TVS-h1288x / TVS-h1688x

Interested in our products? Post your questions here. Let us answer before you buy.
casw1000
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 8:46 pm

Re: TVS-h1288x / TVS-h1688x

Post by casw1000 » Sun Mar 21, 2021 2:00 am

SR22, exactly, I don't want to add insult to injury, but I was very glad it came with the bracket. I know there was some comments saying that maybe they didn't need to include them, but I disagreed. If I am honest, it does look as thought the person to built the NAS wrapped the bracket and screw into a static bag, then added it with the bag of screws that comes with the manual etc.

casw1000
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 8:46 pm

Re: TVS-h1288x / TVS-h1688x

Post by casw1000 » Sun Mar 21, 2021 9:06 pm

Oh great, feeling really burnt, again. I have spent the last 24hrs backing up all my data to external USB's, which I am still a long way from being completed. When I read another users post about surv station not being supported on QuTS, I used QVR PRO on my TS-453, I have 8 4K IP cameras and it worked great, until the old nas died. So, now I have the perfect high end nas, I find that qvr pro is not supported on ZFS. But, I can pay out roughly another £10 (ish) per month for the 6 licenses that I need to purchase. Well thats just **. Really annoyed about this to be honest, I wanted zfs for the many benefits, but we are being forced into the subscription model for something that was free before. :cry: :twisted:

I dont want to 'down grade' to qts operating system, otherwise what was the point in getting this server. Am I the only one that feels like this?

casw1000
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 8:46 pm

Re: TVS-h1288x / TVS-h1688x

Post by casw1000 » Sun Mar 21, 2021 11:39 pm

Discussing this qvr pro with another member on the forums, they did get it working by installing manually, but they believe this would not have official support. So I am going to give it a try, I have fully backed up the old data and currently reinitialized the nas to install QuTS. Fingers crossed as I really want this to work.

casw1000
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 8:46 pm

Re: TVS-h1288x / TVS-h1688x

Post by casw1000 » Wed Apr 07, 2021 3:32 am

I wanted to update my last few posts, in case anyone else considers these high end nas. Manually installing the QVR Pro worked a treat, just dont specify QuTS as the OS. I currently still have 16GB ram which is coping fine for now. I am not using dedupe features yet, so its not a big issue. I installed QuMagie and thats working fine. Overall, this NAS is really impressive in terms of performance, if anything, I need to invest in some new higher performance drives and it will then be really sweet. I will install another 64GB ram, but I am not in a rush. Coming from a quad core celeron to this, has made a massive difference to my plex and other apps. BTW, I still had buffering on plex, until I installed a SSD cache, now buffering is not very noticeable now. Just thought I would share my first impressions. I really like this nas, just glad I got it at pre-price rise money.

QNAPDanielFL
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:09 am

Re: TVS-h1288x / TVS-h1688x

Post by QNAPDanielFL » Wed Apr 07, 2021 8:12 am

"BTW, I still had buffering on plex, until I installed a SSD cache, now buffering is not very noticeable now."

Do you have an SSD pool for your OS + apps where the plex app is and you still had buffering before adding cache?
Or is the plex app running on HDD storage that has cache applied to it?

casw1000
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 8:46 pm

Re: TVS-h1288x / TVS-h1688x

Post by casw1000 » Wed Apr 07, 2021 3:59 pm

So I built the nas with a pair of samsung 870 2.5" ssd's in Raid-1 as my first pool to force OS and Apps. I knew the Plex DB gets quite large, so nothing short of ssd would be beneficial. The data, as in the library's are not on the quickest of hdd's, so this might also be a contributing factor. I thought at first it was the native quality of my 4K rips which was pulling 100Mbs+ but then when running some tests on basic dvd rips, I still had a similar experience. So, I installed a QM2-2P10G1TA card recovered from my old NAS, installed 2x 512GB nvme drives and used that as a cache. This improved things no end, and my family commented that something I did stopped the buffering. For those wondering, I didn't install into the 2x NVME slots as I want to keep that for a larger SSD config.

Just a note to say that when I rip my DVD/Blu-Rays/4K's I keep everything to maximum quality as I dont care so much on storage space, but more so on the original quality. I have to say, this is a really good nas, very impressed with it.

Post Reply

Return to “Presales”