Replacing my TS-210

Interested in our products? Post your questions here. Let us answer before you buy.
Post Reply
D0909
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:02 pm

Replacing my TS-210

Post by D0909 » Fri May 07, 2021 3:42 am

Hi

Forgot how many years I am running my TS-210. Nothing is broken (except the antivirus does not update anymore). Still feel it is time to start thinking about replacing. Makes sense?

If so, what is the natural successor please? Pretty average user I assume ... mainly media-files.

I hope migrating the 2 discs is straight forward.

Appreciate your comments and suggestions

Thanks.

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 9056
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: Replacing my TS-210

Post by OneCD » Fri May 07, 2021 3:46 am

Suggest upgrading to a TS-230. ;)

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

D0909
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:02 pm

Re: Replacing my TS-210

Post by D0909 » Fri May 07, 2021 4:19 am

Okay, thanks. Should be good I guess. Currently, using the Hybrid Sync app for cloud back up and it should be able to stream video across devices. One level up would be the TS231 I guess.

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 9056
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: Replacing my TS-210

Post by OneCD » Fri May 07, 2021 4:22 am

D0909 wrote:
Fri May 07, 2021 4:19 am
One level up would be the TS231 I guess.
Nope, the TS-231 (released in 2014) has lower specs than the TS-230 (released in 2020). QNAP's model-numbering is a little wacky. :lol:

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

D0909
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:02 pm

Re: Replacing my TS-210

Post by D0909 » Fri May 07, 2021 5:18 am

Got it. So, if I want to build in some space to grow into for upcoming years next option up would be the TS-251D. Looked at some comparison/review video's and see strong competition. Yet again, Qnap did not let me down in past years. Thanks.

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 9056
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: Replacing my TS-210

Post by OneCD » Fri May 07, 2021 5:31 am

Yep, the TS-251D is fine. Although, it's not the "natural successor" and is around twice the price of the TS-230 (at-least, in my local market). ;)

Disk migration between the TS-210 and TS-251D is also supported with caveats: https://www.qnap.com/en-au/nas-migratio ... on=ts-251d

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 23149
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Replacing my TS-210

Post by dolbyman » Fri May 07, 2021 5:47 am

Best to not migrate the disks and get new ones and use the 210 as a backup target after data migration.

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 9056
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: Replacing my TS-210

Post by OneCD » Fri May 07, 2021 5:53 am

dolbyman wrote:
Fri May 07, 2021 5:47 am
Best to not migrate the disks and get new ones and use the 210 as a backup target after data migration.
+1

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

D0909
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:02 pm

Re: Replacing my TS-210

Post by D0909 » Fri May 07, 2021 2:58 pm

OneCD wrote:
Fri May 07, 2021 5:31 am
Yep, the TS-251D is fine. Although, it's not the "natural successor" and is around twice the price of the TS-230 (at-least, in my local market). ;)

Disk migration between the TS-210 and TS-251D is also supported with caveats: https://www.qnap.com/en-au/nas-migratio ... on=ts-251d
Yes, understand your comment on price and when spreading over 5+ years that is acceptable for me.

Thanks for the compatibility link

D0909
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:02 pm

Re: Replacing my TS-210

Post by D0909 » Fri May 07, 2021 3:05 pm

dolbyman wrote:
Fri May 07, 2021 5:47 am
Best to not migrate the disks and get new ones and use the 210 as a backup target after data migration.
Thanks. Using a cloud back-up option so I do not think I would need another target back-up. I guess your suggestion also has to do with aging disks. Then again, it is setup as RAID-1 and I replaced disks 2-3 years back. I will definitely consider it.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 23149
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Replacing my TS-210

Post by dolbyman » Fri May 07, 2021 8:16 pm

mainly because swapping the disks will create a legacy volume

you want to start from scratch

D0909
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:02 pm

Re: Replacing my TS-210

Post by D0909 » Sat May 08, 2021 12:26 am

dolbyman wrote:
Fri May 07, 2021 8:16 pm
mainly because swapping the disks will create a legacy volume

you want to start from scratch
I've read about this legacy volume. Maybe good moment to increase TB's. Thanks.

D0909
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:02 pm

Re: Replacing my TS-210

Post by D0909 » Sat May 08, 2021 5:14 pm

Ordered the TS-251D-4G with Seagate Ironwolf disks. I should be good for upcoming years again

Post Reply

Return to “Presales”