Installing drives in 212P

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
hbcobra
New here

Installing drives in 212P

Post by hbcobra »

Yes I'm a noob at this, so feel free to poke fun (nine times out of ten, I probably would too), but please help.

Just picked up a QNAP TS-212P and two SATA drives for it. I can't figure out how to install the drives in the NAS. Neither the Quick Start guide provided with the NAS nor the manual online offers much assistance; they merely say "Install the hard drives" and have a diagram with an arrow going from a hard drive toward the general direction of the NAS.

All QNAP provided in the box was one SATA power and one SATA data cable. How am I supposed to set it up a second drive? Do I need to chain them together somehow? Is there a connector between the two that I'm missing? The NAS board only has one each of SATA power and data so I'm thoroughly confused.

Instructions appreciated. Pictures definitely welcome.

Thanks for your help.
pwilson
Guru

Re: Installing drives in 212P

Post by pwilson »

hbcobra wrote:Yes I'm a noob at this, so feel free to poke fun (nine times out of ten, I probably would too), but please help.

Just picked up a QNAP TS-212P and two SATA drives for it. I can't figure out how to install the drives in the NAS. Neither the Quick Start guide provided with the NAS nor the manual online offers much assistance; they merely say "Install the hard drives" and have a diagram with an arrow going from a hard drive toward the general direction of the NAS.

All QNAP provided in the box was one SATA power and one SATA data cable. How am I supposed to set it up a second drive? Do I need to chain them together somehow? Is there a connector between the two that I'm missing? The NAS board only has one each of SATA power and data so I'm thoroughly confused.

Instructions appreciated. Pictures definitely welcome.

Thanks for your help.