HBS 3 NAS Backup

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
intwtl
Getting the hang of things

HBS 3 NAS Backup

Post by intwtl »

HBS 3 NAS Backup

I have had to completely rebuild my backup NAS (NAS 2).

I am trying to copy my data from my daily NAS (NAS 1) to NAS 2.

I have no experience with HBS 3 but have been advised it is the best way to copy the files (21 TB) over.
If there is a better or alternate way please advise.

I have set up a folder in my DataVol1 named Multimedia on both NAS. Under this folder I have set up the folders:

Movies
New Season Maybes
To Be Sorted
TV Series
Test 1

I have set up the folder "Test 1" to test the file copy (see pic NAS 1 Multimedia folder structure). The same structure is set up on NAS 2.

I copied folder Test 1 and several files to test the HBS3 app. This can be seen in the attached pic (NAS 2 after HBS3 Backup).

As can be seen HBS 3 has created under the folder "Test 1" sub folders called Backup1 / latest/ Multimedia/ Test 1.

Is there a setting in HBS3 that will not create the sub folders and just copy only to the original folder ?

Thank you
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
lousyfool

Re: HBS 3 NAS Backup

Post by lousyfool »

intwtl wrote: Fri Oct 28, 2022 1:11 pm Is there a setting in HBS3 that will not create the sub folders and just copy only to the original folder ?
AFAIK: no.
And what's the problem with that? "Test 1" is there on NAS 2, correctly under the parent folder "Multimedia". That's a feature (not a problem), because if that weren't the case and you had another "Test 1" under a different parent folder... then one would overwrite the other, logically.
Also, I guess HBS needs the other parent folders for its "Restore" button to work.

Anyway, and again: the backup parent folders, including "Backup 1" and "latest" shouldn't be a problem for you... you know now where "Test 1" is on NAS 2.
intwtl

Post by intwtl »

Thanks,
FSC830
Experience counts