Postpone Shutdown HBS3

Backup, Restore, Netbak Replicator, Cloud Storage Services
Post Reply
User avatar
joelang1699
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:33 am

Postpone Shutdown HBS3

Post by joelang1699 » Wed Jul 08, 2020 10:45 am

I have a two Qnaps using HBS 3, one backing up to the other which boots up once a week to receive backups.

There's an option in the power settings to postpone the shutdown when replication job is active which doesn't function with incoming jobs (so it seems).

Is there a way to have backup NAS shutdown after the incoming jobs are complete? Some weeks there's not alot to backup, the NAS just sits drawing power unnecessarily when it could have been powered down.

The only option I can think of is to have the backup NAS perform the actual sync duty.
Regards
Joe


TVS-EC1080 32Gb Ram 10x WD60EFRX Raid 6

TS-1079 Pro 16Gb Ram 10x WD60EFRX Raid 6

TS-879 Pro 2Gb Ram 3 X WD60EFRX Raid 5

TVS-863 4Gb Ram 3 X WD60EFRX Raid 5

P3R
Guru
Posts: 12293
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: Postpone Shutdown HBS3

Post by P3R » Thu Jul 09, 2020 5:13 am

joelang1699 wrote:
Wed Jul 08, 2020 10:45 am
Is there a way to have backup NAS shutdown after the incoming jobs are complete?
None that I can think of.
The only option I can think of is to have the backup NAS perform the actual sync duty.
Yes that's possible if you only use Sync jobs and not Backup jobs. To do a pull sync you would choose to create an Active Sync Job.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

User avatar
joelang1699
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:33 am

Re: Postpone Shutdown HBS3

Post by joelang1699 » Fri Jul 10, 2020 12:53 am

I'll give that a shot. I'll post my results.
Regards
Joe


TVS-EC1080 32Gb Ram 10x WD60EFRX Raid 6

TS-1079 Pro 16Gb Ram 10x WD60EFRX Raid 6

TS-879 Pro 2Gb Ram 3 X WD60EFRX Raid 5

TVS-863 4Gb Ram 3 X WD60EFRX Raid 5

User avatar
joelang1699
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:33 am

Re: Postpone Shutdown HBS3

Post by joelang1699 » Thu Jul 16, 2020 3:16 am

Confirmed as functioning perfectly!

The NAS shutdown two minutes after the backup job was complete which was many hours after the scheduled time.
Regards
Joe


TVS-EC1080 32Gb Ram 10x WD60EFRX Raid 6

TS-1079 Pro 16Gb Ram 10x WD60EFRX Raid 6

TS-879 Pro 2Gb Ram 3 X WD60EFRX Raid 5

TVS-863 4Gb Ram 3 X WD60EFRX Raid 5

P3R
Guru
Posts: 12293
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: Postpone Shutdown HBS3

Post by P3R » Thu Jul 16, 2020 4:15 am

Great! :D
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

Post Reply

Return to “Backup & Restore”