Old Mediasonic Enclosure Died. Questions about Upgrading With QNAP

Interested in our products? Post your questions here. Let us answer before you buy.
chuquy
First post

Old Mediasonic Enclosure Died. Questions about Upgrading With QNAP

Post by chuquy »

Caveat: I'm not tech savvy and have no plans or time to be. Please go easy on me.

After eight years, the 4-bay Mediasonic eSATA, USB 2.0, Firewire 400/800 - HFR2-S3B enclosure I used for my multimedia server appears to have died. It seems to be an electric/power problem. All of the 3TB HDDs were fine. One day, the fan wouldn't work and then it wouldn't power on. I took out the HDDs and it still wouldn't power on.

This was my setup:
4-bay enclosure (Mediasonic) with 3TB WD HDDs in each bay, in a RAID 5 Array. I also have a separate HDD Dock with another 3TB HDD (it still works fine). I attached both via USB to an iMac, which runs Plex server. I access my media using the Plex app on an Apple TV over wifi. My Apple TV is connected to an old Sony HDTV.

My first priority is to save the data on the HDDs. My second priority is to upgrade my setup. I have questions about achieving both priorities.

Priority 1 Questions:
1. What is the best way to save, restore and protect my HDDs? Do I need to buy the same Mediasonic enclosure I had before, set it to RAID5, and then plug them in? Or can I buy a new enclosure from QNAP, set it to RAID5, and then plug them in? Or, when I plugin my HDDs, do I run the risk of them being reformatted? That'd be a disaster. Is there another safer or better way to save and then transfer all my media on my 4 HDDs?

Goal 2 Questions: