Question about x77 and m2 and video cards

Interested in our products? Post your questions here. Let us answer before you buy.
scsherman
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2019 10:40 am

Re: Question about x77 and m2 and video cards

Post by scsherman » Tue Jun 18, 2019 7:01 pm

schumaku wrote:
Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:29 pm
bapw@comcast.net wrote:I just find it strange that they want you to buy a 3 x4 4P card since according to them only work in slot 1 and stick that in the 3 x 8 slot.
It's not about the PCI slot specs - neither any QM2-4x-nnn nor the original QM2-2P, QM2-2S, QM2-2P10G1T and QM2-2S10G1T can mechanically fit in any other slot, the cards are physically to long.

Only the shorter QM2-2S-220A, QM2-2P-244A, QM2-2P-344 and the QM2-2P-384 mechanically fit (where the last one can be installed because of the PCIe slots are "open" design allowing to take cards with longer plugs, it will run as 3.0 x4).

To conclude - 4P and GPU expansion can't be combined, only 2S/2P (new shorter QM2 card design) and GPU can be combined.
Is it possible to populate all 3 PCIe ports as follows:
Slot 1: PCIe Gen3 (x8) = GPU
Slot 2: PCIe Gen3 (x4) = 10Gb Network
Slot 3: PCIE Gen2 (x4) = QM2-2S-220A

If so which of the 10Gb network cards will physically fit in the smaller slots. I would prefer a dual port SFP+, but 10GBASE-T and single port may have to do.

foguet
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 1:12 am

Re: TVS-471 and QM2-2P-244A

Post by foguet » Wed Aug 14, 2019 4:41 pm

MarkInEugene wrote:
Sat Dec 15, 2018 3:30 am
This NAS has two free PCIe slots: Gen 2 x 4 (Black) and Gen 3 x 8 (White).
I have a 10Gb NIC in the Gen 3 x 8 slot.
I just bought the QM2-2P-244A Gen 2 x 4 card, but it won't work in the Gen 2 x 4 PCIe slot?
When powered on, the NAS displays SYSTEM "BOOTING >>>>>>>>>>>>" indefinately until I unplug it?
Hey, did it work out for you? I'm going to buy the same card (I'll also buy the QM2-2P-344 card) and I'm afraid it won't work.

Currently I already have a graphics card on PCI1 (and because of that I have to return the QNAP card QM2-4P-384 because I do not fit physically (I did not read the forum before and the compatibility list did not indicate anything)
I don't have nothing in PCI2 and PCI3 now
Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
RAM: 2x 16Gb Crucial + 2x 4Gb DATA (QNAP Default)
GPU: GeForce GTX 1050

Old NAS: TS-453 Pro (16 Gb), TS-409 Pro

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 692
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: Question about x77 and m2 and video cards

Post by spikemixture » Thu Aug 15, 2019 6:26 pm

scsherman wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 7:01 pm
schumaku wrote:
Fri Jul 06, 2018 7:29 pm
bapw@comcast.net wrote:I just find it strange that they want you to buy a 3 x4 4P card since according to them only work in slot 1 and stick that in the 3 x 8 slot.
It's not about the PCI slot specs - neither any QM2-4x-nnn nor the original QM2-2P, QM2-2S, QM2-2P10G1T and QM2-2S10G1T can mechanically fit in any other slot, the cards are physically to long.

Only the shorter QM2-2S-220A, QM2-2P-244A, QM2-2P-344 and the QM2-2P-384 mechanically fit (where the last one can be installed because of the PCIe slots are "open" design allowing to take cards with longer plugs, it will run as 3.0 x4).

To conclude - 4P and GPU expansion can't be combined, only 2S/2P (new shorter QM2 card design) and GPU can be combined.
Is it possible to populate all 3 PCIe ports as follows:
Slot 1: PCIe Gen3 (x8) = GPU
Slot 2: PCIe Gen3 (x4) = 10Gb Network
Slot 3: PCIE Gen2 (x4) = QM2-2S-220A

If so which of the 10Gb network cards will physically fit in the smaller slots. I would prefer a dual port SFP+, but 10GBASE-T and single port may have to do.
The new 10gbe card ending in A is the shorter new one. and fits in my slot 2. slot 1 being the longer space. BUT I have the TVs 1282 but I think inside layout is the same.
Qnap TS-1277 1700 - 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid 5
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

Post Reply

Return to “Presales”