No DTS-HD or TrueHD via HDMI

DLNA, AirPlay, Chromecast, PS3, XBOX, iTunes, & other media players
JCCorp
Starting out
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 5:37 am

Re: No DTS-HD or TrueHD via HDMI

Postby JCCorp » Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:27 am

Hi All,

Sorry I've not posted any updates, but QNAP Support left me with, my amplifier is compatible. I argued this, and borrowed a Denon and Yamaha amplifier's to unfortunately prove the point, but QNAP support didn't make any progress. This has left me with a device that was advertised to output DTS-HD etc.., but in reality can not at this time.

If anyone has managed to find a solution, please share.

Thanks

dolbyman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5917
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: No DTS-HD or TrueHD via HDMI

Postby dolbyman » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:59 am

just get an external player...little android kodi boxes support it no prob

Nabeel
Starting out
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:28 pm

Re: No DTS-HD or TrueHD via HDMI

Postby Nabeel » Mon Apr 03, 2017 3:55 am

I tried several 4k, 2k, movies and 4K mp4 recorded by gopro on my qnap TVS-1282 and Yamah RX-A3050. The audio used to work on all of them, with no issue at all. QNAP and Yamah had never let me down on playing movie/video audio. Today, I am suffering as the audio of some movies and gopro videos not playing.

When QNAP is connected to my Samsung TV through Yamaha:
audio on movies are ok via passthrough (though I didn't test all of them), but audio of my gopro videos (recorded in 4k mp4 format) have no sound at all even if I disable the passthrough.

When QNAP is connected to my Samsung directly:
audio on movies never work on both with and without passthrough, but audio of the gopro videos is ok on passthrough.

I am not sure if its the latest update of QTS or kodi.

I am using HDMI port 2.0
Latest QTS 4.2.4
1) TS-879-PRO / Intel i3-2120 3.3 GHz / 16GB DDR3 / 8 x 3TB RAID-10 Seagate ST33000651AS / 2x10GB Intel Ethernet RJ45 (X540T2)
2) TVS-1282 / Intel i7-6700 3.4 GHz / 64GB DDR4 / 450W / 8 x 8TB RAID-10 Seagate ST8000NE0001 / Mellanox 40GB Fibre Optic QSFP+ (MCX313A-BCCT) / / 2 x Sandisk X400 Solid State Drive - Internal (SD8SN8U-1T00-1122)
3) TVS-1282 / Intel i7-6700 3.4 GHz / 64GB DDR4 / 250W / 8 x 10TB RAID-10 Seagate ST10000NE0004 / Mellanox 40GB Fibre Optic QSFP+ (MCX313A-BCCT) / 2 x Sandisk X400 Solid State Drive - Internal (SD8SN8U-1T00-1122)

dolbyman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5917
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: No DTS-HD or TrueHD via HDMI

Postby dolbyman » Mon Apr 03, 2017 7:26 am

doubt that the gopro records audio in any of the two codecs mentioned in the title

muheeb
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 10:35 pm

Re: No DTS-HD or TrueHD via HDMI

Postby muheeb » Thu Aug 03, 2017 9:37 pm

is there any update?

JCCorp
Starting out
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 5:37 am

Re: No DTS-HD or TrueHD via HDMI

Postby JCCorp » Sun Sep 03, 2017 5:43 pm

From what I've seen, there has been no change in the problem of the QNAP not being able to pass through DTS-HD/DTS-HD MA or TrueHD audio. I've updated to the latest firmware v4.3.3 and the latest of the QNAP applications. And I still have the same problems. For a device to be advertised almost 2yrs ago to have the ability, I think it is wrong and very poor of QNAP, to not resolved this issue.

dolbyman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5917
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: No DTS-HD or TrueHD via HDMI

Postby dolbyman » Sun Sep 03, 2017 11:43 pm

what kodi version are you running ?

JCCorp
Starting out
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2015 5:37 am

Re: No DTS-HD or TrueHD via HDMI

Postby JCCorp » Wed Sep 06, 2017 3:25 am

I'm restricted to running 17.0b2 special from QNAP Support. As I can install any of the newer versions from QNAPClub (latest tried 17.4), but none of them will load from HybridStation, the only one that works for me is the 17.0b2 that I'm assuming QNAP Support tweaked, when I raised my issues with them, and over several weeks, they did testing, but never resolved the issue, I think it's to do with 64bit AMD processor in my NAS.

dolbyman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5917
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: No DTS-HD or TrueHD via HDMI

Postby dolbyman » Wed Sep 06, 2017 3:31 am

I am amazed that QNAP support supplied a version, QNAP officially distanced themselves from KODi (license issues)


Return to “Media Streaming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests