Page 2 of 2

Re: How to equip and setup an 872XT...

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 3:36 am
by bokr71
Hi Bob,

I know that the HP2915 is GigaBit switch which is why, if I were to go to 10GbE, I'd need to buy a 10GbE switch. This 10GbE switch would connect my QNAP and my Mac Pro, and I'd connect it the HP2915 as well, for the rest of my network.

If I understand you correct; as I am running macOS 10.14.2, I should be fine with putting the Sonnet Solo10G PCIe in my Sonnet Echo Express box, and that way have 10GbE Ethernet in my Mac Pro - even without upgrading my Echo Express box to TB3. TB2 is fast enough to handle the 10GbE speeds...

Re: How to equip and setup an 872XT...

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:31 pm
by CiASpook
To bad they didn't make a TVS-1272XT that would have been something that could have replaced my TVS-1282T3...

Re: How to equip and setup an 872XT...

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 1:47 am
by QNAPDanielFL
I think the TVS-872XT can replace your TVS-1282T3 since they have the same amount of 3.5" drive bays, and now that we have M.2 NVMe in the 872, there is no need for the 4 2.5" bays since NVMe is faster. And if you want more NVMe there is an open PCIe slot on the 872 so you could have up to 6 NVMe SSDs if you wanted.

Re: How to equip and setup an 872XT...

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:13 am
by bokr71
The TVS-872XT will certainly be faster than the TVS-1282T3, because of the upgraded CPU, RAM, and the native NVMe SSDs.