TVS-1282 initial setup advice needed

Interested in our products? Post your questions here. Let us answer before you buy.
Post Reply
sjtsnix
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 5:25 am

TVS-1282 initial setup advice needed

Post by sjtsnix » Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:42 pm

I've a TVS-1282-i7-32G-US on order.

I'm new to the world of QNAP and NAS's in general (I do own a Thecus W5810, running Windows Storage Server 2012 R2 on my home network, it is currently the domain controller for my windows domain)

I'll be populating the TVS-1282 with eight 6TB WD REDs - WD60EFAX, from what I've read, puttings this in a RAID 6 would be best?

I've two 500 GB Crucial MX500s that will be used in two of the four SSD bays for now. I assume RAID 1 on those for now until I add more drives

Eventually I'll add two more 500 GB SSDs, and when the budget allows, pull those and go with 1TB or 2TB SSDs in all four 3.5 bays.
I'm not sure what size m.2's to buy, what is the recommended configuration with the SSD drives?

Will 500 GB M.2 drives suffice, or should I go with 1 TB m.2s for my use scenario listed below.

Any recommendations on M.2 drives? (anything to steer clear of from the drives listed on the Compatibility list?)

My use will be as follows:

Plex Server
3 to 5 Windows VMs
Surveillance system for 2 IP cameras, might add 2 more IP Camera's in the future.
iSCSI target for a Dell Precision workstation occasionally
Backup of four windows laptops and two PCs

If I were to run a Windows 10 in a VM on the TVS-1282, would that VM be able to output to two of the HDMI outputs for a dual monitor setup? Would it be able to do a triple monitor setup if used in that way?

Any advice for my first initial setup?

thank you for your time.
Stephen

QNAPDanielFL
Know my way around
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:09 am

Re: TVS-1282 initial setup advice needed

Post by QNAPDanielFL » Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:18 am

Since this unit has 4 2.5" bays. I would just use those and not use the m.2 for cache. If you want a separate SSD storage pool for VMs or something you could use those M.2 drives but if you are looking for cache for video editing, the 4 2.5" bays should be faster than the 2 M.2 since they are all SATA and 4 SSDs in a RAID are faster sequentially than 2 SSDs RAID1.

If you just use 2 SSDs for cache, I would cache Random I/O only. If you ever want to cache sequentially, I would get MLC SSDs instead of TLC and I would use all 4 SSDs for that for faster sequential performance.

QNAPDanielFL
Know my way around
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:09 am

Re: TVS-1282 initial setup advice needed

Post by QNAPDanielFL » Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:22 am

I should have read more closely. For plex I don't think you need SSDs. Not for surveillance either. VMs run better on SSDs. You can run them on the 2 M.2 or 4 2.5" SSDs. Depending on how much storage you need for the VMs, you may or may not need both the m.2 and the 2.5" SSDs. M.2 SATA and 2.5" SSDs have about the same performance.

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 679
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: TVS-1282 initial setup advice needed

Post by spikemixture » Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:00 am

I have the same nas as you.

and my use is similar.

last week I reinitialized my box. after 8 months with a 'testing' setup.

pool 1 / volume 1 has QTS on 2x 500gb ssd's
my data
i have 8x8tb thick volume raid 6.

I have plex on its own 2 x m.2 (250gb) raid1
I have 2x m.2 (on 10gbe card) 500gb for VM.raid 1

and 2x250gb ssd for caching my data pool.

250gb and 500gb are big enough for my purposes.

all my ssd are Samsung except 2x 500 m.2 which are crucial mx500 and they run way hotter than the Samsung.

I have another crucial in a NUC and that runs hot also.
I will not buy that brand again.





Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Qnap TS-1277 1700 - 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid 5
Qnap TVS-1282 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

Post Reply

Return to “Presales”