Remote Access Kodi

DLNA, AirPlay, Chromecast, PS3, XBOX, iTunes, & other media players
Skunk79
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:19 am

Remote Access Kodi

Post by Skunk79 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 1:37 am

I want to be able to remote connect to my NAS with Kodi however I can only seem to do it with FTP. Obviously because of the security concerns I don't want to do this! I've tried using a VPN but it doesn't work! You can still access the FTP with or without the remote side client running.

I've tried SFTP but the server won't connect no matter what I do and I can't figure out how to access via Webdav.

I do have a PLEX server however it doesn't always work so I require this as a backup. (Nothing worse than PLEX crashing out when your not at home with no way to restart it!)

Any help would be appreciated!

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15241
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by dolbyman » Wed Aug 14, 2019 2:02 am

don't think ftp would be a good media access platform (the file would probably need to be fully downloaded, local cached before playback)

VPN should work fine unless you have some CGNAT situation at home you can't traverse
Last edited by dolbyman on Wed Aug 14, 2019 4:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Skunk79
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:19 am

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by Skunk79 » Wed Aug 14, 2019 3:30 am

I use Kodi and update my libraries as appropriate on my media consumption devices so I'm not worried about the media caching. I just don't want to use an insecure file-sharing medium.

Looping123
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2019 6:14 pm

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by Looping123 » Wed Aug 21, 2019 12:58 am

I'm currently using a VPN to do the same and it's perfectly working. IF you need help let me know ;)

Skunk79
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:19 am

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by Skunk79 » Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:20 am

If you could help i'd apprecaited it mate,

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15241
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by dolbyman » Thu Aug 22, 2019 5:02 am

maybe elaborate what VPN connection methods you have tried and where you have failed

Skunk79
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:19 am

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by Skunk79 » Thu Aug 22, 2019 5:12 pm

I've been using OpenVPN on the NAS itself, Unfortunately, my home router doesn't support VPN so it has to be on the NAS. I have the VPN connection and I can connect to it with my OpenVPN client but I can still access the network behind the VPN regardless of whether or not it's active. I tried the QVPN as well to no avail.
I do have a PIA subscription if that's of any help.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15241
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by dolbyman » Thu Aug 22, 2019 8:44 pm

annonymizer vpn subscriptions have no use in this scenario

so the network connecting to the nas has what subnet ? .. also what is the subnet of the qnap?

e.g.

outside lan is 192.168.1.0/24 .. qnap lan is 192.168.2.0/24

what happens if you ping the qnap from the outside lan, while the vpn connection is up ?

Skunk79
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:19 am

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by Skunk79 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 12:16 am

you will have to forgive me because I'm confused as to what IP's you're asking me for,

IP assignment: DHCP
DHCP issued by: 192.168.1.1
IP Address: 192.168.1.148
Submask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1
Primary DNS server: 192.168.1.1
Secondary DN server: --
VLAN: No

That's the NAS assignment, I'm new to NAS drives so it's a little confusing for me to get my head around all the numbers, I can tell you that pinging my server from outside the network returns no results. However, I am not sure if I'm doing it correctly because I get no results with or without the VPN connected. I realise the IP address is not static but the IP is reserved within my router and even setting it as static yielded the same results.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15241
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by dolbyman » Fri Aug 23, 2019 12:20 am

the network you are trying to reach the NAS from has to have an IP range

Network1:
The one with the NAS (VPN server)

Network2:
The client trying to reach the NAS (with KODI installed)

Skunk79
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:19 am

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by Skunk79 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 12:48 am

192.168.8.100 to 192.168.1.150 is the local network range, the client trying to reach the NAS would be outside the local network via the internet. I have no problem connecting to FTP outside the network it works fine. but that's the problem. Even with the OpenVPN active on the QNAP I can still access the FTP without the client installed. I'm afraid you'll have to treat me like a noobie!

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15241
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by dolbyman » Fri Aug 23, 2019 1:31 am

8.100 to 1.150 ? is that one non /24 subnet or is there routing in between ?

if there is duplicate subnets on both sides of the TUN interface

e.g.

2x 192.168.0.0/24 you will have routing issues, so make sure the client is not in a duplicate subnet to your NAS

Skunk79
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:19 am

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by Skunk79 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:08 am

Sry typo 1.100 to 1.150

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 15241
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by dolbyman » Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:11 am

ok.. so make sure the client is in a different subnet and test again

Skunk79
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:19 am

Re: Remote Access Kodi

Post by Skunk79 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 3:59 am

both my router and the NAS are in a different subnet but now I cant connect to the VPN!

Post Reply

Return to “Media Streaming”