Backup, Restore, Netbak Replicator, Cloud Storage Services
foz111
Getting the hang of things

4TB HDD SMART Error

Post by foz111 »

Qnap TS253 pro NAS
FW: 4.4.1.1117
1 x 4TB WD Red HDD

As of this morning i got a SMART error message: "One or more disk S.M.A.R.T normalised attributes are below the manufactures threshold, please consider replacing the disk".

i ran disk heath check and found no bad sectors found.
i have ordered a new one as this hold family photos etc etc that can't be replaced.
It will arrive tomorrow.
question because this has never been configured without any raid (as currently only 1 drive fitted) what is my best options?

would you recommend simply copying data over to new drive or fit it and set up as a raid with it having no bad sectors?
i have very little experience with this NAS its only really ever been used for file storage and CCTV capture of camera's it just runs never needed to really mess with it.
Thanks in advance for any input and advise you give to me, and possibly any instruction or links to tutorials you provide.
TS-253D
QTS 5.0.1.2376 Firmware
P3R
Guru

Re: 4TB HDD SMART Error

Post by P3R »

foz111 wrote: Tue Dec 03, 2019 8:03 pm As of this morning i got a SMART error message: "One or more disk S.M.A.R.T normalised attributes are below the manufactures threshold, please consider replacing the disk".
A very important thing to know is what S.M.A.R.T. attribute QTS is referring to so check that (Storage & Snapshots, Storage, Disks/VJBOD, Disk Health, SMART Information).
i have ordered a new one as this hold family photos etc etc that can't be replaced.
It was to avoid this situation that dolbyman advised you to do external backups and RAID 1 back in 2016. :wink:
question because this has never been configured without any raid (as currently only 1 drive fitted) what is my best options?
Your first priority should be to make sure that you get an external backup of your data as quickly as possible.