Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post your questions about BT download, FTP download, HTTP download, or QGet download software here.
rob2424
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:49 pm

Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by rob2424 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 12:55 pm

Hi,

I have configured the VPN on my 431P, connected it and then gone to the App Center and selected the dropdown next to DownloadStation and selected the VPN interface then launched the App. My download starts as expected but if I then disconnect the VPN connection, the download stops for a few seconds (as I would expect) then starts again. Is there any way to prevent downloads from running when the VPN disconnects?

Latest firmware as of last night and apps all up to date.

Any help, greatly appreciated.

User avatar
Metoposcopy
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 12:49 am

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by Metoposcopy » Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:37 am

Are you using an external VPN company for your connection?

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7544
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Thu Jul 19, 2018 8:38 am

use qvpn and it should work...

i tested using privateinternetaccess.

tested with download station using one of the test ipleak sites online using magnet and sure enough the ip shows from PIA. thats how i tested it working
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

antoineburke
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:27 pm

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by antoineburke » Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:06 pm

Thanks a lot it works wery well.

freewizard
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:04 pm

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by freewizard » Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:45 am

I have Model:TS-328 / Current firmware version:4.3.5.0760 / Date:2018/11/14

Select my Astrill VPN from the dropdown in App Center DownloadStation icon seems not have any effect. Test site like ipleak.net shows real IP with a test magnet link.

The only workaround is set the vpn as default gateway in QVPN (which is not ideal).
Last edited by freewizard on Wed Dec 19, 2018 1:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

ctt222
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 9:46 am

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by ctt222 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 1:51 am

Not only do you want to use QVPN as the others mentioned and set it as the default gateway.

You ALSO want to use the Private Internet Access Proxy Server and set download station to only download through the proxy (in the BT settings section)..

In my experience, the proxy will only successfully connect when you are connected to the VPN anyway and if not it still gives you some layer of privacy (presuming that is what you are seeking).

psined
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 12:38 pm

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by psined » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:11 pm

freewizard wrote:
Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:45 am
Select my Astrill VPN from the dropdown in App Center DownloadStation icon seems not have any effect.
Where do you tell Download Station to use VPN client? For the life of me, I cannot find anything like that around the DL settings. Can you post a picture or a menu path please?

freewizard
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:04 pm

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by freewizard » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:54 pm

psined wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:11 pm
freewizard wrote:
Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:45 am
Select my Astrill VPN from the dropdown in App Center DownloadStation icon seems not have any effect.
Where do you tell Download Station to use VPN client? For the life of me, I cannot find anything like that around the DL settings. Can you post a picture or a menu path please?
See attached:
t.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

kuroiryu
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:51 am

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by kuroiryu » Fri Jan 18, 2019 12:16 am

freewizard wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:54 pm
psined wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:11 pm
freewizard wrote:
Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:45 am
Select my Astrill VPN from the dropdown in App Center DownloadStation icon seems not have any effect.
Where do you tell Download Station to use VPN client? For the life of me, I cannot find anything like that around the DL settings. Can you post a picture or a menu path please?
See attached:
t.png
I tired this on my TS-451+ and now Download station doesn't seem to work. Can't search and rss feed won't refresh (give an error message 'Failed to update RSS feeds 0x6013')

freewizard
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:04 pm

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by freewizard » Mon Jan 28, 2019 5:30 am

kuroiryu wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 12:16 am
I tired this on my TS-451+ and now Download station doesn't seem to work. Can't search and rss feed won't refresh (give an error message 'Failed to update RSS feeds 0x6013')
This is exactly what QNAP should improve and fix I believe.

jazmatik
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:56 am

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by jazmatik » Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:37 am

did you enable searching in DL center? You have to click an "OK I might download teh warez" acknowledgement before the search will work. Settings > Global > BT

rayjaymor85
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 8:51 pm

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by rayjaymor85 » Sun Feb 17, 2019 11:28 am

I'm actually having a weird issue with this exact setup also using PIA.

The ipleak test torrents will not download when the VPN is down, which is great.

But for some reason even with the VPN not connected if I throw up a Linux ISO to download or something like that, it will just download as normal regardless of the VPN connection.

This really has me concerned, it's almost as if either the size of the download allows it to ignore the VPN status.

Definitely a massive deal-breaker for me.

blazeblade
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 6:30 pm

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by blazeblade » Tue Apr 23, 2019 3:38 pm

I had similar issues and decided to get a proper router like the ASUS RT-AC88U.
This will connect to your VPN provider and you can setup policy routing for certain devices to go over the VPN tunnel.
You can also setup block internet traffic if the VPN tunnel goes down.

WinSolstice
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 2:22 am

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by WinSolstice » Mon May 27, 2019 2:58 am

I use PureVPN. You can sign up on their site for a Proxy login. I then use that login in Download Station. There's a setting to 'Only download using a proxy connection'. The App Center settings for Download Station is to connect to the default gateway (so not using VPN).
DS_Proxy.png
Would you recommend this setting compared to using QPVN and forcing DS in App Center to connect via VPN?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

broomo
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2016 7:29 am

Re: Force DownloadStation 5 to use VPN

Post by broomo » Mon Jul 29, 2019 4:57 pm

kuroiryu wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 12:16 am
freewizard wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:54 pm
psined wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:11 pm
freewizard wrote:
Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:45 am
Select my Astrill VPN from the dropdown in App Center DownloadStation icon seems not have any effect.
Where do you tell Download Station to use VPN client? For the life of me, I cannot find anything like that around the DL settings. Can you post a picture or a menu path please?
See attached:
t.png
I tired this on my TS-451+ and now Download station doesn't seem to work. Can't search and rss feed won't refresh (give an error message 'Failed to update RSS feeds 0x6013')
I am having this exact problem. I created a bunch of OpenVPN entries within QVPN and then force DownloadStation to use one of them. When I do this, nothing seems to connect or download. If I force DownloadStation not to use any VPN then everything works fine. Are there any other steps I need to follow?

Also, is there a way, within QNAP to test the VPN connection; i.e. to send traffic through it so I know for certain its not the VPN connection / settings that is a problem. I use Private Internet Access.

Many thanks

Post Reply

Return to “Download Station and QGet”