Brand New TVS-x82T!

Interested in our products? Post your questions here. Let us answer before you buy.
User avatar
rafale
Starting out
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 1:53 pm

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby rafale » Fri May 19, 2017 7:46 am

CiASpook wrote:My TVS-1282T has v1.2 of the motherboard, the TVS-1282T3 has v1.3.


I confirm as well, my MB is identical to yours:
TVS8482-MB V1.3
20606-A00806-YS-00-RS
QX79

Would be great if you could somehow get information on your BIOS version and maybe even extract it.
TVS 871, i7 4785T, intel X520DA dual 10GBe Card, 16GB, 8 x 3TB WD Red in RAID 6.
TVS 1282, i7 6700K, Emulex OCE11102 dual 10GBe Card, 64GB, Noctua NH-L12 w/GT-15. 2x 850 EVO 500GB M.2. 4x WD Red 8TB, 4x WD Purple 4TB

lunkens
Starting out
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:19 pm

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby lunkens » Fri May 19, 2017 5:03 pm

Same here. Identical MB on my 1282T. It's a late model production date.

dagar21
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2015 7:53 pm

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby dagar21 » Fri May 19, 2017 6:54 pm

Same here. 1282T2 v1.3
QNAP TVS-1282T-i5 with Corsiar H5 SF watercooling, 3x 80mm PWM Noctua fans, 1x 60mm PWM Noctua fan, Corsair SF600 PSU

lunkens
Starting out
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:19 pm

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby lunkens » Sat May 20, 2017 1:40 am

Have someone with that revision tried the KL?

sonnsterr
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:12 am

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby sonnsterr » Sat May 20, 2017 1:44 am

lunkens wrote:Have someone with that revision tried the KL?


Yes, I did.... KL only works on the T3
QNAP TVS‑1282T‑i7K‑64G with Alphacool Eiswand External CPU Cooler..TX-500P Expansion unit for Backups ..450W Power Supply

User avatar
rafale
Starting out
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 1:53 pm

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby rafale » Sat May 20, 2017 2:10 am

sonnsterr wrote:
lunkens wrote:Have someone with that revision tried the KL?


Yes, I did.... KL only works on the T3


What version of the MB do you have? Do you have a 1282? The 682 and 882 (4282/6282) have the same motherboards but not the 1282 (8482).
TVS 871, i7 4785T, intel X520DA dual 10GBe Card, 16GB, 8 x 3TB WD Red in RAID 6.
TVS 1282, i7 6700K, Emulex OCE11102 dual 10GBe Card, 64GB, Noctua NH-L12 w/GT-15. 2x 850 EVO 500GB M.2. 4x WD Red 8TB, 4x WD Purple 4TB

sonnsterr
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:12 am

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby sonnsterr » Sat May 20, 2017 2:36 am

I have the 1282T V1.3 MB... I tried the KL with the latest firmware it does not work,its not designed to work with the KL. On the other had the 1282T3 is designed to work with the KL since that is what it comes with..

Pretty much like what was said way before in this thread...

Installed the Kaby, enclosure won't boot anymore.
More to say, it won't start: fans are starting, but no reaction at all.

Replaced the Kaby Lake with the Skylake, everything is starting up and went back to normal...
QNAP TVS‑1282T‑i7K‑64G with Alphacool Eiswand External CPU Cooler..TX-500P Expansion unit for Backups ..450W Power Supply

User avatar
rafale
Starting out
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 1:53 pm

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby rafale » Sat May 20, 2017 3:16 am

That's expected if the CPU microcode is not in the BIOS. However there is no reason the BIOS is not interchangeable since the motherboards are identical.
TVS 871, i7 4785T, intel X520DA dual 10GBe Card, 16GB, 8 x 3TB WD Red in RAID 6.
TVS 1282, i7 6700K, Emulex OCE11102 dual 10GBe Card, 64GB, Noctua NH-L12 w/GT-15. 2x 850 EVO 500GB M.2. 4x WD Red 8TB, 4x WD Purple 4TB

sonnsterr
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:12 am

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby sonnsterr » Sat May 20, 2017 3:37 am

rafale wrote:That's expected if the CPU microcode is not in the BIOS. However there is no reason the BIOS is not interchangeable since the motherboards are identical.


That's very possible, I have no idea. I don't know if the MB,s are totally identical or not or if there is any different chips ,etc. from one to the other.. Personally myself I don't want to void my warranty on the unit since this is not just being able to change the CPU and it works. Good luck....
QNAP TVS‑1282T‑i7K‑64G with Alphacool Eiswand External CPU Cooler..TX-500P Expansion unit for Backups ..450W Power Supply

User avatar
jds580s
Know my way around
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:52 am

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby jds580s » Sat May 20, 2017 3:44 am

The current BIOS version for the 1282/1282T is: QX80AR20

we may need CiASpook to chime in with the BIOS that came loaded on his T3

Model: TVS-1282
Firmware: QTS 4.3.3


Model: TS-459 Pro
Firmware: QTS 4.1.2
OS: Win10 Pro English
RAID 6: 2x HGST HDN724030ALE640 3TB, x2 Seagate ST3000VN000 3TB
External: USB Drive 3TB, eSATA Drive 2TB
Services: File Station, Backup Station (Rsync, External Drive), Surveillance Station 2, FTP
QPKG: CrashPlan, Plex Media Server, JRE, Optware IPKG
Network: 1 Gbps, MTU 1500

sonnsterr
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:12 am

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby sonnsterr » Sat May 20, 2017 4:13 am

sonnsterr wrote:
jds580s wrote:The current BIOS version for the 1282/1282T is: QX80AR20

we may need CiASpook to chime in with the BIOS that came loaded on his T3




I would be very surprised if it was the same, I'm sure it will different as it should be.As I stated earlier :Was told from a reliable source that the BIOS on the T3 is special for that unit and the KL needs that BIOS.
QNAP TVS‑1282T‑i7K‑64G with Alphacool Eiswand External CPU Cooler..TX-500P Expansion unit for Backups ..450W Power Supply

User avatar
jds580s
Know my way around
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:52 am

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby jds580s » Sat May 20, 2017 4:18 am

sonnsterr wrote:
sonnsterr wrote:
jds580s wrote:The current BIOS version for the 1282/1282T is: QX80AR20

we may need CiASpook to chime in with the BIOS that came loaded on his T3


I would be very surprised if it was the same, I'm sure it will different as it should be.As I stated earlier :Was told from a reliable source that the BIOS on the T3 is special for that unit and the KL needs that BIOS.


I think you're right too, I'm just curious what the KL version is.

Model: TVS-1282
Firmware: QTS 4.3.3


Model: TS-459 Pro
Firmware: QTS 4.1.2
OS: Win10 Pro English
RAID 6: 2x HGST HDN724030ALE640 3TB, x2 Seagate ST3000VN000 3TB
External: USB Drive 3TB, eSATA Drive 2TB
Services: File Station, Backup Station (Rsync, External Drive), Surveillance Station 2, FTP
QPKG: CrashPlan, Plex Media Server, JRE, Optware IPKG
Network: 1 Gbps, MTU 1500

sonnsterr
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:12 am

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby sonnsterr » Sat May 20, 2017 4:28 am

The only way the KL is going to work on the Non T3 model is a BIOS modification( Warranty Voided) if that's possible. Then you have to worry if (Qnap) changes something and you have a Modified BIOS on the unit if that will cause more problems down the road. Was nice when you could just change the CPU (Plug N Play) and it worked :) but the units had the options for those CPU,s.
The reliable source that I was talking about was...Qnap ...
QNAP TVS‑1282T‑i7K‑64G with Alphacool Eiswand External CPU Cooler..TX-500P Expansion unit for Backups ..450W Power Supply

CiASpook
Know my way around
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 7:07 am

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby CiASpook » Sat May 20, 2017 6:35 am

Try to extract the microcode is not something that I will try
QNAP TVS-1282T3-i7-64G with 8x WD Red 8TB, 4x Samsung 850EVO 2TB, 2x Samsung 850EVO 500GB M.2, custom with Corsair H5 SF watercooling, Corsair SF450W PSU and Noctua NF-8A PWM 80mm fans

sonnsterr
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:12 am

Re: Brand New TVS-x82T!

Postby sonnsterr » Sat May 20, 2017 6:39 am

CiASpook wrote:Try to extract the microcode is not something that I will try


I wouldn't either...
QNAP TVS‑1282T‑i7K‑64G with Alphacool Eiswand External CPU Cooler..TX-500P Expansion unit for Backups ..450W Power Supply


Return to “Presales”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests