

No I don't have any other devices using 802.3ad unfortunately and I don't find any information regarding the limits of my procurve, I'm gonna have to dig deeper :(

ori10bis
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by ori10bis » Sun Aug 25, 2019 4:24 pm

I found the procurve 2900 datasheet and it says:

High-performance architecture: 115 Gbps switching fabric with up to 74 million pps (Switch 2900-24G) and 173 Gbps
switching fabric with up to 110 million pps (Switch 2900-48G)

IEEE 802.3ad Link Aggregation Protocol (LACP) and ProCurve trunking: support up to 24 trunks, each with up to 8 links
(ports) per trunk

I'm lost.

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5158
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by Toxic17 » Sun Aug 25, 2019 5:55 pm

Indeed it is rather strange. just confirm your network cables are of a GB spec too perhaps?

I take it you've rebooted the switch and other devices. all MTU sizes default? do you have a virtual switch configured on the NAS at all?
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1064 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1064 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.0998 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 • QSonarr 3.0.1.503 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 2.2.1 • Lychee 3.2.15 • HBS 3.0.190802 • LEgo v3.0.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

ori10bis
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by ori10bis » Sun Aug 25, 2019 6:28 pm

Network cables are all the same cat6.
QNAP virtual switch is configured as in the attached image.
MTU sizes are all default.
I cannot reboot the switch currently as it is used in office production.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5158
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by Toxic17 » Sun Aug 25, 2019 8:29 pm

what I meant is he "virtual switch" feature has nothing setup in it at all?

Open the Network & Virtual Switch then click on Advanced (bottom left) then open Network and you should see "Virtual Switch" is there any configuration in there? mine is unused.
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1064 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1064 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.0998 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 • QSonarr 3.0.1.503 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 2.2.1 • Lychee 3.2.15 • HBS 3.0.190802 • LEgo v3.0.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

ori10bis
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by ori10bis » Sun Aug 25, 2019 8:49 pm

No there's no virtual switch there, I did not configure it.

ori10bis
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by ori10bis » Wed Aug 28, 2019 8:09 pm

Rebooted the switch, that did not help of course.

I removed the static trunk configuration on the switch and it automatically created a dynamic LACP group but that doesn't help too.

I'm out of ideas.

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5158
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Limited to 1Gbps with 820.3ad

Post by Toxic17 » Wed Aug 28, 2019 9:56 pm

That is strange. I guess you could try reconfiguring the Port trunking again on the NAS, but we are repeating the settings that should just work as they do with mine.

Can you do a few screen dumps/cut/pate from some SSH commands?

ifconfig

hide any IPs you want before posting here.

and then see which interface is the trunked port. mine is "bond0" which is eth0+eth1+eth2+eth3

then do

ethtool bond0 (or whatever the trunked interface name is) and possibly look at

ethtool eth0
ethtool eth1
ethtool eth2
ethtool eth3

and check any issues with the data/values there too.

can you confirm both NAS and Switch ports have the same MTU sizes?

I'm stabbing in the dark so to speak as there is not much else that can be checked tbh.
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1064 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1064 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.0998 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 • QSonarr 3.0.1.503 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 2.2.1 • Lychee 3.2.15 • HBS 3.0.190802 • LEgo v3.0.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

Post Reply

Return to “Turbo Station Installation & Setup”