Page 1 of 2

Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 5:12 pm
by scsherman
When can I expect a Ryzen refresh for the standalone NAS lineup? Computex has now come and gone with QNAP not announcing anything significant...

Retail prices remain ridiculously high for a 3 year old processor, with no price drop since they were released. I have my eye on a TS-877, but would like at least a 2700, and would wait if Ryzen 3000 and PCIe 4.0 is on the road map. I just can't justify $2k for the older processor and shorter EOL. The rack mount series got the upgraded processors but you have to spend even more to get the 8c/16t 2700. ECC RAM support would be nice too since Ryzen has had this for a long time now.

It seems like too much of the focus at QNAP is on moonshot projects with AI and other expensive niche products. I would like to see more commitment to keeping the existing hardware lineups up to date. Maybe I am crazy and don't see where the industry is going. It seems strange to have a company working on AI/Deep Learning, weird Bots, and consumer NAS hardware all at the same time.

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 5:31 pm
by Moogle Stiltzkin
on the x77 series there was a silent cpu refresh
viewtopic.php?f=45&t=146977&p=708289&hi ... sh#p706943


but as someone else pointed out, you need to CLARIFY whether the model you are getting is coming with the refreshed cpu or not (assuming that your model got a refreshed updated cpu)
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=148892


For the record my ts-877 is using the ryzen gen1 because i bought early. i don't particularly mind, there is always bound to be an update at some point :) tech moves fast.


yeah the pcie4 would definitely be useful for those using fast ssd m.2 nvme storage. but we got no news about any nas models supporting that just yet. maybe that is a next year thing perhaps?

ecc ram afaik is only on their enterprise models. yes it would be nice if that and the ZFS QES OS made it's way to the non enterprise models at some point. ZFS is very handy :)

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 8:48 pm
by scsherman
Thanks for the reply, but I can not find anything to indicate that the TS-877 received this CPU refresh other than the cryptic posts you mentioned.

Tech moves fast, but not that fast. It takes QNAP a whole year to even get Ryzen in a system then generations pass with no update. Maybe they have too much old stock sitting with their vendors? Maybe they are skipping right to 3rd Gen Ryzen? Maybe they are dedicating all of their available resources to AfoBot!

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:00 am
by rgarjr
its odd that on their website, it still lists the ryzen models with 1st gen. You probably won't see a Qnap Ryzen 3000 anytime soon.

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:50 pm
by spikemixture
CPU benchmark
Ryzen 7 1700 =13925
Ryzen 7 2700 =15085

No worth an upgrade IMO !

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 11:14 am
by spikemixture
rgarjr wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:00 am
its odd that on their website, it still lists the ryzen models with 1st gen. You probably won't see a Qnap Ryzen 3000 anytime soon.
Why is it odd?
From my information direct from Qnap there is no immediate upgrade planned.

Waiting for tech updates IMO is a waste of time. There will always be a faster, bigger, better version around the corner !1 :DD

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 4:49 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
And amd 5 1600 that got refreshed of sorts in 2019
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T3jtBRCTP-g


i'm wondering if these are making their way into the x77s?

in short though, this newer 1600 is still not better than a 2600, but it's definitely better than the older 1600.

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 11:53 am
by rgarjr
probably just a small boost, maybe not noticeable on a qnap

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 12:03 pm
by Moogle Stiltzkin
rgarjr wrote:
Tue Dec 24, 2019 11:53 am
probably just a small boost, maybe not noticeable on a qnap
yeah... true. i just merely mention it as a curiosity.

it would be interesting to know whether these NEW 1600s are making it's way into newer x77 models, or whether 2600 will be refreshed.

not that it matters much, just curious if anyone else happens to notice :'

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 3:11 pm
by rgarjr
I'm thinking maybe the x77 are coming with the 2600/2700 by now.

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 10:13 pm
by casw1000
Guys, I am with you all on this and waiting for the new Ryzen products. I spoke to someone in qnap uk, the only products that got the Ryzen 2xxx series was the rack mounts, all desktop ryzen's are gen 1 only. CES2020 just over 2 weeks away now, lets hope that our christmas wishes are answered.

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 4:47 pm
by casw1000
Well, I think the first signs of the new updates are already starting to show. Over at nascompares Rob talks about new expansion units and of particular interest to me is the 16 bay device. It looks like the TS-1677X but with a minor tweak, lockable drive caddies (trays). https://nascompares.com/2019/12/19/qnap ... r1200s-rp/

I know these are expansion units, and not something I am interested in, but new products are promising all the same. Also, there is no mention of these units on the global qnap site (under expansion units).

Fingers crossed.

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 5:51 pm
by Moogle Stiltzkin
casw1000 wrote:
Fri Dec 27, 2019 4:47 pm
...
p3r mentioned his thoughts on these new expansion bays
P3R wrote:
Fri Dec 20, 2019 9:59 pm

SFF-8088 is external mini-SAS.

These new external chassis connections mean 6 Gb/s per external disk bay. You'd need all SSDs to even come close to the maximum capacity.

I was very critical of the UX-800P because of the USB-bottleneck already with mechanical disks (in addition to it being overly expensive) but these new products should, at least in theory, have the same performance as internal storage bays (assuming the PCIe can keep up).
viewtopic.php?f=45&t=152280#p737799


i have a hdd docker usb, but i wonder if this new expansion bays are better with this mini sas cable. Then you can e.g. insert hdd into this expansion module, then run the vendor diagnostic tool to run tests in case it's suspected that there is anything wrong with the hdd.

Then you don't have to plug the hdd into your pc.

or it can be used normally for it's intended purpose as a hdd slot for storage device.

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 7:49 pm
by casw1000
My bad. apologies.

Re: Ryzen Refresh

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 8:17 pm
by Moogle Stiltzkin
not really sure that an apology is needed, but... you are forgiven :}