QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Interested in our products? Post your questions here. Let us answer before you buy.
aarbee
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby aarbee » Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:02 am

Ok ?¿

I have created a folder named Media.
And found it in that Cache directory, but also under: /share/Media
I tried to use this share for my films: /share/Media/Film
It seems that it is reading the movies, including posters. But when I try to view one, I only see the loading circle on my pc.
Music however functions, pretty fast.
I have added 1 SSD in bay 5. And set it to read and write. But that did not really improve it.

Any suggestions?

Thanks ahead.
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 - 2.5" notebook disks: Seagate 320GB, WD 500GB (2x), Seagate 620GB; SSD: OCZ 128GB
Model: TS-239 PRO II - 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - 2x WD red 1TB 2.5"

User avatar
OneCD
Experience counts
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Model: TS-x69 Pro
Location: over there, behind that sofa...

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby OneCD » Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:21 am

aarbee wrote:I have created a folder named Media.
And found it in that Cache directory, but also under: /share/Media

That is fine.

For these NAS, the actual directory for your share is created under /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/, but a symbolic link is created under /share/ that points to the actual directory.

You only need to refer to your /share/Media directory to access what is really stored in /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Media.
Stuff I like: Apache automation BASH blocklists BTFS BusyBox CLI CouchPotato CRON CSS DD-WRT DNS DNSMasq Entware-ng EXT2/3/4 FireFox GitHub HTML ImageMagick IP-networking KDE Kodi L2TP/IPsec LibreELEC Linux LXDE Linux Mint NAS Netrunner NFS OpenSUSE Orvibo S20 P2P phpMyAdmin Python Raspberry Pi RAID remote-access rsync SABnzbd+ screen scripts shell Shuttle SickBeard SQL SQLite SSD SSH Transmission Ubuntu UPS Usenet VirtualBox VPN web-servers WiFi WordPress XFCE XFS XML

aarbee
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby aarbee » Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:00 am

Thanks.

This is not the first Plex server I am running. But the first on a Qnap.
I have put a library in Plex to /share/Media/Film. In there is a movie. I can see it is there via Plex. But when clicked on to play it runs for ages (turning circle), but no movie at all.
Tried this share as well: /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Media/Film. Same issue.

I have updated Plex to the latest version.
I wonder what I should switch on the Qnap to make it work.
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 - 2.5" notebook disks: Seagate 320GB, WD 500GB (2x), Seagate 620GB; SSD: OCZ 128GB
Model: TS-239 PRO II - 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - 2x WD red 1TB 2.5"

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 1251
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Model: TS-x53/x53S/453mini
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby Trexx » Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:28 am

check Media/Film folder security permissions, Plex log, etc.
Paul

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.3.3.0095 Build: 20170216
Disks: [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS SSD Cache: [RAID-1] 2 x 525GB Crucial MX300 m.2's
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro (4K), AppleTV 4
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Model: TS-453 Pro 16GB FW: 4.3.2 beta

Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc. | Plex NAS Compatibility Guide

aarbee
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby aarbee » Thu Feb 16, 2017 7:39 pm

I had created a shared-folder with the name Media, and added a user to that group, in QTS. That user was not the admin.
I have just added the normal admin giving it read and write permissions. Still does not work.
Film is a subfolder.

Or must I add the permissions elsewhere?
Do you mean the Qnap logfile?

Thanks.
(I think I have kidnapped my own thread for a different purpose now.)

Edit.
Found something in the server log of Plex:
Feb 16, 2017 12:41:57.210 [0x7f6c96959700] DEBUG - Streaming Resource: Reached Decision id=182 codes=(General=1001,Direct play not available; Conversion OK. Direct Play=3000,App cannot direct play this item. Direct play is disabled. Transcode=1001,Direct play not available; Conversion OK.) media=(id=429 part=(id=429 decision=transcode container=mp4 protocol=dash streams=(Video=(id=878 decision=copy width=1920 height=796) Audio=(id=879 decision=transcode bitrate=256 encoder=aac channels=2 rate=48000))))

This means: Cannot play because Direct Play = disabled?
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 - 2.5" notebook disks: Seagate 320GB, WD 500GB (2x), Seagate 620GB; SSD: OCZ 128GB
Model: TS-239 PRO II - 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - 2x WD red 1TB 2.5"

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 1251
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Model: TS-x53/x53S/453mini
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby Trexx » Thu Feb 16, 2017 9:48 pm

aarbee wrote:I had created a shared-folder with the name Media, and added a user to that group, in QTS. That user was not the admin.
I have just added the normal admin giving it read and write permissions. Still does not work.
Film is a subfolder.

Or must I add the permissions elsewhere?
Do you mean the Qnap logfile?

Thanks.
(I think I have kidnapped my own thread for a different purpose now.)

Edit.
Found something in the server log of Plex:
Feb 16, 2017 12:41:57.210 [0x7f6c96959700] DEBUG - Streaming Resource: Reached Decision id=182 codes=(General=1001,Direct play not available; Conversion OK. Direct Play=3000,App cannot direct play this item. Direct play is disabled. Transcode=1001,Direct play not available; Conversion OK.) media=(id=429 part=(id=429 decision=transcode container=mp4 protocol=dash streams=(Video=(id=878 decision=copy width=1920 height=796) Audio=(id=879 decision=transcode bitrate=256 encoder=aac channels=2 rate=48000))))

This means: Cannot play because Direct Play = disabled?


You Plex client appears to have direct play disabled which is forcing transcoding which is causing the lag. Make sure client has direct play and direct stream enabled.

What where you trying to play with?



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Paul

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.3.3.0095 Build: 20170216
Disks: [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS SSD Cache: [RAID-1] 2 x 525GB Crucial MX300 m.2's
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro (4K), AppleTV 4
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Model: TS-453 Pro 16GB FW: 4.3.2 beta

Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc. | Plex NAS Compatibility Guide

aarbee
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby aarbee » Thu Feb 16, 2017 10:36 pm

Firefox browser. (works with the Nvidia Shield and a regular second pc.)
-------------------------
I am deleting all shares on the moment. unmounting disks.
My test for upgrading disks (100gb-4tb), has worked.
Including 1 older 120 GB SSD for cache (read and write).
Going for 4x smaller 2.5" disks. Then as Raid 5.

Then building all again.
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 - 2.5" notebook disks: Seagate 320GB, WD 500GB (2x), Seagate 620GB; SSD: OCZ 128GB
Model: TS-239 PRO II - 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - 2x WD red 1TB 2.5"

aarbee
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby aarbee » Fri Feb 17, 2017 12:01 am

Trexx wrote:
You Plex client appears to have direct play disabled which is forcing transcoding which is causing the lag. Make sure client has direct play and direct stream enabled.

What where you trying to play with?

Very odd. anyway. As I have seen that another plex server in the house (nvidia shield) Is able to play in the same browser.
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 - 2.5" notebook disks: Seagate 320GB, WD 500GB (2x), Seagate 620GB; SSD: OCZ 128GB
Model: TS-239 PRO II - 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - 2x WD red 1TB 2.5"

aarbee
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby aarbee » Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:03 pm

Got it working.
How?
Uninstall the Plex-app.
Download the newest 64bit from the Plex.tv site. And install that one.
Long installation, but works like a charm.

Only issue that I am having is, when I select Transcoding. And add the Transcoder temporary directory.
And I gave in this path: /share/media/temp and start to play, I am getting an error saying disk full.
Which could be right, if my local disk is meant, which is free for only 80GB.
OR in case the QNAP disk is meant, well there is only 600GB free.

RobB
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 - 2.5" notebook disks: Seagate 320GB, WD 500GB (2x), Seagate 620GB; SSD: OCZ 128GB
Model: TS-239 PRO II - 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - 2x WD red 1TB 2.5"

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 1251
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Model: TS-x53/x53S/453mini
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby Trexx » Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:28 pm

aarbee wrote:Got it working.
Only issue that I am having is, when I select Transcoding. And add the Transcoder temporary directory.
And I gave in this path: /share/media/temp and start to play, I am getting an error saying disk full.
Which could be right, if my local disk is meant, which is free for only 80GB.
OR in case the QNAP disk is meant, well there is only 600GB free.

RobB


Hey Rob - Glad one issue down.

You don't need to do anything with the temp directory... leave it blank. The default Plex settings should be fine for the majority of the settings.

Generally speaking, all you really need to do is login with your Plex.tv account, add the library folders for your movies/tv/music/etc. and that covers the majority of setup. When it doubt, take the default settings for most things works just fine.
Paul

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.3.3.0095 Build: 20170216
Disks: [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS SSD Cache: [RAID-1] 2 x 525GB Crucial MX300 m.2's
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro (4K), AppleTV 4
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Model: TS-453 Pro 16GB FW: 4.3.2 beta

Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc. | Plex NAS Compatibility Guide

aarbee
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby aarbee » Sat Feb 18, 2017 1:20 am

Trexx,

Thanks for helping me out. Added you as a friend here.
Left the path blank now. And indeed it works.
Trying out now 1 movie watching through the browser = 40% cpu, and a second via the iphone is marginal more.
Energy wise: idle 32-45 watts. And now 50-70 watt.
System is mostly idle.
Previously I hadd the 239 and a laptop. also consuming 50+ watt/hour. My goal was not to get to much over that, while being idle.
So far happy? Yes Absolut. thanks for helping me choose.

On this moment I have old laptop disks installed. But overtime, will I exchange all with 4x 1TB WD red 2.5. And 2 SSD's.
Is there a difference between the normal and M2? Advice on size? Of my real datapool is 3TB. I guess 2x 512. And I wonder longevity to those SSD's. As they can only have a limited amount of writes.
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 - 2.5" notebook disks: Seagate 320GB, WD 500GB (2x), Seagate 620GB; SSD: OCZ 128GB
Model: TS-239 PRO II - 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - 2x WD red 1TB 2.5"

aarbee
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby aarbee » Sat Feb 18, 2017 6:30 am

Question.
I read somewhere, that you can download complete virtual machines. But I am not sure if that is true or not. I know you can download microsoft server hyperv's for 180 days of testing. Or you add a licence.
But I thought I read about ready to use Linux packages. If not, I will go the regular iso downloads. (I am not looking for illegal stuf or so. Have sufficient licences for Windows here).
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 - 2.5" notebook disks: Seagate 320GB, WD 500GB (2x), Seagate 620GB; SSD: OCZ 128GB
Model: TS-239 PRO II - 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - 2x WD red 1TB 2.5"

aarbee
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby aarbee » Sat Feb 18, 2017 7:01 am

OneCD wrote:
aarbee wrote:I have created a folder named Media.
And found it in that Cache directory, but also under: /share/Media

That is fine.

For these NAS, the actual directory for your share is created under /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/, but a symbolic link is created under /share/ that points to the actual directory.

You only need to refer to your /share/Media directory to access what is really stored in /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Media.


OneCD, regarding this, is the real folder structure /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/media and/share/media the alias?
Would have thought differently considering the name.

Second is, that today, when I tried to add another folder, that the /share is not anymore the top. O The highst level is now starting with /mnt/HDA_ROOT instead of /Share.
Left pane is at the bottom CACHEDEV1_DATA. I wonder more why that is.
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 - 2.5" notebook disks: Seagate 320GB, WD 500GB (2x), Seagate 620GB; SSD: OCZ 128GB
Model: TS-239 PRO II - 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - 2x WD red 1TB 2.5"

User avatar
OneCD
Experience counts
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Model: TS-x69 Pro
Location: over there, behind that sofa...

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby OneCD » Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:06 am

aarbee wrote:OneCD, regarding this, is the real folder structure /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/media and/share/media the alias?

Yes, that would be one way of putting it. But technically, an alias in Linux is something else. ;)

But you previously mentioned "Media", not "media" - they are two different locations.

aarbee wrote:Second is, that today, when I tried to add another folder, that the /share is not anymore the top. O The highst level is now starting with /mnt/HDA_ROOT instead of /Share.
Left pane is at the bottom CACHEDEV1_DATA. I wonder more why that is.

I assume you're talking about something within Plex? Can't help there as I don't use it.

But please note that /mnt/HDA_ROOT is a QTS system partition and /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA is for your data.
Stuff I like: Apache automation BASH blocklists BTFS BusyBox CLI CouchPotato CRON CSS DD-WRT DNS DNSMasq Entware-ng EXT2/3/4 FireFox GitHub HTML ImageMagick IP-networking KDE Kodi L2TP/IPsec LibreELEC Linux LXDE Linux Mint NAS Netrunner NFS OpenSUSE Orvibo S20 P2P phpMyAdmin Python Raspberry Pi RAID remote-access rsync SABnzbd+ screen scripts shell Shuttle SickBeard SQL SQLite SSD SSH Transmission Ubuntu UPS Usenet VirtualBox VPN web-servers WiFi WordPress XFCE XFS XML

aarbee
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am
Model: TS-239 Pro II

Re: QNAP x82 strong enough for Plex and Virtualstation?

Postby aarbee » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:57 am

I am aware that a name with or without a capital in Linux means a different name. In Windows, it is the same.

Indeed I was talking about inside Plex.
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 - 2.5" notebook disks: Seagate 320GB, WD 500GB (2x), Seagate 620GB; SSD: OCZ 128GB
Model: TS-239 PRO II - 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - 2x WD red 1TB 2.5"


Return to “Presales”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests