Raid 1 Netgear ReadyNAS FAIL

Backup, Restore, Netbak Replicator, Cloud Storage Services
Post Reply
hando
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 7:45 pm

Raid 1 Netgear ReadyNAS FAIL

Post by hando » Mon Oct 21, 2019 8:08 pm

Hi All,

First time poster. I had a Netgear 2 Bay NAS which stopped booting up a couple of weeks ago due to a power interruption. I had the 2X 4TB drives inside on a RAID 1 config. I have no reason to believe they were corrupted.

I tried a few times to get the data off them using Virtual box running linux on both a windows and Mac and connecting to the drives in an external drive dock but I have had no luck and pretty much no idea what I was doing either having never used linux before.

I purchased a new QNAP TS251b and was hoping to just slot the old disks in and see all my data. I have not been able to do that. I googled a bit and found some data recovery software (disk internals) and using the usb external dock I could see the drive but was not able to access anything inside.

Any advice would be very greatly appreciated as the data is pretty much everything that is important to me.

Cheers
hando

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15267
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Raid 1 Netgear ReadyNAS FAIL

Post by dolbyman » Mon Oct 21, 2019 9:11 pm

if you installed the drives in a qnap ..and went throught with initial setup, then the drives were formatted

there is a clear warning during setup...you cant read/use foreign data disk with a qnap

hando
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 7:45 pm

Re: Raid 1 Netgear ReadyNAS FAIL

Post by hando » Tue Oct 22, 2019 6:26 am

Thanks dolbyman for your reply.

I didn't do the formatting. When I got to that step in the setup, I took the drives out and completed the setup without them in there just to be sure.

So any idea how I can extract the data please?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15267
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Raid 1 Netgear ReadyNAS FAIL

Post by dolbyman » Tue Oct 22, 2019 6:39 am

that would be a question for the ReadyNAS forum .. no idea what formatting they use on the drives .. you probably need a linux computer

hando
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2019 7:45 pm

Re: Raid 1 Netgear ReadyNAS FAIL

Post by hando » Tue Oct 22, 2019 6:57 am

ok, I will see their forum.

I was under the impression that all NAS systems used linux... What is the QNAP format?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15267
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Raid 1 Netgear ReadyNAS FAIL

Post by dolbyman » Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:09 am

QNAP uses a modified ubuntu, but the disk volumes vary depending on your choice (always linux mdraid as base)

Static volume (Plain ext4)
thick or thin pools (lvm)

so it's not THAT easy

Post Reply

Return to “Backup & Restore”