From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Interested in our products? Post your questions here. Let us answer before you buy.
Post Reply
stanzani
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:12 am

From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Post by stanzani » Thu Mar 11, 2021 4:20 pm

I want to clear my setup, which currently is as following
- NAS0: TS-219P with QTS 3.3 (2x 4T HDD in RAID1)
- NAS1: TS-251+ with QTS 4.5.2 (2x 4T HDD in RAID1)
moving to a 4 bay equivalent or better. I am considering TS459P or even TS859 PRO (I found a bargain @459eu used) whenere I want to replicate the origal seup
- bay 1-2 in RAID-1 same as NAS0
- bay 3-4 in RAID-1 same as NAS1
- bay 5 in RAID-0 (backup of bay 1-2)
- bay 6 in RAID-1 (backup of bay 3-4)
- bay 7-9 spare
Please advoce (also on the new configuration if a better one is suggested by you experts) ansd on the NAS model in case
Thanks much

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 22760
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Post by dolbyman » Thu Mar 11, 2021 8:34 pm

never backup internally
dont buy eol units ...they have no more support

why the weird config? put all drives in one array and do external backups

stanzani
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:12 am

Re: From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Post by stanzani » Thu Mar 11, 2021 9:44 pm

eol units are cheap and I am aware of the risk. I currently have NAS0 which is EOL which works perfectly. I jyst wanto to use one NAS instead of two. Provided the can un QTS 4.5.x I am ok
Moreover disks in NAS0 and NAS1 have data inside so I am scary of loss them (Ihave a backup anyway)
Finally: this is a public forum with private user so I am aware I cannot count on QNAP for official support, so I ask to private users instead.
TS-453 Pro
T3-531

User avatar
jaysona
Been there, done that
Posts: 665
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:26 am
Location: Somewhere in the Great White North

Re: From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Post by jaysona » Fri Mar 12, 2021 12:50 am

stanzani wrote:
Thu Mar 11, 2021 9:44 pm
eol units are cheap and I am aware of the risk. I currently have NAS0 which is EOL which works perfectly.
I completely agree with you on this one, I have been purchasing used units over the past six months as part of my storage and server consolation project. Used NAS servers are cheaper than new, and I find the older NAS servers to be better built and more solid than the current models on the market.

The TS-859 will not run QTS 4.5.2.x, the latest QTS version for the TS-859 is QTS 4.2.6.

If you really want QTS 4.5.2.x then you will need to find a used TS-853 or TVS-871. I'd avoid the TS-x53 Pro series since they have the dreaded Celeron time bomb issue.

As for the disk and volume layout. Do not perform in-unit backups, if the unit dies, then the backups become difficult to get at.

As I read your post, you have a total of 4 x 4TB disks, two disks in two units configure as RAID 1 for each.

So, why not try the following:

- install two new 4TB disks in the new unit, RAID1.
- copy the data from the TS-219 to the new unit.
- install one disk from the TS-219 in to the new unit.
- convert the RAId1 to RAID5.
- install the remaining disk from the TS-219 in to the new unit.
- expand the RAID 5 array (you now have 4 x 4TB disk).
- copy the data from the TS-251+ to the new unit.
- insert one drive from the TS-251+ in the new unit, expand the array.
- insert the remaining drive from the TS-251+ in to the new unit, expand the array.

You have how 6 x 4TB disks in your 8 bay unit with two bays remaining for any sort of future use. Just keep in mind that the more storage space you have, the longer backup will take. ;)
H/W: TS-219 Pro / TS-269 Pro / TS-253 Pro (8Gig) / TS-509 Pro x2 / TS-569 Pro
H/W: TS-670 Pro (i7-3770S 16Gig) x2 / TS-853 Pro (8Gig) / TVS-871 Pro (i7-4790S 16Gig)
O/S: Slackware 14.2 / MS Windows 7-64 (x5)
Router1: Asus RT-AC86U - Asuswrt-Merlin - 384.19
Router2: Asus RT-AC68U - DD-WRT v3.0-r39960M kongac
Router3: Linksys WRT1900AC - DD-WRT v3.0-r43028 std
Router4: Asus RT-AC66U - FreshTomato v2020.7
Misc: Popcorn Hour A-110/WN-100, Pinnacle Show Center 250HD, Roku SoundBridge Radio (all retired)

stanzani
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:12 am

Re: From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Post by stanzani » Fri Mar 12, 2021 1:01 am

Thanks jason this is what I call a polite, open, rusted and clear reply
It looks like a used TS453 ot TS451+ will fit for me (I really do not need 8 bays, I just found a used cheap offering)
A kudo for you :)
TS-453 Pro
T3-531

User avatar
jaysona
Been there, done that
Posts: 665
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:26 am
Location: Somewhere in the Great White North

Re: From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Post by jaysona » Fri Mar 12, 2021 1:11 am

stanzani wrote:
Fri Mar 12, 2021 1:01 am
It looks like a used TS453 will fit for me
If you go the TS-453 route, keep the following thread in mind.
viewtopic.php?t=135089

I'd say using the TS-453 is using a time bomb. I got burned with a used TS-853 Pro - worked fine until a reboot, and would never boot up again due to the Celeron issue. I was planning on getting rid of it anyway, and it was just being used a seedbox, so being off-line for a few days was not an issue for me.
H/W: TS-219 Pro / TS-269 Pro / TS-253 Pro (8Gig) / TS-509 Pro x2 / TS-569 Pro
H/W: TS-670 Pro (i7-3770S 16Gig) x2 / TS-853 Pro (8Gig) / TVS-871 Pro (i7-4790S 16Gig)
O/S: Slackware 14.2 / MS Windows 7-64 (x5)
Router1: Asus RT-AC86U - Asuswrt-Merlin - 384.19
Router2: Asus RT-AC68U - DD-WRT v3.0-r39960M kongac
Router3: Linksys WRT1900AC - DD-WRT v3.0-r43028 std
Router4: Asus RT-AC66U - FreshTomato v2020.7
Misc: Popcorn Hour A-110/WN-100, Pinnacle Show Center 250HD, Roku SoundBridge Radio (all retired)

stanzani
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:12 am

Re: From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Post by stanzani » Fri Mar 12, 2021 1:24 am

Bottom line is that a 4 bay NAS running QTS 4.5.2 which get rid of the infamous celeron is TVS-471 with a G3250 ... which is expensive and I do not need 4K playback
I cannot find a used 4 bay NAS celeron free ...
I like QTS 4.5.2.x to be more in advance with upgrades but I do not have specific needs ,, just running QVR Pro for surveillance ...
TS-453 Pro
T3-531

stanzani
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:12 am

Re: From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Post by stanzani » Tue Mar 16, 2021 4:44 pm

OK Iam nearly decided to go with a used TS453 Pro ... This is a 4 bay NAS though so be so kind to suggest a migration path from the pair of 2 bays raid 1 NAS to a single 4 bay unit (RAID5 I suppose). Obviously I can backup the data of the nas pair to 2 4TB backup external unit (this is in place already) but if there is something smarting and created this is welcome :)
TS-453 Pro
T3-531

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 9878
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Wed Mar 17, 2021 4:24 pm

if you're buying old second hand models keep in mind they MAY be EOL
https://www.qnap.com/en/product/eol.php


meaning either you no longer get latest qts features, or worse you no longer receive security patches. Just because it seemingly looks like a bargain, may not necessarily be.

If you are happy replacing eol models with a qts alternative then fine. just be mindful of that :X


raid5 4bay is usually great for most people, and those with budgets able to buy 3-4 hdds at minimum.

raid1 2 bay is for those that don't use so much space.

8bay nas is for raid6 for those that really need that much space that a 4bay model can't cope even after buying bigger capacity hdds.

that's pretty much it. don't buy something then later realize you got the wrong bay model with wrong cpu and other specs, and end up having to make another purchase so soon.

and you need to have a backup for your nas in some form
https://www.reddit.com/r/qnap/comments/ ... _a_backup/


for 4bay model i like something beefy like x73A series which have a ryzen cpu, and quts hero for zfs linux, and supports ecc ram.

cheaper than that is probly a x53D series. this has an intel celeron cpu

and cheaper than that is a 451 ...something :' (you have to double check what the latest 451 series are)
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 +16gb ddr4 Crucial+ QWA-AC2600 wireless+QXP PCIE
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[Backup] QNAP TL-D400S 2x 4TB WD Red Nas (WD40EFRX) 2x 4TB Seagate Ironwolf, Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-253D
[^] QNAP TS-228
[Mobile NAS] TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Qotom Pfsense|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Win10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review
https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

stanzani
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:12 am

Re: From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Post by stanzani » Thu Mar 18, 2021 10:48 pm

Since I have a TS251+ (which I am a happy user of... just seeking for a single 4 bay NAS), what about a TS-451+ compared to 439 and 459? I see it is not EOL and fully supported. I am confused by so many models ...
Thanks for your patience
TS-453 Pro
T3-531

stanzani
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:12 am

Re: From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Post by stanzani » Wed Mar 31, 2021 8:19 pm

I ended up to buy a TS-453 PRO @300eu + ss. No time bomb so far :) ... Should I apply the 100 ohm resistor fix to it ASAP or wait until the issue appear?

How much RAM expansion to 8 or 16G is worth the money for such a vintage unit?

I have a question: the plan is to use 4TB HDD: it is recommended they be identical? what happen if not? I want to move the HDD pairs of NAS0 and NAS1 into this new one? Simply the performances drop to the slowest HDD or there are further drawback? Disks are WD40EFRX-68N32N0 on NAS1 and Samsing ST-4000 on NAS-0

Thanks much
Last edited by stanzani on Thu Apr 01, 2021 5:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
TS-453 Pro
T3-531

stanzani
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:12 am

Re: From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Post by stanzani » Thu Apr 01, 2021 3:57 pm

@jasony

I need help in order to minimize the chance that something goes wrong. My new 4 bay NAS has been shipped with an 80 GB HDD just to make it working). I am reading this https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... -migration
What about this simplified migration path?

1- back up the data of both NAS on two external 4TB storage
2- install the four 4TB disks in the new unit, RAID5.
>>>>> i.e. power down the new NAS remove the 80G HDD and insert 2 4 TB HDD right? What happen at power up? will I be asked to format the HDDs? I would install FOUR HDDs will come from NAS1 or NAS0. I got now 12 TB of fresh space on the new NAS
3- copy the data from the external HDDs to the new unit.
4. move the two external HDD to NAS-0, which I will use as a backup (RAID-0 or JABOD if possible)
5. insert the 80 GB HDD to NAS-1 and sell it on ebay
TS-453 Pro
T3-531

stanzani
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:12 am

Re: From 2x 2 bay NAS to 4 (or 8?) bay migration path

Post by stanzani » Thu Apr 01, 2021 4:16 pm

I am following this link and I am more an more confused https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/knowledg ... ng-a-drive
I have no storage pool but just a static single data volume. Why should I create a storage pool at this point? I tried to create one but I am asked to select one disk (?) but no disk is reported ... They say that "storage pools are used to aggregate physical disk as a single storage space and provide reduntnd disk protection" ... but disks are already aggregate and what the ** does it meand "refundant disk protection"?
I have a 4.5.2 system here on NAS-1 (the the 451+)
I do not want to play around and mess up things

Thanks much
TS-453 Pro
T3-531

Post Reply

Return to “Presales”