Replacing System disk best practice!

Backup, Restore, Netbak Replicator, Cloud Storage Services
omdawe
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 4:18 pm

Replacing System disk best practice!

Postby omdawe » Tue Jul 03, 2018 4:07 pm

So i need change my system disk on my QNAP and i can't find the right information somewhere.

What is the best practice?

Turn off my QNAP and take the system disk out and the old system disk and the new disk on my computer and use some clone hard drive software?

Any advice is much appreciated!

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 3316
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Replacing System disk best practice!

Postby storageman » Tue Jul 03, 2018 4:50 pm

There is no "system" disk as such.
Model, firmware and RAID config?

ssuper2k
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 10:42 pm

Re: Replacing System disk best practice!

Postby ssuper2k » Tue Jul 03, 2018 9:37 pm

If you installed your nas initially as a single disk, the you have 1 system disk

If you installed your nas initially as a raid 1, the you have 2 'system' disks

If you installed your nas initially as a raid 5, the you have at least 3 'system' disks

-
I agree, there's no Qnap documentation on how to replace/restore these..

omdawe
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 4:18 pm

Re: Replacing System disk best practice!

Postby omdawe » Wed Jul 04, 2018 4:50 pm

I got a QNAP TS-851 with 8 disks but i installed the QNAP with 1 disk first so the main system is only on one disk. So Disk 1!

And this is the one i want to switch out!.

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 3316
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Replacing System disk best practice!

Postby storageman » Wed Jul 04, 2018 5:18 pm

You've lost us.
What RAID config do you have??

I repeat, there is no "system" disk as such.
There is a "system" volume that holds default shares and apps.
Then the OS or system is a striped mirrored partition across all disks regardless of the RAID configuration.

ssuper2k
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2015 10:42 pm

Re: Replacing System disk best practice!

Postby ssuper2k » Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:23 am

@omdawe:
Turn off the NAS, remove/extract that disk, see if NAS still boots-up.
If it does, then you have the system (volume) in more disks.
.

I have a tvs671, with raid 5 (x4), then added a raid 0 (2 disks) and it can't boot if I start the NAS with just the raid 0 disks.

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 10812
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York
Contact:

Re: Replacing System disk best practice!

Postby Don » Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:55 am

The best practice is to use RAID on all disks. There is no easy way to swap out a single disk especially the one that was used to build your system.
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature (upper right hand corner) before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from catastrophic system failure. One does not replace the other.

Bugs and feature requests need to be submitted to QNAP via their Helpdesk or Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.4.0486 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System) | 2 x M.2 NMVe RAID 1 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.3.4.0644 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2 RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 3316
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Replacing System disk best practice!

Postby storageman » Tue Jul 10, 2018 4:57 pm

ssuper2k wrote:@omdawe:
Turn off the NAS, remove/extract that disk, see if NAS still boots-up.
If it does, then you have the system (volume) in more disks.
.

I have a tvs671, with raid 5 (x4), then added a raid 0 (2 disks) and it can't boot if I start the NAS with just the raid 0 disks.


That should not be the case.
Do you mean not see the default shares and apps or not boot at all?
The (system) volume DOES NOT need to be present for a Qnap to boot.

I find this very hard to believe.

jeramie
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:18 am

Re: Replacing System disk best practice!

Postby jeramie » Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:59 am

i've got the same issue.

When i first got my TS-1635, i only had a single drive to play with and i popped it in not knowing that the nas was going to put system stuff onto that drive that couldn't be moved. pretty stupid of me yes, but also a poor design on qnaps part to not have a utility to move this system volume if needed.

Now i have a raid 5 volume as well as a couple single drive volumes, in addition to that single drive volume which contains my system file. I'd be very curious to see what options are available as well.

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 3316
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Replacing System disk best practice!

Postby storageman » Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:40 pm

jeramie wrote:i've got the same issue.

When i first got my TS-1635, i only had a single drive to play with and i popped it in not knowing that the nas was going to put system stuff onto that drive that couldn't be moved. pretty stupid of me yes, but also a poor design on qnaps part to not have a utility to move this system volume if needed.

Now i have a raid 5 volume as well as a couple single drive volumes, in addition to that single drive volume which contains my system file. I'd be very curious to see what options are available as well.


Hang on, what makes you say that?
There is enable Home Folder that can be changed to a different volume (with care)
There is migrate apps in app centre.
There is recreate default shares.
There is set media folder.

Actually it's not that difficult but clearly people need to plan carefully.

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 10812
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York
Contact:

Re: Replacing System disk best practice!

Postby Don » Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:56 pm

Not all apps provide the option to be moved.
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature (upper right hand corner) before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from catastrophic system failure. One does not replace the other.

Bugs and feature requests need to be submitted to QNAP via their Helpdesk or Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.4.0486 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System) | 2 x M.2 NMVe RAID 1 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.3.4.0644 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2 RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 3316
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Replacing System disk best practice!

Postby storageman » Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:01 pm

Don wrote:Not all apps provide the option to be moved.


Correct, but those without the move option can be reinstalled on the new volume.


Return to “Backup & Restore”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mousetick and 2 guests