Moving from internal hard disk to QNAP in the mobile world

Interested in our products? Post your questions here. Let us answer before you buy.
gurlavie
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 3:30 pm

Moving from internal hard disk to QNAP in the mobile world

Postby gurlavie » Thu Jul 27, 2017 3:39 pm

Hi,

Considering moving to QNAP. other options I am considering is the Drobo, or just keep as is.
We are a family where all the mobile devices are backing up their photos to dropbox.
Our "canon" cameras are connecting to a computer and dumping their photos directly.

Eventually all is in the "cloud".

BUT, it becomes now a mass on the central computer.

What I am thinking to do:
- Move all the images and videos from the computer to QNAP.
- Use this opportunity to put them all in proper "date taken" folders.
- Then make sure they are all indexed and "facial recognized" with Adobe or other tools.

The time to move isn't a big factor.

1. Is there a proper way to do it ? Is there a QNAP utility I can run on the main PC, which will handle the "MOVE" as well as out in proper folders on the QNAP ? I guess this can take days, so it needs to be able to handle stop/start.
2. How will my mobile phones continue to "upload" their photos ? should I keep using Dropbox ? can they upload to QNAP ?

Thanks

Gur

User avatar
Toxic17
Experience counts
Posts: 3762
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Moving from internal hard disk to QNAP in the mobile world

Postby Toxic17 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 4:34 pm

Hi Gur, Welcome to the forums.

It is best to actually "copy" so that you can confirm data on PC is same as NAS for your initial data move.

1. There are several ways to do it. I'll just list one preferred way...

If your NAS is going to the the centralized Photo/Video storage then I would be just use Windows Explorer, map a drive to a share on the nas, and copy files/folders to the nas.

2. There are a number of ways to do this. dropbox is one, then the NAS can use Cloud backup sync to sync with dropbox and download them to the NAS.

there are also several apps that will install on the phone and backup direct to NAS, and the NAS can sync them with dropbox too.

https://www.qnap.com/en/cell_app/

how that helps somewhat.

dont forget you also need a NAS backup strategy also, which seems to be missing from many users lately, and when they NAS or drives fails, they loose it all.
Regards Simon

QTS 4.3/4.2 MANUAL

Submit a ticket - QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


Intel NUC DN2820FYKH - Debian 9.1 Stretch - CumulusMX 3.0.0 Build 3043
NAS: TVS-463/QM2-2P 4.3.3.0299 - TS-121 4.3.3.0299 - APC Back-UPS ES 700G
QPKG's: TwonkyMedia 8.4.1 - QApache 2.4.28.7110 - QSonarr 2.0.0.4949 - QNBZGet 19.1 - phpMyAdmin v4.7.4 - Piwigo 2.9.1 - Qmono 4.8.1.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 (200/10) - Sophos UTM 9.503-4 - Ubiquiti CloudKey - UniFi AP AC Pro - TL-SG1016DE - Cisco SLM2008 - RPi 3(PiAware) - RPi 3(Dump1090-mutability)
Retiring - TS-459 Pro-2G 4.2.6 Build 20170729

gggplaya
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:05 pm

Re: Moving from internal hard disk to QNAP in the mobile world

Postby gggplaya » Thu Jul 27, 2017 11:43 pm

I make a new folder for the date that my SD cards are dumped onto the NAS, and put that within a folder for each year. This is for the RAWS. Keeps my photos organized relatively well enough.

All my processed photos go into a processed folder for each year, which I have photo station linked to. All my processed jpgs are now accessible outside the home on my phone and tablets with Qphoto. But I can still access the RAW from outside using a web browser and logging into QTS.

I keep my NAS in Raid 5, and will soon have a cheap QNAP set up at my sisters house as a JBOD to do RTRR weekly incremental backups in case there is a fire or insane power surge at my house. That makes for triple redundancy.

gurlavie
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2017 3:30 pm

Re: Moving from internal hard disk to QNAP in the mobile world

Postby gurlavie » Sun Aug 13, 2017 2:13 am

Hi Guys,

I went a head and purchased a TS-251+.
What an amazing machine ! much more then I expected.....

SO thank you all for the intro.

As a first stage, when I am backing up my computer, the unit is connected to it directly. I set it up as RAID1, 4GB (2x4GB HDs).

Iam using DHCP for IP addresses, but what happens is that the mounted drives keeps disconnecting -seems like because of QNAP IP changes.
Is there a solution for this ? can I mount drives "agnostic" to the QNAP ip address ?

I guess, alternativly I'll need to go to a static IPs.

Thanks,

Gur


Return to “Presales”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests