TS-419P - WINDOWS 7 clients - Cannot login to shares

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
quaz
New here

TS-419P - WINDOWS 7 clients - Cannot login to shares

Post by quaz » Sun Aug 15, 2010 1:07 am

Hello, I'm kinda new to the NAS word I've some IT & networking skills but, evidently I ain't got enough!

I've a problem with a TS-419P mounting the last 3.3.1 Build 0720T firmware. After configuring the shares, users, and rights for them I soon realize that through windows explorer I wasn't able to access my shared directories on the NAS.
I've no problem connecting to the nas ip, or name after configuring it to operate a s WINS server, and setting up the clients right for it, but as soon I was trying to access a restricted folder with my username it will soon give me an error for username / password.

Here what I've tried today:

Login:
[Nas Username] no joy
[Computer name]\[Nas Username] no joy
[Nas name]\[Nas Username] no joy

I've tried again the various methods of login after modify some "Local Security Policies"

- Network security: minimum session security for NTLM SSP based (inluding secure RPC) clients -> uncheck the require 128-bit encryption flag
- Network security: minimum session security for NTLM SSP based (inluding secure RPC) servers -> uncheck the require 128-bit encryption flag
- Network security: Lan Manager authentication level -> send LM & NTLM responses OR send LM & NTLM responses use NTLMv2 session security if negotiated

I can make mapped network drives with net use, but not of the "root shared" directory of the NAS, but it's not the same accessing all the shares at the same time, and If I need to make to many mapped network drives.

I've already searched the forums but come up empty, if this was already resolved in the past I'm sorry to double post it again, but coming up really desperate.

Best Regards,

QuaZ

schumaku
Guru

Re: TS-419P - WINDOWS 7 clients - Cannot login to shares

Post by schumaku » Mon Aug 16, 2010 2:37 am

Hi QuaZ,