Solid red light - drive tests fine - new TS-251D

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
DaggerToe
Starting out

Solid red light - drive tests fine - new TS-251D

Post by DaggerToe »

Hi All,

Grr!! Ok, setting up a new TS-251D. It was going fine loading the data then I got a warning about the drive being almost full. Hardly as it's a 16tb IronWolf and I was shown how to enlarge the volume so that's fine. I loaded more data, and then I noticed the solid red light.

According to the manual and the process of elimination (not RAID), it's "the drive". So I went into the storage section and ran scans on the drive. Not only is it reporting all good but the scans came back clean. New drive, new NAS.

I'm rather new to network storage. The drive is in the #2 bay because the drive is so big it had trouble being removed from the #1 bay.

Can anyone please help me figure this out? I'm doing this for my ADHD boss so anything other than "it's working fine" will cause me no end of grief from him.

Thanks ;-)
dolbyman
Guru

Re: Solid red light - drive tests fine - new TS-251D

Post by dolbyman »

Sounds like this

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=169992

wait hold on .. this IS you .. thought you figured this out .. and if not, why open a new topic ?
DaggerToe
Starting out

Post by DaggerToe »

dolbyman wrote: Tue Apr 04, 2023 4:59 am Sounds like this

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=169992

wait hold on .. this IS you .. thought you figured this out .. and if not, why open a new topic ?
Because I didn't have the only red light before and that problem was solved, as mentioned above. New problem, new post. Before the problem was actually telling me that the size was too small. I fixed the size, the light was green again. Now it's red again but doesn't tell me what is going on.
dolbyman
Guru

Post by dolbyman »

The , as before, upload screenshots of your storage management so we can see what the issue is
DaggerToe
Starting out

Post by DaggerToe »