TS-231p / p2 various questions about capabilities

Interested in our products? Post your questions here. Let us answer before you buy.
magixen
New here

TS-231p / p2 various questions about capabilities

Post by magixen »

hello everyone, im quite new to the NAS market and i have quite a few questions, what exactly i can do, besides installing apps from the appcenter.
i havent got my nas yet and would choose which one i will get in the end based on your answers. ive tried to gather as much information as i could before posting here but there were still things which confused me.

lets start with the cpu, the Annapurna Labs AL-212 or AL-314 are ARM Cortex-A15 which use the ARMv7-A architecture. Is ARMv7-A covering all of base ARMv7 base instructionset, or are the some limitations? actually the easier way to ask, can i run any program compiled for ARMv7 run on these nas?

next is JRE, in the APPCENTER i found that there are packages for JRE until QTS4.2, but not onwards. since oracle is also compiling for arm can i install these?

what are the differences between embedded linux compared to a full linux(arch/centos/debian)? is it like rasbarian? is something like systemd included? packagemanger? basicly since i can connect to the nas via ssh, does it behave like a real linux?

can the nas convert a NTFS filesystem into EXT4 without reformatting the whole drive?

by the way i want to populate th nas with seagates ironwolf, on the compatibility list they are listed, so far so good. but what is open is what transferrate can the nas reach with only one gbit cable connected?, my switch has no more ports left

basicly my goal is to use the nas more as a server than a nas. if im restricted in different ways so that i cant use to my needs i would go for the 231p which saves me quite a few bucks, but if im free to do what i want i would go with the p2 which would be more futureproof.

english isnt my first language, i apologize if something isnt clear.
sincerely magixen