Installing drives in 212P

Discussion on setting up QNAP NAS products.
hbcobra
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:05 pm

Installing drives in 212P

Postby hbcobra » Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:38 pm

Yes I'm a noob at this, so feel free to poke fun (nine times out of ten, I probably would too), but please help.

Just picked up a QNAP TS-212P and two SATA drives for it. I can't figure out how to install the drives in the NAS. Neither the Quick Start guide provided with the NAS nor the manual online offers much assistance; they merely say "Install the hard drives" and have a diagram with an arrow going from a hard drive toward the general direction of the NAS.

All QNAP provided in the box was one SATA power and one SATA data cable. How am I supposed to set it up a second drive? Do I need to chain them together somehow? Is there a connector between the two that I'm missing? The NAS board only has one each of SATA power and data so I'm thoroughly confused.

Instructions appreciated. Pictures definitely welcome.

Thanks for your help.

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22589
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: Installing drives in 212P

Postby pwilson » Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:08 pm

hbcobra wrote:Yes I'm a noob at this, so feel free to poke fun (nine times out of ten, I probably would too), but please help.

Just picked up a QNAP TS-212P and two SATA drives for it. I can't figure out how to install the drives in the NAS. Neither the Quick Start guide provided with the NAS nor the manual online offers much assistance; they merely say "Install the hard drives" and have a diagram with an arrow going from a hard drive toward the general direction of the NAS.

All QNAP provided in the box was one SATA power and one SATA data cable. How am I supposed to set it up a second drive? Do I need to chain them together somehow? Is there a connector between the two that I'm missing? The NAS board only has one each of SATA power and data so I'm thoroughly confused.

Instructions appreciated. Pictures definitely welcome.

Thanks for your help.


HDD1 sits on the bottom, and connects directly to the SATA / Sata-Power connector right on the Motherboard. (Slide the drive into the connector, and the screw holes will line up with the drive bracket so that you can mount the drive properly with the screws provided: (No cables required for HDD1 - it connects directly to the board).

Image

HDD2 sits on top of HDD1, and connects to the Motherboard using the SATA and SATA-power cables provided:

Image

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

hbcobra
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:05 pm

Re: Installing drives in 212P

Postby hbcobra » Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:14 pm

Thanks Patrick! I didn't realize the bottom drive was is supposed to be connected directly to the NAS itself and the top to the two cords. All good to go now!

edbro
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 11:47 pm

Re: Installing drives in 212P

Postby edbro » Thu Jan 23, 2014 7:50 am

I'm glad I found this. I've been trying to figure this out myself. The picture on the start page ** and it isn't clear where the cables go. I have definitely seen better documentation than this!

supreme84
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 10:23 pm

Re: Installing drives in 212P

Postby supreme84 » Sat Mar 22, 2014 11:09 pm

Hi,
I'm trying to install two disks in 212P.
The system can't see the second disk, but the led is green (fixed). I'm using Seagate Barracuda disk (3TB).

Any suggestions?

Tnx

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 42794
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Installing drives in 212P

Postby schumaku » Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:46 am

supreme84 wrote:The system can't see the second disk, ...
Where have you checked this exactly please?

Have an eye in the Control Panel -> System Settings -> Storage Manager -> Volumes

Still can't see the newly added HDD there?


Return to “Turbo Station Installation & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests