ftp backup job on HybridBackup 3.0

Backup, Restore, Netbak Replicator, Cloud Storage Services
Post Reply
bodo_1987
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 3:03 pm

ftp backup job on HybridBackup 3.0

Post by bodo_1987 » Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:13 pm

Hi everybody,

I want to create a backup job to an external FTP or Samba server. According to the product page of HBS 3.0 this should be possible.https://www.qnap.com/solution/hbs3/en/

However, I can't find a setting like this in the configuration. The only categories I have, are the NAS category (with local NAS and remote NAS[RTRR]) and the cloud services.

The remote ftp/Samba/RSYNC options are available for synchronisation jobs, but unfortunately not for backup jobs.

Is this a feature not implemented yet for backups? If so, when will is it expected to be delivered?

Or is there a wrong setting/ missing configuration or whatever on my side?

I can add my FTP server as storage space - so they are working in general. Btw, what is the use case for the storage spaces? If I want to add a new backup/ sync job or whatever, I have to fill in my server settings anyway. There is probably something, I didn't get so far.

Regards,
Bodo_1987

P3R
Guru
Posts: 11125
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: ftp backup job on HybridBackup 3.0

Post by P3R » Fri Aug 09, 2019 10:38 pm

bodo_1987 wrote:
Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:13 pm
The remote ftp/Samba/RSYNC options are available for synchronisation jobs, but unfortunately not for backup jobs.
That's the way it is and always have been in HBS.

There's nothing preventing you from using a Sync server as a backup destination but you'll miss out on the more advanced backup features like versioning.
Is this a feature not implemented yet for backups? If so, when will is it expected to be delivered?
My guess is never but you need to ask Qnap for the future direction of HBS.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

bodo_1987
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 3:03 pm

Re: ftp backup job on HybridBackup 3.0

Post by bodo_1987 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:46 pm

P3R wrote:
Fri Aug 09, 2019 10:38 pm
bodo_1987 wrote:
Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:13 pm
The remote ftp/Samba/RSYNC options are available for synchronisation jobs, but unfortunately not for backup jobs.
That's the way it is and always have been in HBS.
According to the QNAP product page of HBS3, remote FTP, SAMBA und rsync is supported. https://www.qnap.com/solution/hbs3/en/ Just go to the supported cloud service section and you will find it in the first rows of the table..
HBS3andFTPBackup.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

P3R
Guru
Posts: 11125
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: ftp backup job on HybridBackup 3.0

Post by P3R » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:02 am

bodo_1987 wrote:
Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:46 pm
According to the QNAP product page of HBS3, remote FTP, SAMBA und rsync is supported.
Then if it doesn't work, you need to take that up with Qnap and have them fix it (or correct their marketing claims).
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

Post Reply

Return to “Backup & Restore”