How to mount Time Machine data from TS-419

Backup, Restore, Netbak Replicator, Cloud Storage Services
Post Reply
mklengel
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:20 pm

How to mount Time Machine data from TS-419

Post by mklengel » Thu Nov 10, 2011 1:08 am

Hi there,

the combination Time Machine@Lion is perfectly working with the TS-419.

Now the problem: if Time Machine is not active the Time Machine Volume is not mounted on my mac. Its only mounted during runtime of Time Machine.

Therefore I want to mount the Time Machine data via AFP on my Mac manually, preferable with double-clicking an alias to the sparsebundle disk image which is created for Time Machine on the NAS.

How can this be done?

Thanks in advance
Michael

kyle0r
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 7:31 pm

Re: How to mount Time Machine data from TS-419

Post by kyle0r » Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:03 am

With my NAS, I was able to run the following from my MAC (Leopard) to mount the Time Machine afp share.
Once mounted, you can use hdiutil or Finder to mount the .sparsebundle(s) located on the afp share

Code: Select all

mount_afp afp://TimeMachine:**PROTECTED**@hostname/TMBackup /Volumes/somefolder


Notes
TimeMachine is the username, specified in the NAS Time Machine cfg
**PROTECTED** is the password , specified in the NAS Time Machine cfg
hostname is the hostname of your NAS
TMBackup is the Display Name, specified in the NAS Time Machine cfg
/Volumes/somefolder is a folder to mount to

mklengel
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:20 pm

Re: How to mount Time Machine data from TS-419

Post by mklengel » Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:53 am

Thank you very much - it works!

kyle0r
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 7:31 pm

Re: How to mount Time Machine data from TS-419

Post by kyle0r » Tue Dec 13, 2011 2:21 pm

Sweet :)

This feature isn't that well documented it seems, glad the shared helped out!

Rexxyboy
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 7:02 pm

Re: How to mount Time Machine data from TS-419

Post by Rexxyboy » Wed Apr 04, 2012 6:50 pm

Hi kyleOr, i get an error, "..The mountpoint: /Volumes/folder does not exist, realpath returns 2.."
I created a folder called TMView on MacHD and used /Volumes/TMView, same error.
Then i tried /Volumes/MacHD/TMView i got "..mount_afp: AFPMountURL returned error -1069, errno is -1069.."

MacHD is the name of my internal MacBook Pro hard drive, running Snow Leopard.

Can i please get an example of a path that will work? Apologies but i have no knowledge of Terminal commands, Unix etc!
Manifest Music - Melbourne Australia
QNAP 419 P II / 4 TB Seagate / Intel i2600k W7/64 Rig / MacBook Pro

kyle0r
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 7:31 pm

Re: How to mount Time Machine data from TS-419

Post by kyle0r » Wed Apr 04, 2012 7:02 pm

Hey Rexxyboy

I'd do something like this:

Code: Select all

mkdir /Volumes/TMView
mount_afp afp://TimeMachine:$password@$hostname/TMBackup /Volumes/TMView

Replacing $password with your QNAP TimeMachine password
Replacing $hostname with the network hostname of your QNAP NAS, so if you access https://mynas to get the QNAP web interface, then $hostname would be mynas in this case.

This assumes your QNAP TimeMachine is configured using the default, out of the box settings, apart from the password ofc.

So if your $hostname=mynas and $password=fred, the two commands would look like:

Code: Select all

mkdir /Volumes/TMView
mount_afp afp://TimeMachine:fred@mynas/TMBackup /Volumes/TMView

Good luck.

Rexxyboy
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 7:02 pm

Re: How to mount Time Machine data from TS-419

Post by Rexxyboy » Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:45 pm

Cheers Kyle, i still get error -1069, which i googled as "No Servers at that address".

My nas is called NAS.
TimeMachine username is the default 'TimeMachine', and my password is 'asas' (easy to type!)
I had some 'file exists' errors with the first command (mkdir TMView), spotlight and manual searching comes up zip so i dont know where else that folder could be. I used mkdir /Volumes/TestFolder and i could jot find that folder afterwards either.
I created one manually in my home folder, but the second line of code still returned the same error.
Just to be clear, i am using the stock terminal app on Snow Leopard from my laptop via wifi.

Here is the terminal screen dump:

Last login: Wed Apr 18 21:05:11 on ttys000
Rexxs-MacBook-Pro:~ rexxfernandez$ mkdir /Volumes/TMView
mkdir: /Volumes/TMView: File exists
Rexxs-MacBook-Pro:~ rexxfernandez$ mount_afp afp://TimeMachine:asas@NAS/TMBackup /Volumes/TMView
mount_afp: AFPMountURL returned error -1069, errno is -1069
Rexxs-MacBook-Pro:~ rexxfernandez$


One other thing, when i run my time machine backup via ethernet, the MAC OS asks me for my NAS user and password to connect to TimeMachine, but in fact it only works when i enter my TimeMachine user and pass, and of course, these are different.

Thanks in advance!
Rexx.
Manifest Music - Melbourne Australia
QNAP 419 P II / 4 TB Seagate / Intel i2600k W7/64 Rig / MacBook Pro

kyle0r
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 7:31 pm

Re: How to mount Time Machine data from TS-419

Post by kyle0r » Wed Apr 18, 2012 7:54 pm

Regarding your connectivity issue, perhaps try using the IP of your NAS, instead of the hostname?

Regarding the file exists warning from mkdir, you can add the -p argument to the mkdir, this will silence that warning. So mkdir -p somedir.

Regarding your ethernet and credentials, did you just answer your own question there?

Later

Rexxyboy
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 7:02 pm

Re: How to mount Time Machine data from TS-419

Post by Rexxyboy » Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:23 pm

Using the IP instead of NAS worked a treat, not sure why. Took a while for the TMView folder to mount properly, but I can browse it now.
Thanks for your help and your patience. QNAP a little beyond my knowledge as is networking, nice bit of kit tho, getting there slowly!

Much appreciated.
Rexx.
Manifest Music - Melbourne Australia
QNAP 419 P II / 4 TB Seagate / Intel i2600k W7/64 Rig / MacBook Pro

kyle0r
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 7:31 pm

Re: How to mount Time Machine data from TS-419

Post by kyle0r » Wed Apr 18, 2012 8:26 pm

Awesome sauce :)

vladgur
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 4:18 am

Re: How to mount Time Machine data from TS-419

Post by vladgur » Mon May 07, 2012 3:56 am

This is great and works for mounting TimeMachine share on TS-219 as well. However, mounting using the TimeMachine afp credentials essentially disconnects the afp mounts of your regular afp shares on qnap which ** me off that I cant have both reqular shares and time machine connected at the same time :(

kyle0r
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 7:31 pm

Re: How to mount Time Machine data from TS-419

Post by kyle0r » Mon May 07, 2012 7:52 pm

Glad its working, perhaps a workaround for your *mount everything* issue, is to use SMB (windows flavoured) mounts for your regular shares and the use afp for your TimeMachine mount.

In theory, there should be no notable difference between smb and afp shares. At least from a normal users point of view.

In finder, one would press CMD+K to open the connect dialogue, and then use the smb:// prefix rather than the afp:// :)

Post Reply

Return to “Backup & Restore”