HBS3-ACTIVE SYNC . . ?

Backup, Restore, Netbak Replicator, Cloud Storage Services
Post Reply
HDX-NAS
Starting out
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:41 pm

HBS3-ACTIVE SYNC . . ?

Post by HDX-NAS » Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:58 pm

Hi All.
Previous to HBS3 we had an active two way sync between a local folder & a folder on our 2nd NAS system at different site.
Change something in either of them, any time & it would instantly be reflected in the other.

Since updating to HBS3 this sync job has ceased to work. .
So I deleted it & made a new active sync job. .
Problems are:
1 - it seems to be only one way
2 - it's not "active" . . I haven't put anything in the "schedule" my thinking being because it's "active" & therefore running all the time. .

What's going on . Any help much appreciated . .

P3R
Guru
Posts: 10999
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: HBS3-ACTIVE SYNC . . ?

Post by P3R » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:13 pm

HDX-NAS wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:58 pm
So I deleted it & made a new active sync job. .
Problems are:
1 - it seems to be only one way
If you created a an Active Sync Job I'm not surprised that it's one-way. Active Sync could also (maybe better?) have been called a Pull Sync Job as it's a pull (data incoming) one-way sync it does.

The job type named One-way Sync Job is a push (data outgoing) one-way sync.

What you should create ia a Two-way Sync Job:
HBS3_2-way.jpg
2 - it's not "active" . . I haven't put anything in the "schedule" my thinking being because it's "active" & therefore running all the time. .
Both Active (Pull) Sync and Two-way Sync Jobs need to be either scheduled (you can make it repeat with an interval of your choice) or manually started. Neither job type is constantly running.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

HDX-NAS
Starting out
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:41 pm

Re: HBS3-ACTIVE SYNC . . ?

Post by HDX-NAS » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:22 pm

P3R wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:13 pm
HDX-NAS wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:58 pm
So I deleted it & made a new active sync job. .
Problems are:
1 - it seems to be only one way
If you created a an Active Sync Job I'm not surprised that it's one-way. Active Sync could also (maybe better?) have been called a Pull Sync Job as it's a pull (data incoming) one-way sync it does.

The job type named One-way Sync Job is a push (data outgoing) one-way sync.

What you should create ia a Two-way Sync Job:
HBS3_2-way.jpg
2 - it's not "active" . . I haven't put anything in the "schedule" my thinking being because it's "active" & therefore running all the time. .
Both Active (Pull) Sync and Two-way Sync Jobs need to be either scheduled (you can make it repeat with an interval of your choice) or manually started. Neither job type is constantly running.
Hi P3R.

Thank you for your clear & succinct reply. .
All is clear now. . . I will set up a 2 way sync job. . .
May I ask though, previous to HBS3, we did have a job syncing/mirroring these 2 folders that I thought was continuously doing so . .
Is that now no longer possible ?
.[/quote]Both Active (Pull) Sync and Two-way Sync Jobs need to be either scheduled (you can make it repeat with an interval of your choice) or manually started. Neither job type is constantly running.
So can a one way job be continuous ?
Last edited by HDX-NAS on Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

P3R
Guru
Posts: 10999
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: HBS3-ACTIVE SYNC . . ?

Post by P3R » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:31 pm

I have never used 2-way sync so I don't know what was possible in previous HBS-versions.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

HDX-NAS
Starting out
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:41 pm

Re: HBS3-ACTIVE SYNC . . ?

Post by HDX-NAS » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:40 pm

Ok.
Thanks.

Post Reply

Return to “Backup & Restore”