Page 1 of 1

Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:15 am
by Sushanth.reddy
Hi,

I am planning to purchase one of the models,

TS-1277(Ryzen)
TVS-1282T3 (Intel)

Does any of the above models support GPU support for Plex transcoding ? I know that 1277 support GPU pass through for VM.

Is it possible to remove one of the Thunderbolt card on TVS-1282T3 and install a GPU card ?

Appreciate your response.

Re: Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:21 am
by dolbyman
both units should have plenty of raw CPU power for software transcoding .. how many clients are you thinking of ?

Re: Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:50 pm
by Moogle Stiltzkin
I don't have plex pass (which has HW transcoding), but i don't think it has GPU HW transcoding yet. only has quicksync support and thats for intel cpus.

But software transcoding (x264) should work just fine because it has a very good cpu for it. it's better than hw accelerated for quality.

though it is marketed for transcoding, but that utilizes the native qnap app that requires codexpack qpkg, for video station or hdstation to be utilizing gpu acceleration for live transcoding if i'm not mistaken. you can contact their marketing to double check.

other than that you can also use graphics card for VM.


If you need thunderbolt 3, go for intel. If not required, go for ryzen (has more cpu threads and makes it a better workstation especially for VM).

Re: Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 11:48 pm
by Sushanth.reddy
Just curious does DS-1685 comes with upgradeable processor ?

Re: Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 12:36 am
by Trexx
See good overview quick comparison:
viewtopic.php?f=45&t=134062&start=45#p647695

The only "officially" supported option for Plex HW transcoding right now is Intel QSV (requires PlexPass). There may be an option to do GPU transcoding w/Plex inside a Windows VM on NVidia cards, but haven't validated if that actually works or not at this point. Even if it did, it would not be a supported config by Plex.

That being said, the x77 Ryzens have PLENTY of horsepower for Plex transcoding (other forums users have reported running 3 simultaneous transcodes w/CPU to spare) and in general SW Transcoding produces better video quality than HW transcoding.

GPU transcoding in Plex is waiting on Intel to release libva 2.1 this month, which then gives them the building blocks to start working on options for other GPU platforms (AMD/NVidia/etc.) w/o custom non-reusable work. Keep in mind that NVidia limits you at (2) concurrent HW transcodes in their consumer GPU's.

If you are removing the Thunderbolt card, go with either the TS-1277 or TVS-1282 (non-T3 model).

Re: Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 1:06 am
by gggplaya
Just remember, we're talking 1080p transcoding because 4k transcoding in real time is a whole nother ball game.

On my main desktop, I stopped GPU transcoding and solely transcoding with my 8 core 16 thread Ryzen CPU using Wondershare video converter. It uses all threads and does it faster than my GPU does now, but with a better picture.

The problem I have with GPU transcoding is the way it does it, by separating the picture into blocks, say 24x24 for example, looking at each block in relation to the last frame and only transcoding the blocks that have changed. This is fine for drama movies, but when transcoding to lower bitrate(for my sons tablet) and in fast action scenes, you can really see the blocky action. Software transcoding does every frame, and lower bitrate movies still look fine.

Re: Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 3:20 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
someone posted pics for the ts-877 series here with also a brief review
viewtopic.php?f=45&t=137848


seems like a capable plex streaming nas for sure :]

Re: Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 3:24 am
by Trexx
gggplaya wrote:Just remember, we're talking 1080p transcoding because 4k transcoding in real time is a whole nother ball game.

On my main desktop, I stopped GPU transcoding and solely transcoding with my 8 core 16 thread Ryzen CPU using Wondershare video converter. It uses all threads and does it faster than my GPU does now, but with a better picture.

The problem I have with GPU transcoding is the way it does it, by separating the picture into blocks, say 24x24 for example, looking at each block in relation to the last frame and only transcoding the blocks that have changed. This is fine for drama movies, but when transcoding to lower bitrate(for my sons tablet) and in fast action scenes, you can really see the blocky action. Software transcoding does every frame, and lower bitrate movies still look fine.


Great call out g! Will have to look at Wondershare :)

Re: Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 7:28 am
by QNAPDanielFL
With QTS 4.3.4 you can use a GPU for QTS, including Linux station or HD station. Or you can use it for Virtualization station. If you use a GPU for QTS, and you run the PLEX app on QTS, would plex be able to use the GPU for hardware transcoding if you have a plex pass?

Re: Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:08 am
by Trexx
Daniel Francis-Lyon wrote:With QTS 4.3.4 you can use a GPU for QTS, including Linux station or HD station. Or you can use it for Virtualization station. If you use a GPU for QTS, and you run the PLEX app on QTS, would plex be able to use the GPU for hardware transcoding if you have a plex pass?


That’s true but only on select models at this time (ts-x77 and 1685 if I remember correctly).

Currently Plex qpkg can’t take advantage of the GPU card in this configuration even on the supported models.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:31 am
by marshalleq
Pretty sure the GPUs on plex are limited to two streams still anyway? Kinda makes it worthless. I ran an AMD Ryzen on plex for a while, even without the many endpoints that direct play the Ryzen is so grunty it's nearly overkill for Plex. I ended up putting Plex back on a 6 year old i7 as that handles plenty, even H265/HEVC. Though I'm not doing 4k.

I would absolutely love one of these NAS's - it's big advantage is you can centralise a lot of things that I currently have in different systems into one box. The price however isn't cheap in NZ. For what is meant to be a cheap processor, we're definitely paying a premium so I'm keeping with my external boxes for now.

Re: Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:20 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
marshalleq wrote:Pretty sure the GPUs on plex are limited to two streams still anyway?


the way i read it was nvidia non quadro graphics card is capped at 2 streams. AMD cards don't have this limit.

nvidia is lately been getting strict by forcing users to go for their more expensive quadro series of cards :S


source
https://emby.media/community/index.php? ... anscoding/



i did not see a plex example, but in this vm one the ts-1277 was able to playback multiple videos at the same time

From Youtube.com

Re: Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:05 am
by Trexx
Nvidia Consumer cards are capped at 2 simultaneous HW transcodes, but not for AMD. That being said only NVidia cards are supported (on some models only) for QTS. So to run AMD, you are dealing with a VM and GPU pass through. Now Plex can use both HW and SW transcoding together. So for Nvidia cards, you would start with 2 HW transcodes and then switch the SW for #3+ until limit of CPU was reached.

That all being said, the only officially supported HW transcoding platform currently is Intel QSV although I have heard of people getting it to work with NVidia under Windows.

Unless you need multiple 4K real times, the new Ryzen based models have plenty of Umph to handle sw transcoding for Plex.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Re: Ryzen series and X82T3 series

Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 3:59 am
by marshalleq
That's interesting, the reason I wasn't using HW transcoding was because it was limited to two streams AND I read it wouldn't fall back to software afterward. I will have another look as this would be useful so the box can use the processor for other things. Will be interesting what it does with both NVIDIA card and Intel acceleration in the same box.